Hope

Patti at A New Day Dawns invited me to share a post on hope.  I’ve written a lot about hope recently, so I hope you don’t mind another one 🙂

This challenge has three rules:

  1. Link back to the person who invited you at the top of your post. (got it)
  2. Write a post about hope and publish it to your blog. (done)
  3. Invite at least one person to blog about it, too. (I can’t pick.  This is an open invitation to anyone who reads this, who is inspired to write about hope.)

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Not the sunrise I imagined, but it means ‘hope’ to me

From a young age, I’ve had hope.  I hoped Santa would bring me the perfect gift.  I hoped the boy I liked would look at me.  I hoped I would pass my college entrance exams.  I hoped my marriage wouldn’t be a statistic.  I hoped I would raise well-adjusted children.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized my hope has roots in faith.  I have hope for my future, and faith that God will guide my path.

If I didn’t have hope, I wouldn’t have a reason to get out of bed each day.  If I didn’t have faith that God had a plan for me, I wouldn’t have joy.  Without joy, life is just a routine; a habit without meaning.  When life becomes a storm that seems bent on drowning my joy, gratitude is my safety raft.  When I think of my “haves”, rather than my “have-nots,” the clouds aren’t nearly so threatening.

On Friday night, I decided a sunrise photo shoot was in order for this post.  I couldn’t think of anything more hopeful than a sunrise.  It rained quite a bit on Friday, so I thought the freshly-cleansed air would make for great photos.

I’d hoped I wouldn’t ignore my alarm, but I overslept and we missed the 6:08 AM sunrise.  Once I saw the overcast skies, I hoped for a break in the clouds.  Seeing that wouldn’t happen, I was disappointed- at least until I saw the beauty that surrounded us.

Sometimes not getting what we hope for leads us to appreciate something else we may not have otherwise have noticed.

Renewed hope after generous rain
Might not have seen this had my camera been focused on the sunrise.
I thought the hole in the Saguaro looked cool. I bet the cactus hopes the woodpeckers don’t come back 🙂

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. (Romans 15:13)

Have a beautiful Sunday and a week filled with hope!

20 thoughts on “Hope

  1. GodGirl September 9, 2012 / 3:53 AM

    Hope is so powerful isn’t it – I really like your storm analogy, about gratitude being a safety raft. When we think about what we have, or ponder what others don’t, it does make a big difference. I love the optimism in this post, and the way your photo turned out so beautifully even though it wasn’t what you were expecting.

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2012 / 11:48 PM

      I see we’re both huge fans of hope, GodGirl! I’m glad you liked the photo. I enjoyed looking at the landscape through a cloudy lens. Our city is nick named the ‘Valley of the Sun’ so cloudy days are exiting for me 🙂

  2. suzicate September 9, 2012 / 7:50 AM

    Hope is truly a gift that gets us through.

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2012 / 11:49 PM

      It is beautiful when we embrace it, Suzicate!

  3. nrhatch September 9, 2012 / 8:41 AM

    Good post, Janna.

    * Life is not about waiting for the storms to pass . . . it’s about learning how to dance in the rain. ~ Vivian Greene

    * Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance. ~ Anonymous

    * On with the dance . . . let JOY be unconfined. ~ Lord Byron

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2012 / 11:53 PM

      Good quotes, Nancy! We should let loose and have some fun – even if it is raining (and we may or may not have an umbrella) 😆

  4. pattisj September 9, 2012 / 10:08 AM

    Love that saguaro picture and comment. Sometimes beauty sneaks up on us while we’re looking for something else, and it’s always a welcome encounter. I like how you stepped it out–if this tries to dash my hope, then I use this weapon against it–love, faith, joy, gratitude.

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2012 / 11:55 PM

      I’m glad you liked that one, Patti. I ventured off the trail a bit (keeping an eye out for snakes) and clicked quickly 🙂

      Thanks for inviting me to write about hope. I liked the challenge.

  5. Debbie September 9, 2012 / 11:47 AM

    Beautiful testimony to the importance of hope and faith, Janna. Especially love your statement about not getting what we’d hoped for leading us to appreciate something we otherwise might not have noticed — so true, so often!

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2012 / 11:56 PM

      I’m glad I’m not alone in that, Debbie. Sometimes I’m so focused on what I expected that I don’t even notice I’m ignoring everything else. I can only imagine how much I’ve missed when in that mindset. Thanks for stopping by today!

  6. sojourner September 10, 2012 / 1:34 AM

    It’s been said that people can survive:
    40 days without food;
    4 days without water;
    4 minutes without oxygen;
    But no one can survive even just 4 seconds without hope!

    I believe this to be true. Hope is vital for us to both survive and excel.
    Thanks Janna for your hope-filled article. 🙂
    God bless you!

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2012 / 7:35 AM

      Beautifully put, Sojourner! I agree that hope is essential. I stopped short of saying that only because you can live and breathe without it, but it is a miserable existence. I’ve known a few people (from a distance) that are low on hope – they are an emotional drain 🙂

      Thanks for reading and sharing your wonderful thoughts on hope. Appreciate your words 🙂

  7. Sandra September 10, 2012 / 7:42 AM

    I love this: gratitude is my safety raft. Sometimes the beauty in the unexpected is amazing–even while you were expecting something else. I like what you said about hope. It keeps me going, too, and it’s a wondrous thing.

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2012 / 7:36 AM

      Thanks, Sandra! Hope is such a wonderful thing. When at my my crankiest, I often find that hope is low and gratitude is absent. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on hope 🙂

  8. Eric Alagan September 10, 2012 / 5:48 PM

    Sometimes I wonder…can one go through any day, without hope

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2012 / 7:39 AM

      I don’t think I could get through a day with an ounce of happiness if I didn’t have hope. Interesting thought though, Eric. Thanks for the idea to ponder!

  9. philosophermouseofthehedge September 11, 2012 / 3:26 PM

    Hope never disappoints: this pretty much says it all: “Sometimes not getting what we hope for leads us to appreciate something else we may not have otherwise have noticed.”
    Great observation – lovely post!

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2012 / 5:24 PM

      Thanks, Phil! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. One good side effect of age is that I am more open to seeing more than the “one thing” I really wanted.

  10. Imelda September 11, 2012 / 5:14 PM

    Lovely post, Janna. Very encouraging. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2012 / 5:26 PM

      Appreciate you reading, Imelda. I’m glad you liked the post 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

