Three (Another Trifecta Challenge)

“And the three men

Followed the bright star

All the way to Bethlehem-

That was really far,”

Billy recited, nodding.

“They gave gifts

Of gold, Frankenstein, and more-

The end.”

The eight-year-old grinned.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I was going to sit out this prompt because I’m innundated with Cub Scout stuff that has to be done by next week.  Obviously I’m not good with impulse control or time management, so I wrote an entry anyway 🙂

If you like it, please visit the Trifecta site on Sunday (after 8PM Eastern time) to vote.  If you don’t like my entry, you should still visit the site to vote because I know you’re bound to find something you do like among the entries   The writing prompt given is:

The Rule of Three is a writing principle that asserts that, in writing, groups of three have the most impact. This week’s challenge is to write 33 words using the Rule of Three somewhere among them. It is up to you to interpret the rule, just make sure to use exactly 33 words.

As always, thank you so much for reading.  If you want to try your hand at the challenge, click the tricycle picture above to visit their site for complete instructions.

71 thoughts on “Three (Another Trifecta Challenge)

  1. Michael September 14, 2012 / 9:35 AM

    I like the way Billy thinks. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:31 PM

      I think Frankenstein would be a fun gift 🙂 Thanks for reading, Michael.

  2. Libby September 14, 2012 / 9:37 AM

    Nice! Although once you have gold and Frankenstein what MORE could you want!

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:34 PM

      Ha! with kids, they always seem to want ‘more’. Personally, I think Frankenstein alone would be enough 🙂 Glad you stopped by, Libby!

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:37 PM

      Those were three very wise men (and excellent gift choosers) 🙂 Thanks for taking time to visit, Phil.

  3. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) September 14, 2012 / 10:52 AM

    I love it. Three men, three spices. (“More” being the spice we all need in greater quantities these days)

  4. deanabo September 14, 2012 / 11:09 AM

    This was a great play on the prompt!

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:39 PM

      Thanks, Deanabo. I appreciate you stopping by to read it.

  5. Jonesingafter40 September 14, 2012 / 11:44 AM

    I grinned too. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:39 PM

      I’m happy to hear it made you grin, Jonesing 🙂

  6. FKC September 14, 2012 / 11:44 AM

    Lovely little playfulness in this.

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:40 PM

      Thanks, FKC. Glad you stopped by to share in the fun!

  7. braintomahawk September 14, 2012 / 12:45 PM

    I can just see Billy standing in front of his Sunday school class, presenting his report.
    A+ for you – Billy, on the other hand, has a couple Hail Marys to say

      • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:46 PM

        You’re on a roll tonight, Amy 🙂

      • braintomahawk September 15, 2012 / 6:35 AM

        The teachers were thinking ‘possessed’ 😉

        • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 10:45 AM

          Too bad they don’t know it’s not possessed, but just being a kid!

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:44 PM

      Yeah, he was pretty proud of himself, Braintomahawk. At least he didn’t say the wise men brought transformers, video games and cars 🙂

        • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 10:43 AM

          Santa gets all the glory 🙂

        • braintomahawk September 15, 2012 / 12:49 PM

          and gets paid in cookies!

        • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 9:24 PM

          Yeah…I totally want Santa’s job 🙂

  8. Cameron September 14, 2012 / 2:58 PM

    Heehee… Frankenstein.

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:47 PM

      Yes, there’s a gift not everyone gets 🙂 Thanks for reading, Cameron!

  9. nrhatch September 14, 2012 / 3:01 PM

    This is myrrh~valous! 😉

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:51 PM

      Hahaha….Art or Harold. Good one 🙂 The way kids and interpret things can be quite funny at times. Thanks for stopping by to read my entry and for the entertaining comments. I think my Cub stuff will get done, but I’m just procrastinating at the moment.

  10. diannegray September 14, 2012 / 4:10 PM

    Of gold, Frankenstein, and more – laughed so loud at this! 😀

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:53 PM

      I’m glad you found it amusing, Dianne. (I read it to my husband, cracking myself up over it- he gave me a weird look and said, “I don’t get it.” It’s no fun when I’m the only one laughing :))

      • diannegray September 14, 2012 / 10:17 PM

        Hahahaha!!! Don’t ya just love men sometimes 🙂

        • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 11:04 PM

          Yeah, but it would be nice if we were on the same wavelength at least some of the time!

        • diannegray September 14, 2012 / 11:56 PM

          I just said to my hubby – do you want me to read the first few chapters of the novel I started yesterday? He replied – I might have a few wines first!

        • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 12:05 AM

          Ouch! That’s funny, though 🙂 A few wines…hahaha….

  11. Lumdog September 14, 2012 / 6:32 PM

    Great variation on the story. Less is more, so they’re economizing!

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:55 PM

      I still don’t know how they got Frankenstein across the desert. Those camels must have been tired 🙂 Thanks for reading and sharing your comment, Lumdog!

  12. debseeman September 14, 2012 / 8:22 PM

    I love kid-ism’s. They are always so unexpected and often hilarious when taken literally.

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 8:59 PM

      I know, they are great, Deb! They can make us stop and think (after we’re done laughing.) Thanks for stopping by tonight!

  13. pattisj September 14, 2012 / 9:50 PM

    I’ll laugh with you, Janna! I always enjoy reading what comes out of your head–and heart.

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2012 / 11:19 PM

      Oh, thanks, Patti! It’s nice to have someone laugh with me 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by to read my entry!

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 10:37 AM

      Thanks, Ruby – I appreciate you reading it 🙂

  14. Tina September 15, 2012 / 7:37 AM

    Awww! So cute!

  15. Jeanna September 15, 2012 / 7:58 AM

    Great writing.

  16. Linda Vernon September 15, 2012 / 10:34 AM

    Ha ha! Well back in those days, life was rough and Frankenstein was considered an appropriate gift for a baby!

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 10:39 AM

      How times have changed. We go so easy on the kiddies now- they get stuffed bears and fuzzy blankets (not really preparation for the real world :))

      Thanks for stopping by, Linda!

  17. Annabelle September 15, 2012 / 10:58 AM

    Hee. I totally remember the time when I would have believed that.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 9:21 PM

      There’s so much more wonder as a child. Thing is, those years don’t seem that long until (until I do the calculations. Yikes!) Thanks for reading, Annabelle.

  18. Debbie September 15, 2012 / 11:34 AM

    Good job, Janna!

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks for reading (as always) Debbie 🙂

  19. Gina September 15, 2012 / 5:32 PM

    I love the new spice “More” and we need more! Very sweet and different, Janna.

    • jannatwrites September 15, 2012 / 9:23 PM

      I appreciate your nice comment, Gina. Thanks for reading!

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:08 PM

      Usually it’s repeating something they shouldn’t have heard in the first place 🙂 Thanks for reading, Renada!

  20. kenyagjohnson September 16, 2012 / 12:19 PM

    Since I have a seven year old, and if you had three more words they would probably be…. and said “awesome!”

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:09 PM

      Hahaha! I have a ten-year-old and six-year-old, so I’d have to agree with your additional three words, Kenya. I appreciate you stopping by!

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:10 PM

      I’m glad, Rog Rites – it was supposed to be silly 🙂

  21. Imelda September 16, 2012 / 6:56 PM

    🙂 Oh funny. You got the character of the 8 year old down pat. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 16, 2012 / 9:11 PM

      I’m glad it appears so, Imelda. This conversation didn’t happen, but I tried to imagine what they could say in this situation 🙂

  22. shakira September 17, 2012 / 5:06 AM

    this is so sweet. you are getting my vote. Mine is here
    Have you an AWESOME WEEKEND!
    hugs
    shakira

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 5:46 AM

      Thanks so much for reading, Shakira. I’m glad you enjoyed this one 🙂

  23. Sandra September 17, 2012 / 12:14 PM

    I like your unique take on this prompt! At first I read Billy as an eighty-year-old, which would have made this story just as wonderful, with an old, toothy grin! I have had to sit out on too many Trifecta prompts, much to my dismay. Between volunteering for a school carnival, a date night at a great concert, and teaching Chinese School this weekend, I was spent! How did life get so busy?

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 9:39 PM

      Eighty-year-old! The image makes me smile 🙂

      It does sound like life has gotten busy, Sandra. The date night sounds fun, though 🙂 I don’t know how things get so busy, but I can relate. For me, Cub Scouts eats up lots of my time. They also run cross country, so we’ll have seven meets between now and mid-November. Sigh.

      Hang in there. It’s got to get easier once we’re used to the new school year schedule. That’s what I tell myself, at least 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

