Weathering Storms

Dust painting the sky brown

Saturday afternoon a dust storm blew over the city.  Grit and debris, as well as a small amount of rain, carried through the air, reducing visibility.  Mesquite trees submitted to the winds- their trunks gave enough so that they bent but didn’t snap.  Sure, with high enough winds, sustained for a long enough period of time, they would eventually give in and break.

I’m going through my own storms right now.  Uncertainty creates stress, which is the wind that threatens to break me.  But I have added strength from an outside source:  God.  My weakness lies in the fact that I rely too much on myself.  I’ll figure out a way…I can make this work…I can change this.  I often don’t call on God’s strength until worry has already settled in the bottom of my stomach.

I don’t’ know what’s going to happen.  I know what outcome is easiest, but I have no clue what result is best.  (I’ve seen enough blessings in disguise to know not to pray for the easiest outcome.)  And here’s the big one:  no amount of worry will change what is.

Like the dust storm last night, trials are only temporary.  I ask for strength to weather the storm, no matter how long or how fierce it may be.

Even in dark clouds, there is light

Some scriptures that encouraged me this week:

The Lord is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him. (Exodus 15:2)

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? (Psalm 27:1)

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. (Psalm 46:1)

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:34)

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. (John 14:27)

Cast your cares on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.  (Psalm 55:22)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

20 thoughts on “Weathering Storms

  1. pattyabr July 22, 2012 / 3:48 AM

    good cloud pictures. I wish you calm in the midst of the storm clouds.

    • jannatwrites July 22, 2012 / 12:51 PM

      Thanks, Patty! We just noticed some roof tiles came off our roof, so it looks like we’ll be off on another adventure: finding a decent roofer 😦

  2. Jackie Paulson July 22, 2012 / 4:11 AM

    wow, I am not a fan of storms, that would make me nervous.

    • jannatwrites July 22, 2012 / 12:52 PM

      The dust storms aren’t usually that bad (if you’re indoors.) The lightning show last night was more scary to me. Thanks for stopping by, Jackie!

  3. Imelda July 22, 2012 / 6:27 AM

    I wish you well. The passages you quoted are truly comforting. May God’s grace be upon you.

    • jannatwrites July 22, 2012 / 12:52 PM

      Thanks, Imelda. I appreciate your kind thoughts. I keep re-reading the passages when I feel anxiety build again 🙂

  4. newwhitebear July 22, 2012 / 9:33 AM

    Wordeful clouds pictures. I don’t love the storm. It fills me with anguish. I prefer the clear sky,

    • jannatwrites July 22, 2012 / 12:53 PM

      Clear skies are definitely more predictable, Newwhitebear! The storms make us appreciate those clear skies, though 🙂

  5. Debbie July 22, 2012 / 2:19 PM

    You didn’t get much rain out of that storm, I’ll bet. Hope you figure out what direction to take in the difficulty. You’re being rather mysterious, you know, but you’ve quoted the most comforting scripture passages!

    • jannatwrites July 22, 2012 / 3:42 PM

      You guessed correctly, Debbie. Lots of dust, and just enough moisture to make it a mess to clean up.

      I wish I could just unload all the details here, but that would reveal way too much about my identity. For now, vagueness is a must 🙂

  6. Tessa July 22, 2012 / 2:48 PM

    What interesting pictures. Good read! I may be unsure as to my views on God, but one thing I have learned over the years…things happen for a reason, whether we understand it at first or not and even though what happens isn’t always pleasant, the outcome surely can be the best.

    • jannatwrites July 22, 2012 / 3:44 PM

      You’re right, Tessa. When I look back on the rough patches in my life, most of the time, I can see why it had to be. Even when I can’t see, I just have to trust that it taught me something I needed to know. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts here!

  7. pattisj July 22, 2012 / 7:59 PM

    Sorry to hear you are in a season of uncertainty. It is one of the hardest things to deal with, we are used to being in control–or at least thinking we are. 🙂 It is obvious you know where you help comes from, so lean in, press on, keep asking, seeking and knocking. And TRUST.

    • jannatwrites July 22, 2012 / 9:19 PM

      Ha! Thinking we’re in control is the key (false sense of security?) I’m trying not to drive myself nuts over it…I keep reading and re-reading the passages. I trust it will work out as it should, even if it’s not the easy way.

  8. philosophermouseofthehedge July 23, 2012 / 8:34 AM

    Dust storms – UGH! Strange and unpleasant. SO not normal at all. (and there won’t even be a rainbow at the end….guess clear blue sky would be sufficient in this case)
    Life itself is traveling through repeated storms –
    Hang in there…it’s always temporary – you’re tough.

    • jannatwrites July 23, 2012 / 9:10 AM

      Dust storm can be pretty eerie. The brown cloud just spreads over the sky. After seeing this for 20+ years, I almost think it is normal 🙂

      It’s hard to not get dragged down by worst-case scenarios, but I do my best to keep it positive. Thanks for your kind and supportive comment, Phil!

  9. GodGirl July 23, 2012 / 9:49 PM

    Praying our loving God will help you ride out the storm. I heard a sermon with a storm analogy on Sunday, and the preacher said when we’re in the storm it’s like we’re surrounded by white noise – we can’t hear above the sound it’s making. But we know there is someone waiting on the other side, calling us through. And his name is Jesus, the calmer of storms. May he be brought into visibility as you make your way through this rough patch. Thanks for sharing such a great analogy, and the uplifting verses – his word is powerful.

    • jannatwrites July 23, 2012 / 10:37 PM

      Thanks for the prayers, God Girl. Next week the uncertainty should be made clear. (Of course, there will be ramifications either way things go, but no amount of worrying will change what ‘is’. I keep reminding myself of this!)

      It’s funny that your preacher spoke of storms on the same day I wrote about them. Thanks for stopping by and offering your support. I appreciate it.

  10. An Embarrassment of Freedom July 31, 2012 / 10:13 AM

    Oddly enough I really like storms…when I’m safely iside.. i love the drama I guess….and i can just sit by myself and let it happen…afterwards the peace and coolness and very soon the sun shines through…much like life….storms gather and clear the air.

    • jannatwrites July 31, 2012 / 9:03 PM

      Some storms are exciting but not frightening. I get frightened by lightning.

      I’m glad you are able to enjoy the storms and appreciate the peacefulness after them. Thanks for stopping by today!

Got an opinion? Share it!

