Road to Repair

For several weeks, our home’s appearance had been marred by a few missing roof tiles.  It looked tired and neglected.  We searched for weeks for supplies needed to get our roof put back to normal.  One roofer suggested we get the tiles and hammer them on ourselves, because “it’s really easy and the minimum charge is $350.”

This struck me as odd.  A heart surgeon might think a double bypass is easy…it doesn’t mean that an unskilled person should try it, though.  (I shudder to think that if the roof had been a heart patient, it would have flat-lined before the job was done.  Poor hubby isn’t the handyman type.)

In the end, we located the replacement tiles we needed, and a roofer who charged a more reasonable fee.  At last, our broken roof is fixed.

I feel like my life is on the road to repair as well.  Recent weeks have been plagued with worries, uncertainty and setbacks.  We were broken.  We tried to handle it all on our own and failed.  I don’t know why we choose that route first when God is most qualified to guide us.

We’re starting to see signs of change.  Hubby still struggles with feelings of worthlessness stemming from not having a job, but there is a promising employment opportunity.  I’m also encouraged by signs God might be working in him.  We are by no means through our period of uncertainty, but we have hope.

My future; what is to be

Is obscured by the present-

But I’ve glimpsed enough to believe

A beautiful sunrise sits on the horizon.

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. (Romans 12:12)

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see (Hebrews 11:1)

27 thoughts on “Road to Repair

  1. Carol Ann Hoel August 26, 2012 / 5:41 AM

    It seems that there are always challenges in our pathways, but we count on the faithfulness of God. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but God delivers us out of them all. Our righteousness is from Jesus, so how can we be defeated? Sorrow holds for a moment; and joy comes in the morning. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:31 PM

      Your comment is beautiful and so true, Carol. When we are through this challenge, there will surely be another. Maybe with enough practice, I’ll skip the ‘I can do it myself’ stage.

      Thanks for stopping by and offering your encouraging words.

  2. rebecca2000 August 26, 2012 / 6:46 AM

    You have a great attitude. Pass on to your husband, if you will, that mine was laid off for two and half years. It seemed that it would be forever until things changed. We were find financially but it takes a toll on a person to think no one wants to hire you. The thing was, people did, but they didn’t have the spots. Then one day everything changed. It will happen for ya both.

    ((hugs))
    Becca
    Lady or Not…Here I Come

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:35 PM

      I’m so sorry – that must’ve been horrible to go through. Two and a half years is a long time and it had to be frustrating, too. I’m glad it changed for you guys and I’m praying it will turn for us as well. I appreciate your supportive comment, Rebecca. Thanks 🙂

      • rebecca2000 August 27, 2012 / 12:02 AM

        Anytime, love. We all need support when going though something like this.

  3. nrhatch August 26, 2012 / 8:29 AM

    Here’s to brighter days . . . and not worrying about the rain coming through the roof. 😉

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:36 PM

      Yep…that’s one worry I can cross of the list. (It’s not a written list; it’s the mental one that invades my mind when I try to go to sleep :)) Thanks for stopping by, Nancy. Haven’t watched the news today…hope you are not in Isaac’s path.

  4. pattyabr August 26, 2012 / 8:40 AM

    this is a cycle in your lives that will need to be maneuvered skillfully with prayer and thoughtfulness. prayers being sent.

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:37 PM

      Thanks for your prayers, Patty. We should know in a couple weeks if things will pan out. If not, it’s on to seeking other options!

  5. cuhome August 26, 2012 / 9:00 AM

    I’m happy that things are starting to look brighter, now!

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:38 PM

      Me too, Janet. I want to get back to feeling inspired by life.

  6. Diane Turner August 26, 2012 / 10:17 AM

    Here’s to a bright future. Sending healing and prayers your way. And as nrhatch said: and not worrying about the rain coming through the roof. Bless you and your family.

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:40 PM

      Thanks, Diane! I appreciate the prayers and am looking forward to starting a new chapter in our lives.

  7. Debbie August 26, 2012 / 12:24 PM

    Why is it that we try to shoulder our own burdens, when God is ever-present and most willing to help us? That’s a mystery, isn’t it? Your beautiful sunrise picture, however, is full of hope and expectation — just the way your hearts must be. As my dad used to say, There never was a road so long that it didn’t turn. Prayers for you and your family during this tough time.

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:45 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who carries burdens that I don’t have to. (But I wish no one did that. It’s just not good!)

      That sunrise picture seemed perfect for this post. I let the dogs outside one morning and saw the colors. Even standing on a chair in my pajamas, I couldn’t see much more than the houses around us.

      Your dad was a wise man. I like that saying a lot. I appreciate your prayers and your thoughtful comment, Debbie 🙂

  8. Jonesingafter40 August 26, 2012 / 12:58 PM

    So sorry to hear about your husband’s job! Prayers that this opportunity will come to fruition or that another one will be close behind.

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:47 PM

      Thanks, Jonesing. I appreciate the prayers. So looking forward to some normalcy. It seems we both are stress eaters, judging by the extra pounds we’ve gained. Time to change that, too 🙂

  9. barbara August 26, 2012 / 1:20 PM

    Janna, so interesting . . . this was the subject of our SS class this morning – is God trustworthy? Resounding answer is yes – I am praying that you come out from under your cloud with lifted hands and praise for Him who loves you. 🙂 (Hubbymoose was without work for about two years and it was devastating for him. )

    • barbara August 26, 2012 / 1:21 PM

      He will see you through is what I am meaning to say.

    • jannatwrites August 26, 2012 / 10:52 PM

      I gather hubbymoose is working now? I hope so. The hardest thing about this is the psychological effects on him. I can figure out the finances; cut expenses, borrow from college savings…but I can’t take away his feeling that he isn’t contributing. Only working can do that.

      I appreciate you taking the time to comment – I appreciate the prayers, Barbara. I know God has a plan in all this. Don’t know what it is, but I’m sure I’ll look back at some point down the road and find some good in it all.

  10. Tori Nelson August 27, 2012 / 5:12 AM

    “patient in affliction”, I too often forget that part… normally because I am rushing around looking for solutions I can’t find. So glad that things are on the road towards repair in your life.

    • jannatwrites August 27, 2012 / 10:35 PM

      I do the same thing, Tori. I’m working to get better at the patience aspect (in all areas of my life) but it’s a slow process. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you are doing well.

  11. GodGirl August 27, 2012 / 8:52 PM

    That sounds tough Janna. I really sense your hope, optimism and anticipation for better days though, and may God work it all out as only He can. Praying for that sunrise to come quickly for you guys.

  12. jannatwrites August 27, 2012 / 10:38 PM

    Thanks for the prayers, GodGirl. Optimism feels better than dwelling on what isn’t.

  13. pattisj August 29, 2012 / 4:11 PM

    We went through a period of time when neither of us was employed, or under-employed, not making enough to live on. It is hard to fight those feelings of inadequacy, but one day, the phone rang, and yours will, too.

    • jannatwrites August 29, 2012 / 10:50 PM

      I’m glad you got the phone call. Right now, we go day-by-day, and will keep it up until things change. Thanks for your supportive comment, Patti!

Got an opinion? Share it!

