Changed

Yesterday

I breathed but didn’t live;

I looked but didn’t see.

Today

Needles brush my fingertips;

I’m touched by the beauty of a weed.

New growth on a pine tree (near Sedona, AZ)
Yes, technically it’s a weed…but I see flowers

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I’m continually surprised when something I see every day grabs my attention.  My breath catches when I notice details I missed so many times before.  It does make me wonder how much more around me remains unappreciated.  I pray for many more days, and the focus needed, to discover what I’ve been missing.

P.S. I was a little hesitant to post my amateur photos because lately, I’ve visited several blogs of photographers…real photographers with professional quality pictures.  A few of these talented people have subscribed to my blog (probably regretting that decision at the moment).  Please remember:  JannaTWrites….JannaT isn’t a photographer (but I sometimes luck out with a decent picture in spite of myself :lol:)

26 thoughts on “Changed

  1. judithhb July 18, 2012 / 3:13 PM

    I am always amazed when I look at something, a plant or thing, and today it looks so different to the way it was yesterday. But in not recognising it’s beauty and strength one day we are given the opportunity to do so on another day. And your photographs? They are great.

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 9:07 PM

      There are so many distractions and preoccupations, it’s no wonder it takes us a few passes to really look at something. Thanks for stopping by today, Judith (and thanks for liking the pics :))

  2. Mama Zen July 18, 2012 / 3:14 PM

    I think the pictures are lovely!

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 9:08 PM

      Thanks, Mama Zen! I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  3. Carl D'Agostino July 18, 2012 / 4:28 PM

    We have eyes but do not see. We understand that now.

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 9:13 PM

      If we’re not careful, we could easily overlook the details of the world around us. Glad you stopped by, Carl!

  4. pattyabr July 18, 2012 / 5:50 PM

    as long as you use natural light any picture looks great

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 9:13 PM

      You’re right, Patty. I’ve noticed the outdoor ones are easier to take 🙂

  5. philosophermouseofthehedge July 18, 2012 / 6:58 PM

    A good part of any great picture is that a person with an artist’s eye saw something and recorded it. You’re right on target.
    Nice post and great job!

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 9:15 PM

      Thanks, Phil. I’ve thought about learning some rules and techniques for photography, but I’m still mastering the writing part…one thing at a time, I say!

  6. pattisj July 18, 2012 / 9:33 PM

    I thought your pictures were just fine. That weed also made an appearance in my garden, and I thought it added interest to a bare spot. 🙂 Bees liked the flowers, too.

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 10:19 PM

      Thanks, Patti. I like your attitude about the weed. I’m sure the bees are thrilled you didn’t weed your garden!

  7. Widdershins July 18, 2012 / 10:21 PM

    Never put yourself down in public! . . . your pictures tell a story … that’s what they’re supposed to do … keep ’em coming!

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 10:31 PM

      Oh, this isn’t in public, Widdershins, it’s just the internet 😉

      I agree that pictures do tell a story. I wasn’t putting myself down; I was being truthful! I think the pictures I post are okay; but there are so many others I see that are amazing. I’m not there yet (may never be.)

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:19 PM

      Thank you, Newwhitebear. I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  8. Sandra July 19, 2012 / 9:57 AM

    Janna, I LIKE your pictures! You certainly don’t have to be a professional photographer to share your pics. BTW, I’ve been experimenting with PicMonkey lately (extending my pic obsession from Instagram); take a look yourself if you haven’t already. It’s a photo editing site and it’s free.

    I also like the message here. I also surprise myself with things I never knew about before, particularly with nature. Then I think to myself: where have I been all this time? It’s always a blessing to learn something new, isn’t it?

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:21 PM

      Hmmm…I’ve been thinking of getting a photo editing software, so I think I will check it out – thanks! It is a blessing to learn something new – it’s confirmation that we are awake and paying attention 🙂

  9. Debbie July 19, 2012 / 12:31 PM

    “Yesterday I breathed but didn’t live.” I like that! How often, I wonder, do we fall into the habit of breathing but not living? It’s a crying shame really, when you realize how much we have that we take for granted. Thanks for opening our eyes to the wonder all around us!

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:30 PM

      I have many moments where I live on the surface (and I’m sure there are countless others that I didn’t even recognize.) Thanks for stopping by to share your thoughts on this, Debbie 🙂

  10. cuhome July 19, 2012 / 3:04 PM

    Wonderful! I love this! How often we walk around in a half-conscious haze, missing so much of what’s in front of us! Thanks, Janna!

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:33 PM

      Thanks, Janet! I’m glad you liked this one. I often have so much to do/so much on my mind, I feel like I miss lots of stuff.

  11. Jonesingafter40 July 19, 2012 / 4:49 PM

    Lovely words AND lovely photos, JannaT.

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:34 PM

      Thanks so much, Jonesing! I appreciate you stopping by.

  12. braintomahawk July 20, 2012 / 9:45 AM

    What you see with your eyes is as true as what you type with your fingers – the same ones that snap the photo. You are expressing yourself in multiple ways, not ‘different’ ones! ‘I see flowers’ – that sums it up.

    Thanks for all you share!

    • jannatwrites July 20, 2012 / 11:08 PM

      I like how you put that, Braintomahawk. I do enjoy the multiple ways to express creativity (but writing is still my favorite :)) Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

Got an opinion? Share it!

