Ice Cream

Sweet confection,

We go way back.

Childhood treat-

Sticky fingers,

Soggy cones.

Teenaged angst-

Frozen therapy,

By Haagen-Dazs.

Mommy’s late-night indulgence-

Perverse hybrid,

Of habit and friend.

My expanding waistline,

Exposes this affection.

 

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~

The fact that I chose to write about ice cream should be a red flag that the relationship has crossed into unhealthy territory.  (Not to mention that I just used “ice cream” and “relationship” in the same sentence.)  That I have three open cartons and arranged a photo shoot should earn me mandatory admittance into an in-patient program.  It should. Yet still I’ve got my freedom….and a craving for chocolate fudge brownie ice cream.  Rats.  I don’t have that flavor…

I guess this is what happens when a childhood reward becomes a teenage confidante and finally, my secret stash of after-the-kids-go-to-bed sweetness. 🙂

This is my entry in the Trifecta weekend challenge:

“Give us 33 words (exactly) that tell us three different uses for one object.  But don’t just tell us that a can opener can be used to 1) open cans, 2) open beer bottles and 3) break a window in case of a fire.  Tell us a story, like Lead Belly did, if you can.  It won’t be easy, but you guys are far beyond needing easy prompts.

Example by blues musician Lead Belly: You take a knife, you use it to cut the bread, so you’ll have strength to work; you use it to shave, so you’ll look nice for your lover; on discovering her with another, you use it to cut out her lying heart.

 

69 thoughts on “Ice Cream

  1. Imelda August 10, 2012 / 5:48 PM

    Who doesn’t love ice cream? I love this post.

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 5:54 PM

      Thanks, Imelda. I just think I like ice cream a little too much. I kind of wish my husband would padlock the freezer shut 🙂

      • braintomahawk August 12, 2012 / 1:27 PM

        But not fully wish!– denying the confection when its needed most might prove pInful 😉

        • jannatwrites August 12, 2012 / 2:41 PM

          You’re probably right, Braintomahawk!

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:16 PM

      Thanks, MOV. I do like my ice cream 🙂

  2. Carrie August 10, 2012 / 6:10 PM

    mmmmmm, ice cream…now I want some. First cake at one blog, now ice cream. This weekend’s challenge is becoming a party!!

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:16 PM

      I just read the cake one…it would be a marvelous party, Carrie!

  3. nrhatch August 10, 2012 / 6:20 PM

    We have a flavor in the freezer right now that is a limited edition indulgence . . . coconut pineapple. It tastes like a pina colada. YUMMY!

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:17 PM

      I haven’t seen that one…must be a Florida thing? That’s a bummer too, I love coconut and pineapple. Thanks for sharing your comment (now if you could only share your ice cream :lol:)

  4. Andrea August 10, 2012 / 6:40 PM

    I think we may be kindred spirits…My memories and ice cream flavors go hand in hand. When I was small I loved pink bubblegum, as a teenager it was always mint chocolate chip, in high school — only chocolate almond fudge would do and in college I fell in love with Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey. Today, cherry chocolate chip is tops. 😉 Loved your post.

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:20 PM

      I think you may be right, Andrea. I was with you on most of the flavors (except almond – I don’t like nuts). Between your cake post and this ice cream one, I may have gained another pound or two tonight 🙂

  5. Ruby Manchanda August 10, 2012 / 7:17 PM

    Icecreams – no one can have just one 🙂
    Nice response.

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:21 PM

      I ignore the serving size on the container, which might be a contributing factor to my finding and extra fifteen pounds 😦 Thanks for stopping by, Ruby!

  6. Tara R. August 10, 2012 / 7:20 PM

    Ice cream… the ultimate comfort food.

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:23 PM

      Yes, it is comforting, until clothes start binding (which is where I’m at now…) Glad you stopped by, Tara!

  7. Lumdog August 10, 2012 / 8:01 PM

    This is what is good (and very bad) about being a grown up! You can have all you want 🙂
    You’ve described a long term love affair in vey few words. Nicely done.

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:24 PM

      Thanks for your kind comment, Lumdog! Yep, as grown ups we can have all we want, but it does help if we have the self-control to say “when”. Apparently, I do not. 🙂

  8. Jeanna August 10, 2012 / 8:04 PM

    Death by Chocolate…it was a limited time only flavor in 1997. I miss it. Your contribution reminded me of it. Fantastic choice for this week’s challenge.

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:26 PM

      I don’t think I tried that one (but what a way to go, right?) In 1997 I think I was still stuck on a mocha coffee flavor that Haagen-Dazs made. I was horrified to find out that a pint was supposed to be four servings 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Jeanna!

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:27 PM

      I’m glad I’m not alone, Annette. I’m going to have to make a clean break…well, after I finish what I have in the freezer already, of course.

  9. Marie August 10, 2012 / 8:17 PM

    Totally love the added speech bubble confession from the ice cream. Nice touch!

  10. jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:29 PM

    Thanks, Marie! I hadn’t done one before, so I had fun playing around with that. I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  11. Tessa August 10, 2012 / 8:29 PM

    Ice cream, cake, now I am craving them both LOL!

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 8:30 PM

      Okay, I didn’t read these before I posted, so it must be a sign that my ice cream was posted directly after the cake post. Couldn’t possibly be coincidence.

      I sure hope I don’t get hate e-mail when diets crash and burn this weekend 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Tessa!

  12. pattisj August 10, 2012 / 8:59 PM

    Ice cream is my favorite dessert. Glad I found soft-serve frozen yogurt, it keeps me away from the ice cream aisle and DQ. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 10, 2012 / 9:30 PM

      I like soft-serve yogurt, too, Patti. I usually end up at the grocery store because it can be expensive to buy individual cups (the downside is that there’s even more to eat :))

  13. pattyabr August 11, 2012 / 7:43 AM

    Out of all the indulgences in life, ice cream is a forgiveable treat.

  14. Val August 11, 2012 / 10:10 AM

    Oh, Ice cream, Ice cream, my freezer for an ice cream. No, I take that back. I’ll have the freezer and the ice cream!

    I like your post. I like icecream too! 😉

    • jannatwrites August 11, 2012 / 1:25 PM

      Yeah, you don’t want to give away the freezer, Val…no where to keep the ice cream then 🙂 Thanks so much for reading – glad you liked it!

  15. Amy @ BettyRants August 11, 2012 / 10:43 AM

    Beautiful interpretation, Janna! I love that it becomes your secret stash! Everyone needs a little indulgence now and then. The picture with the word bubble was a brilliant addition to the piece! I am seriously craving ice cream now. Thanks for that.

    • jannatwrites August 11, 2012 / 1:27 PM

      Thanks, Amy. Indulgence now and then wouldn’t be so bad…it’s the almost every night that gets me! Glad you liked the pic – it was just me being silly!

  16. Sandra August 11, 2012 / 11:28 AM

    ‘Habit’ and ‘friend’. Well described for this yummy, cold treat! Cute poem, and one many of us can relate to!

    • jannatwrites August 11, 2012 / 1:28 PM

      Thanks for reading, Sandra – glad you enjoyed the poem. I’ll be taking a break from ice cream to see if I can get my clothes to fit again 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 11, 2012 / 1:28 PM

      Ah, another ice cream fan…it looks like I’m in good company, Newwhitebear!

  17. Gina August 11, 2012 / 2:37 PM

    We are in love with the same thing! Fancy that!

    • jannatwrites August 11, 2012 / 9:47 PM

      Yep! I know we could use some time apart, but I can’t stay away from it 🙂

  18. diannegray August 11, 2012 / 3:19 PM

    I love ice-cream – but not to the extent of my sister who has banned herself from buying it. Once she opens a tub she can’t put it down until she has finished it all! 😀

    • Diane Turner August 11, 2012 / 3:34 PM

      Oh, I am so with your sister, diannegray. I, too, have a self-imposed ban on buying the stuff, especially any remotely akin to coffee ice cream….
      I’m salivating just typing the words. I’m such a dork.

      • diannegray August 11, 2012 / 4:07 PM

        Hahahaha! Now I want some too 😀

  19. Diane Turner August 11, 2012 / 3:37 PM

    Therapy by Haagen-Dazs! Some liar once told me that ice cream was a great source of calcium, so it was okay to indulge. The calcium, however, appears only around the waist, not in the bones.

    • jannatwrites August 11, 2012 / 9:52 PM

      LOL! Your exchange cracked me up, Diane and Dianne. I need to impose a ban from buying it 🙂 I used to eat a mocha coffee one that was too good….this reminder makes me want to look up that old friend!

  20. Renada Styles August 12, 2012 / 7:51 AM

    i’d just read a response about chocolate cake, so i need to correct my statement. a woman’s life is not complete without chocolate cake and ice cream. chocolate ice cream being the sweet plague and love of my life. ❤

    • jannatwrites August 12, 2012 / 2:32 PM

      Chocolate anything is a mood lifter 🙂 Good to know I’m not the only one with a love affair with ice cream, Renada!

    • jannatwrites August 12, 2012 / 2:33 PM

      You too, huh? Good thing there’s enough to go around, Anna 🙂 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 12, 2012 / 2:40 PM

      Well, then…I’d better have an extra scoop tonight 😆

      Thanks, Jesterqueen!

  21. braintomahawk August 12, 2012 / 1:30 PM

    So with 3 distinct flavors, do they in turn have a separate use?

    Well done! Ice cream as a kid meant something very different- including guiltfree-ness

    • jannatwrites August 12, 2012 / 2:45 PM

      Hmmm….maybe they do, Braintomahawk. There are varying doses of chocolate, so maybe without realizing it, I eat more chocolate when I have more stress 🙂 I do miss the childhood days where I was unconcerned with metabolism, diabetes or maintaining a goal weight.

  22. Michael August 12, 2012 / 2:36 PM

    Frozen therapy is a perfect description for ice cream. I’ve used it that way many a time. 😛

  23. cuhome August 12, 2012 / 3:13 PM

    Yummers! Now I want ice cream… hubby just got home from the store—hope he bought some……….

    • jannatwrites August 12, 2012 / 3:51 PM

      I hope he read your mind and bought some, too 🙂 Thanks for reading, Janet!

  24. trifectawriting August 12, 2012 / 7:18 PM

    I think this is a story that most women can identify with. I know sometimes, in the most dire of emotional situations, that nothing else will do.
    Thanks for linking up with us again this week. Please come on back for the new prompt tomorrow.

    • jannatwrites August 13, 2012 / 7:52 AM

      Yeah, it seems ice cream is very popular!

    • jannatwrites August 13, 2012 / 7:56 AM

      Hehehe….I should impose a similar ban due to my inability to say “no” to the yummy treats 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Kelly.

    • jannatwrites August 13, 2012 / 6:32 PM

      That’s funny, Rosie! Thanks for the smile 🙂

  25. jenniesisler August 15, 2012 / 4:04 AM

    I like tracing the stages of your life through how you indulge in ice cream. My favorite always has been Neopolitan (chocolate strawberry and vanilla) and I remember one time my best friend in high school saw me eating it and couldn’t understand why I was eating all three flavors together. His mom bought it but would separate out each one…..funny, I thought his way of eating it was wierd too. My nephew celebrated his 8th bithday this year with ice cream and donuts for breakfast. I only wish I could get away with that at my age!

    • jannatwrites August 15, 2012 / 10:00 PM

      I like Neapolitan, too, Jennie. I always start and end with chocolate (I might be OCD :))

      I’ve heard that ice cream and donuts for breakfast is an automatic 10-pound weight gain penalty for anyone over thirty. I’m not about to see if it’s true!

      • jenniesisler August 16, 2012 / 5:07 PM

        Yeah you can only get away with that when you’re 8. Otherwise, it’s all over if you eat ice cream before noon. My birthday was the 5th and a friend made cupcakes for me. I walked into work and found 18 on my desk. Needless to say I spent all day giving them away.

        • jannatwrites August 16, 2012 / 8:06 PM

          18 cupcakes on your desk…wow! (I could’ve gotten it down to a dozen by lunchtime, Jennie :))

        • jenniesisler August 17, 2012 / 8:37 AM

          I could have too, which is why I was giving them away;)

    • jannatwrites August 15, 2012 / 10:03 PM

      In moderation, it’s quite helpful, Carl. Moderation. There’s a word I need to learn.

Got an opinion? Share it!

