A Cloud Obsession Comes to Light

This cloud was love at first light, I mean, sight

There are two things I can count on:

  1.  I’ll see a great photo op when I don’t have my camera with me (or the battery is dead); and
  2.  Even the best photo op won’t persuade hubby to pull the car over.

(I guess I should clarify that I can expect these two things when it comes to taking pictures.  There are other things I can count on in life- like an accident on the freeway when I’m late for work, my children’s honesty when it comes to pointing out my shortcomings, and forgetting the one thing I absolutely needed at the grocery store whenever I shop from memory. )

Those who’ve read my blog before may have noticed that I’m obsessed with clouds.  My fascination with sunlight comes in a close second.  When I see a beautiful combination of clouds and sunlight, I go crazy, like a pre-teen girl with a Justin Bieber poster.  Okay, not that crazy…but you get the idea 🙂

This time of year, the heat builds all day, setting the scene for afternoon/evening dust storms, and the occasional thunderstorm, if we’re lucky.  Breathing dust is a bad thing.  There is a risk of Valley Fever.  People with asthma or breathing problems are forced indoors.  Looking at dust illuminated by the afternoon sun is a beautiful thing.  The dust filters light in ways that are so different from a clean air day.  (Well, a cleaner air day…we don’t have many “clean” air days in the city!)

On Sunday, the dust, light and clouds sparked my obsession came together beautifully.  Of course, my camera battery was dead.  (Apparently batteries need charged once in a while.)  My disappointment faded when I remembered the camera on my phone has an 8MP camera.  It doesn’t have the stabilization or the cheat lines to give me a reference for a straight horizon, but it had exactly what I needed:  the memory to capture the rays of sunlight.

If only my memory worked so well.

A little something extra for those who stuck it through to the end 🙂

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Thanks to everyone who read my Trifecta Weekend Challenge story and voted for it – it was the 1st place winner this week.  To a girl who was never picked for team sports in P.E. and was absent from all the “most likely to” lists in high school, this is something different!

30 thoughts on “A Cloud Obsession Comes to Light

    • jannatwrites July 16, 2012 / 3:21 PM

      Thanks for bearing with another cloud post, Braintomahawk 🙂

      • braintomahawk July 17, 2012 / 6:43 AM

        Of course, I do the same thing. Light through clouds is a nice rare sight!

        • jannatwrites July 17, 2012 / 7:19 PM

          I’ve been looking light through clouds for a long time…now to find it when I have a better camera 🙂

  1. messyme July 16, 2012 / 3:12 PM

    You too huh? I can’t get enough of clouds it seems.

    • jannatwrites July 16, 2012 / 3:22 PM

      Maybe we should start a fan club, Messyme? I’ve got it so bad I always see things in the clouds. In that first picture, I swear it looks like the light is shining through a heart (I love hearts too, but that’s another post entirely :lol:) Thanks for stopping by!

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge July 16, 2012 / 3:38 PM

    Seems like we’ve had a great year for clouds! Amazing shots. (usually I’m without camera, too – but have started carrying phone which will do)

    • jannatwrites July 16, 2012 / 9:59 PM

      It has been a good cloud year, Phil. I still prefer a ‘real’ camera, but the phone is a good back up 🙂

  3. suzicate July 16, 2012 / 4:06 PM

    That first cloud pic is awesome! I love how the light rays are beaming from a heart! And congrats on your much deserved contest win!

    • jannatwrites July 16, 2012 / 10:00 PM

      I’m glad you thought it was a heart, too, Suzicate. I thought maybe I was crazy 🙂

  4. Tessa July 16, 2012 / 6:17 PM

    Congrats on your first place win! Great job! I always forget the camera on my phone. I never remember to take my regular one LOL!

    • jannatwrites July 16, 2012 / 10:02 PM

      Thanks, Tessa. The win was a pleasant surprise 🙂 I usually don’t use the phone, but I have a feeling I’ll be falling back on it more since I can’t seem to remember to keep the camera battery charged.

  5. chlost July 16, 2012 / 7:15 PM

    Yes, clouds and sunlight are amazing, and often make wonderful photos. I have also started to bring my camera with me no matter where I am. I don’t have a smart phone, so the camera is needed. But then I usually don’t get a photo and kick myself later. Glad you took these.

    Congrats on your win!

    • jannatwrites July 16, 2012 / 10:04 PM

      Thanks for checking out the pictures, Chlost. It’s nice to have a camera because picture subjects come up all the time. I hope you get some nice shots!

  6. cuhome July 17, 2012 / 7:21 AM

    I really liked this post, Janna, as I can relate. It’s the pause between when I push the “click” and when the shutter actually opens and closes that always gets me!!

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2012 / 7:26 PM

      I’m glad you liked it, Janet! I enjoy the anticipation of seeing if the picture I imagined is what was actually taken (most of the time it’s not.)

  7. Ms. Nine July 17, 2012 / 8:18 AM

    For keeping your head in the clouds…I’ve just nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Will you accept?

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2012 / 7:44 PM

      That is so nice of you, Ms. Nine! I appreciate the thought 🙂

      If I can think of seven semi-interesting facts, I just might play along (with a link back to you, of course.) I don’t display awards, mostly because I can’t meet the requirement to pick a certain number of blogs to pass it along to (I like too many, and feel bad when I leave someone out.)

  8. Debbie July 17, 2012 / 1:36 PM

    Janna, this is stunning! Thanks for sharing it. I find myself facing the same problem — a lovely photo op passes because I don’t have my camera handy. Bet loads of people have this issue, too!

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2012 / 7:47 PM

      Thanks, Debbie. I was excited about the pictures (the first one, especially).

      Imagine all the pictures we’d have if we were prepared 🙂 You know, I still haven’t charged the camera battery (camera is still in my purse.) Something tells me I’m going to be caught in the same situation again.

  9. pattyabr July 17, 2012 / 4:42 PM

    I like the clouds and the light too. Nice

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2012 / 7:48 PM

      Thanks for checking out the pictures, Patty!

  10. Imelda July 18, 2012 / 9:43 AM

    Gorgeous gorgeous clouds! Yeah, I would have been sorely disappointed too if I did not have a camera ready for that one. 🙂
    And congratulations! I have not seen any Trifecta in the last weeks but I know it is well-deserved. 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 9:06 PM

      Thanks, Imelda – I’m glad you like the clouds, too 🙂 The Trifecta win was a pleasant surprise, but now it’s back to working on the big challenge for next week!

  11. judithhb July 18, 2012 / 3:15 PM

    Love the pictures of clouds – thanks for sharing. and congratulations on the Trifecta win. It was well deserved. 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2012 / 9:11 PM

      I’m finding there are a lot of us cloud lovers out there, Judith. I appreciate you reading my posts (including the last Trifecta piece) 🙂

  12. Sandra July 19, 2012 / 10:01 AM

    These are fascinating sky/cloud/sun pictures! I ‘saw’ a pic last week that looked like the first pic–mass of clouds with a hole in the middle–but of course we were on the highway and there was no way I could snap a good one. So I had to let it go. But I was able to take many shadow pics of the kiddos while we were at the beach! Yay! Keep taking these awesome pictures!!

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:25 PM

      Oh, I’m sorry you missed that shot, Sandra. I still regret this sunrise picture I missed almost a year ago. I haven’t seen anything like it since, but I was on a freeway onramp and couln’t pull over safely. The freeway changed directions and buildings blocked the view after that. One day, I might get over my loss 😆

      I liked the beach photo you had on your last post – glad you had fun with that. That’s what it’s all about anyway!

  13. pattisj July 24, 2012 / 9:53 PM

    And the sky changes so quickly! Lovely shot, glad you got it.

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2012 / 9:59 PM

      Thanks, Patti. I’ve got my camera battery charged, and of course, I haven’t seen another view like it!

Got an opinion? Share it!

