Thorn In My Side

I have moments of patience…like when I wait for butterflies

“Be patient.”

Easy advice to give when one is not in a position of waiting.  These two words have been spoken, or implied, several times in the last few weeks.  They irritate me like a thorn in my side.

The refinance on the house now reaching its 6th week.  We’re working on it, we’ve been assured.  They aren’t the ones crossing fingers, praying it comes through before our October 1st payment is due.

My husband trained on a new job, but can’t start until paperwork is completed.  Don’t know when completion is expected…we’ll call when it’s all settled.

A lead on a better paying position came up and he provided the information they asked for.   These things take time. 

Another opportunity he followed up on was met with the familiar suggestion:  be patient.

Patience isn’t my strong suit under normal circumstances, but right now, the uncertainty heightens my awareness of my absent patience. I try to remind myself that we aren’t living frivolously and things will work out.  They always do.  I did some research and reading about what the Bible says about patience.  There are many verses.  I get the idea that perhaps this is something God really wants me learn.  Here are two of my favorites.

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.  (Galatians 6:9)

And we urge you, brothers, warn those who are idle, encourage the timid, help the weak, be patient with everyone.  (1 Thessalonians 5:14)

My goal this coming week is not to ask my husband any variation of, “well, have you heard anything yet?”

Man, this is going to be difficult 🙂

Have a beautiful week!

26 thoughts on “Thorn In My Side

  1. deanabo September 16, 2012 / 4:44 AM

    “Be Patient” nope, not something I do very well.

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:22 PM

      At least I’m not alone in that, Deanabo. Trying to get better about it, but I have a loooong way to go 🙂

  2. GodGirl September 16, 2012 / 4:47 AM

    Sounds very tough. And tougher when people say things like “be patient”. It’s like being told to “be calm” – it certainly makes me less calm when I hear that. I won’t offer you any trite advice, but I do pray you’ll know the sweetness of resting in Him this week, and finding His strength…
    Great photo by the way.

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:26 PM

      Thanks for the prayers, GodGirl. I’ve got a busy week with Cub Scouts, so I’m hoping that distraction will keep me from dwelling on the uncertainty.

      Glad you liked the photo. I took it during a camping trip in June but never had the right opportunity to post it 🙂

  3. The Writers Village September 16, 2012 / 11:32 AM

    We do the footwork… and maybe even be a little assertive (and/or aggressive) from time to time but we leave the results up to God.

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:31 PM

      You’re right – whatever happens is up to God. It’s on His time, not mine. Ah, yes, I need to learn patience 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, The Writers Village.

  4. Debbie September 16, 2012 / 12:42 PM

    Oh, Janna, I do empathize. I’m not exactly patient, either. Sometimes, I think God must have a sense of humor, though — all those times I prayed for patience only led to periods of waiting longer! I guess it’s true — be very careful what you pray for, ha!

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:33 PM

      I used to pray for patience, too, Debbie. (Then God gave me my younger son, who is a notorious whiner. I love him to pieces, but whining drives me up a wall fast!) No more prayers for patience here 🙂

  5. Widdershins September 16, 2012 / 2:11 PM

    Sounds like it’s going to be the auditory version of sitting on your hands! … you can always vent here!

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:39 PM

      Pretty much, Widdershins 🙂 Maybe something will change this week…but I’m not asking!

  6. jeanne September 16, 2012 / 4:19 PM

    try replacing your concerns with prayers of thanksgiving…my favorite verse in times of waiting is Jerimiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Praying with you!

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:44 PM

      That’s a soothing verse, Jeanne. I think I’ll do that this week- change my focus. Thanks for stopping by and sharing the verse/advice. Appreciate the prayers as well 🙂

  7. diannegray September 16, 2012 / 4:56 PM

    I’m not a patient person but sometimes I really believe it is a test – so I have to take a deep breath and stick with it! 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:47 PM

      I agree, Dianne. I just know something good will come of this, I just don’t know what it is or when it will happen. Often in looking back, I can these things.

  8. nrhatch September 16, 2012 / 7:02 PM

    I am patient . . . as long as I’m not left waiting. 😉

    Fringers crossed that some of these “up in the air” items are resolved for you soon.

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:50 PM

      Oh, you made me laugh, Nancy! That’s me 🙂 I hope some things are figured out soon as well. Until then, I’ll keep myself distracted as best I can.

  9. pattyabr September 16, 2012 / 8:17 PM

    I will pray for patience for you. I’ve been patient for ???years waiting for things to change at work. I’m still waiting and there are vital signs of life appearing.

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:52 PM

      You are patient, Patty. Years. Wow. I’m glad that you are seeing signs that change could be coming.

      Thanks for the prayers – I appreciate it 🙂

  10. pattisj September 16, 2012 / 9:39 PM

    I hope you achieve your goal this week!

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:54 PM

      Me too, Patti 🙂 I’ve got a busy week, so it’s possible I can stay distracted long enough to do it!

  11. Sandra September 17, 2012 / 11:48 AM

    As much as I preach patience to my kiddos, I know I’m the impatient one in the family. Patience is a virtue, but a hard virtue to obtain when one is left in the dark and unknown. I know this must be so hard for you, and I hope that you and your family will come out the other side of it with lots of virtue in hindsight! Good luck, Janna!

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 9:30 PM

      Thanks, Sandra. I’m glad I’m not alone in impatience, although I would feel more peace if I could handle it better. I do have faith that we will come through this all, I just don’t know when. (There’s my impatience showing again :)) Thanks for stopping by and offering your support. It helps.

  12. philosophermouseofthehedge September 20, 2012 / 2:40 PM

    Maybe take up tap dancing while you wait…it burns off energy and it makes a terrible racket, but no one can complain as it’s art.
    Hope you get the news quickly.

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2012 / 10:27 PM

      Hahaha! Funny suggestion, even funnier because I always wanted to tap dance (my lack of coordination ruins that for me.) Thanks for stopping by, Phil!

  13. clarbojahn September 21, 2012 / 7:43 AM

    My thoughts are with you. Hope some of the things you are waiting for get resolved soon to your benefit. “They also serve who only stand and wait. ” Take care. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 22, 2012 / 1:42 PM

      Thanks so much, Clar. Some things seem close to resolution, but I also know things can change. Other things aren’t going how we want them, but we know they could be worse, so all in all, we’re doing all right 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by and offering support.

Got an opinion? Share it!

