Simply The Best

Not long ago, I overheard someone on TV talking about their singing, a talent pursued with the hope of becoming the best in the world.

My first thought:  “Wow, that’s ambitious.”

My second thought:  “Where does this leave the billions of people who cannot be the best?”

Since I fall into the “not the best” category, my mind mulled this over for several days.  I wondered why we would strive for such a goal.  Fame?  Money?  Ego boosting?  This would explain the popularity of Guinness World Records.  Maybe that’s why one would shoot for the record of most spoons balanced on the face, or most shirts worn at one time?

God doesn’t care if the world knows my name, or if I earn enough money to buy a private island.  And my lagging self-confidence only matters if it hinders my ability to share God’s word.

I’ve written about my struggles recognizing my gift(s) and God’s calling, so I won’t go there today.  God’s ministry is like a Broadway musical.  Not everyone can have a leading role, just like not everyone can be the best.  We may not get center stage, but God’s calling gives us the opportunity to bask in a different kind of spotlight.

Oddly enough, when I think about wanting better talents, Tinker Bell (the movie) comes to mind.  Here’s part of the summary from Amazon:

“Tinker Bell thinks her fairy talent as a tinker isn’t as special or important as the other fairies’ talents. But when Tink tries to change who she is, she creates nothing but disaster! With encouragement from her friends, Tink learns the key to solving her problems lies in her unique tinker abilities and discovers that when she’s true to herself, magical things can happen.”

There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit.  There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord.  There are different kinds of working, but the Same God works all of them in all men.”  (I Corinthians 12:4-6)

I pray that we may all be content with being the best “us” we can be, even if we aren’t the best in the world.  Have a beautiful Sunday!

18 thoughts on “Simply The Best

  1. GodGirl July 15, 2012 / 4:54 AM

    Great post! Really thought-provoking. I know, what is it with our obsession with being the best, rather than aiming to enjoy whatever it is we’re called to do/be for as long as we’re called to do/be it. And when you said “God doesn’t care if the world knows my name”, it hit on something for me – I think we want to be the best because deep down we want the world to know our name, to see us, and to appreciate us.
    I love your words:
    “God’s calling gives us the opportunity to bask in a different kind of spotlight.”
    That’s the beauty of God isn’t it… He sees and loves us – yet whatever we do for him is all about him. Yes we shine (each in our own way) – but He gets the glory for it. I’d rather (deep down) be in His spotlight than my own. That’s where the true joy is.
    Keep doing what you’re doing, using your amazing gifts to shine His light in your spheres of influence!

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 9:43 PM

      I enjoyed your thoughtful comment, GodGirl.

      When I was young, I went through a stage where I wanted to be famous. Mainly so I could rub it in the faces of those who made fun of me. (I know, not mature or Christian-like :)) My older son has mentioned several times that he wants to be famous but can’t articulate why. I try not to get too alarmed when we talk it through, because I came through that stage okay. He’s also in a stage where “church is boring” but I do hope he puts his faith in God. It would be too sad if he sought fame to fill an empty space in his heart.

      • GodGirl July 16, 2012 / 4:09 AM

        I can relate to the fame craving – it must be something many of us go through. And definitely, some of us are called to a certain type of fame/public profile, and that can be a wonderful thing. Praying for you as you entrust his future to God, and as he thinks all these issues/desires through.

        • jannatwrites July 16, 2012 / 6:26 AM

          Prayers are appreciated, GodGirl. I grew out of wanting fame, so I do hope he will as well. Growing up is a tough process, that’s for sure!

        • GodGirl July 16, 2012 / 7:08 PM

          Sure is! A never-ending one for me hehe.

  2. habibadanyal July 15, 2012 / 7:05 AM

    That is so true janna. if the supporting artists dont play along, the play of life would be so incomplete.

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 9:46 PM

      Life is the biggest production there is. Thanks for stopping by, Habibadanyal!

  3. Debbie July 15, 2012 / 11:40 AM

    Good points, Janna! And really, who’s to decide just who the best singing/dancing/writing/whatever is??You’ve got it right — that we can only be the best “us” possible. Nobody else can be me; nobody else can be you. We each must use the talents God has given us, to the best of our abilities!

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 9:55 PM

      You summarized it well, Debbie. The arts are so subjective, choosing the best is merely personal preference. Here’s to doing our best under God’s direction.

  4. Carl D'Agostino July 15, 2012 / 6:05 PM

    I’ve always triedto be the best I can be. It is not an obsession with perfection, the pursuit of which is the fool’s folly, but a sense of craftsmanship.

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 10:03 PM

      Our motivation affects how much joy we experience. When the adoration or attention from others replaces internal motivation, joy is threatened. Thanks for sharing your experience, Carl!

  5. cuhome July 17, 2012 / 7:23 AM

    Oh, this is so true, and so well put! Since most of us are in that category of “not the best”, but are doing the best we can. And that’s good enough!

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2012 / 7:31 PM

      Yes, we are good enough, Janet. Being in the ‘not the best’ category really isn’t that bad because I’ve got lots of great company 🙂

  6. Sandra July 19, 2012 / 10:11 AM

    As long as it’s our very own best! I don’t think this is a lack of self-confidence on your part, Janna, as much as you have the sense/logic to know the world is a big place and there’s always undiscovered talent out there. I think better to be modest than to proclaim being the best, no? =)

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:27 PM

      True – we should always strive to do our best (even if someone around us is better.) I agree that modesty is better. A know-it-all with an ego is annoying 🙂

  7. pattyabr July 19, 2012 / 2:40 PM

    What a wonderful post. Thank you. I have re-assessed my calling many times in my life. The past several years have been a test of my committment to my patients but also trying to stay true to myself as a professional health care provider. I started a blog to get a creative outlet, since I couldn’t make a creative impact at work. As I predicted all my praying for patience and waiting for a break in the action has all come to fruition all at once! All things I wished for at work are now happening. Now I am crazy busy and running around.

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:32 PM

      I’m glad your prayers are being answered for your work. It just figures everything happens at once! (I guess we don’t specify timing in our prayers, do we?) I’m glad you had a minute to stop by and share your experience, Patty. I hope you are a good kind of crazy busy 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

