In Three Words…

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about wishes:  be very careful.”

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my entry in the Trifextra Weekend Challenge.  Here’s what they gave us:

On to Trifextra, where this weekend we’re going to keep it short. Ridiculously short. The shortest it has ever been and probably will ever be.

Robert Frost one said, “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” We want you to do the same. Sum up anything you want, but do it in three words. Your response should mirror Frost’s quote by beginning, “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about–.” And the last four words are yours to choose.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Now, for the outakes portion of this post:  the three word summations that I didn’t pick to submit for the challenge.  I wouldn’t want you to think I could write a brief post!

  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about luck:  sometimes it’s bad.”
  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about work:  it’s there tomorrow.”
  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about cats:  they own people.”
  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about retirement: have plan B.”
  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about myself: not very much.”
  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about secrets:  they don’t exist.”
  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about love:  hurts so good.”
  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about heartbreak:  time does heal.”
  • “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about family:  none are normal.”
52 thoughts on “In Three Words…

  1. Michael August 31, 2012 / 9:38 AM

    The cats summary is so true. I think my cat is convinced that my sole reason for existence is to feed him. 😛

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 8:54 PM

      You mean there would be another reason for your existence? 😆

      I was working on scout stuff with my older son and we found out that cats spend 2/3 of their time sleeping, so a nine year old cat would only be awake for three years. Isn’t it amazing that a creature who is awake so little can be so demanding?!

  2. Debbie August 31, 2012 / 10:51 AM

    I’ve always heard one should be very careful what one wishes for. It’s especially true for Patience. Wish for that, and you’ll be subjected to all kinds of trials. Happens every time!

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 8:54 PM

      Ah, that explains it…I’m pretty sure I’ve wished (and prayed for patience.)

      Guess I didn’t think that one through, Debbie!

  3. newwhitebear August 31, 2012 / 11:14 AM

    I try.
    In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about writing: It’s wonderful

    Perhaps I’m a reckless writer

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 8:56 PM

      I’ll agree with you, Newwhitebear – writing is wonderful! Reckless writing is much better than reckless driving 🙂

      You should submit an entry on Trifecta’s site. It’s fun to play along.

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 8:56 PM

      Thanks, Susan. I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  4. yvonneroot August 31, 2012 / 11:53 AM

    You’ve done an excellent job! And, you chose the best to submit. Way to go!

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 8:57 PM

      Thank, Yvonne! I’m glad you liked that one. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 8:58 PM

      That’s right, Carl. Or, “pick good numbers” 🙂

      (Haven’t been successful at the lotto yet. Perhaps it’s because I don’t play very often.)

  5. barbara August 31, 2012 / 1:32 PM

    family – none are normal . . . bwahahaha – stop peeking into my front room! 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 9:00 PM

      I haven’t met anyone who claims to have a normal family. It makes me wonder then, what exactly ‘normal’ is? Glad this one made you laugh!

  6. Tahlitha Chadwick August 31, 2012 / 1:59 PM

    In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about faith: saved by grace. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 9:01 PM

      Good one, Tahlitha. I tried to work with faith and God, but couldn’t boil it down to three words. You did it perfectly.

      You should submit yours on Trifecta’s site!

    • barbara August 31, 2012 / 11:32 PM

      indeed, Sistah! Please do submit yours.

  7. pattisj August 31, 2012 / 4:05 PM

    I knew you couldn’t hold it to three words! LOL And I thoroughly enjoyed reading the outtakes!

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 9:03 PM

      The page just seemed so…empty. Of course, I had to fix that, Patti 🙂 Thanks for reading all the way through the outtakes.

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 9:04 PM

      Thanks, Sandy! I figured I it would be fun to share what didn’t make the cut. I won’t make it a habit, though 🙂

  8. Sandra August 31, 2012 / 8:16 PM

    I like your cautionary summary in three words! And man, you came up with a lot–they are all quite good :).

    • jannatwrites August 31, 2012 / 9:06 PM

      Thanks, Sandra. I kind of got on a roll. There were even more, but I decided to spare everyone 🙂 Thanks for reading! I enjoyed your parenting one. Good to know I didn’t lose the instructions!

  9. Amy Harrison September 1, 2012 / 2:12 AM

    Wow, you came up with so many good ones! 😀 Awesome! 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 1, 2012 / 12:58 PM

      Thanks, Amy! I appreciate you reading them 🙂

  10. Imelda September 1, 2012 / 2:28 PM

    Oh so true! 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:25 PM

      I’ve made several wishes that I’m so glad didn’t come true. Thanks for reading, Imelda!

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:40 PM

      Thanks, Mel. Everyone has at least one odd-ball relative. (The fun families have more than one :))

  11. diannegray September 1, 2012 / 7:59 PM

    Fantastic – my favourite is ‘families’!

  12. Lumdog September 2, 2012 / 2:38 AM

    You have so many good ones. I especially liked luck, work and family. Great job with your chosen one. How many times is it that the thing we want doesn’t work out as we had hoped?

  13. mairzeebp September 2, 2012 / 5:06 AM

    My Dad tells me this every time and although I know he’s a wise man and has never led me wrong, I still get a kick in the teeth with this one every now and again. And I LOVED the outtake about work. So true!!

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:42 PM

      I remind myself of the work one when I feel compelled to put in extra hours. Thanks for reading, Mairzeebp!

  14. pattyabr September 2, 2012 / 9:46 AM

    In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about parenting: I gave all

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:45 PM

      Good one, Patty! We also “do our best” 🙂

  15. deanabo September 2, 2012 / 11:22 AM

    The scariest part of wishing is actually getting what you wish for.

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:46 PM

      Yes – sometimes the wishes have good results, but other times I can regret having the wish. Thanks for stopping by and reading my entry, Deanabo!

  16. Marie September 2, 2012 / 11:54 AM

    Man, you’re on a 3-word rampage! Awesome…

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:47 PM

      Thanks, Marie! But it was more a case of brainstorming until I found one jumped out at me 🙂

  17. Christine September 2, 2012 / 1:10 PM

    The outtakes were very amusing, but your actual entry? Sounds like a great opening line to a book. I want to know the whole story…

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:48 PM

      I hadn’t looked at it that way, Christine. But you’re right, it does hold a certain sense of foreboding.

  18. philosophermouseofthehedge September 2, 2012 / 3:42 PM

    I love your choice of 3 little words! ( and this challenge has been interesting to read everyone’s responses – fun!)

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:50 PM

      There were some great responses this week…I don’t envy the editors having to choose the top three! Thanks for reading mine, Phil.

    • jannatwrites September 2, 2012 / 11:52 PM

      I’m not sure. I’ve heard variations of this, often ending with “because it might come true.”

  19. nrhatch September 4, 2012 / 8:28 PM

    Loved it . . . and them. 😉

    • jannatwrites September 4, 2012 / 8:44 PM

      I’m glad you liked the bunch of them. I had fun writing them and even thought of several more after I posted. I decided to give everyone a break and not edit the post to add them 🙂

  20. braintomahawk September 5, 2012 / 10:46 AM

    Geat ones. You picked the best of the lot – it seems to cover all the rest 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 5, 2012 / 8:29 PM

      Thanks, Braintomahawk! They were fun to write.

Got an opinion? Share it!

