In Consideration of Inconsideration (a Trifecta Challenge)

Winters in our neck of the woods are quite lovely.  We don’t have visitors because everyone stays inside, bundled up in cozy blankets in front of the fireplace, sipping mugs of hot chocolate.

I wish I could say the same about summertime.

Our family prefers to keep to ourselves, but during the summer months, we are inundated with careless houseguests. Did you know that last week, they nearly set fire to our home?  We heard the whistling, then the loud pops, followed by bursts of light.  We knew those colorful bits of fire would rain down; we just hoped it wouldn’t be in our front yard.

I should explain that we’d already put up with these people for three days.  Three days of traipsing through our yard, three evenings of boisterous laughter, and three nights of hunting interrupted by their late-night trips to the bathroom.  I wanted to tell them to drink less, but they wouldn’t care about my opinion.  I wanted to tell them to go home, but they figure our home is their home.

When the pops and bursts started, I stowed the family inside while I ventured out to check for damage.  At first I didn’t see him, but Lord have mercy, I could smell him, thanks to three days without a shower.  I guessed the boy stood about ten feet in front of me.

He saw me first.  He stomped his feet, held his nose and squealed.  “Mommmmmeeeeeee!”

I panicked.  I turned and sprayed before scurrying to safety.

“Ewwwww!  It stinks!” the boy hollered between sobs.

I had to agree.  His odor could bring the toughest skunk to tears.

What’s that smell? (image via Amazon)

~~~-~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my entry for the Trifecta weekend weekend challenge.  This one is community voted, so if you like it, please visit the Trifecta site on Sunday (after 8PM Eastern time) to vote.  If you don’t like my entry, you should still visit the site to vote because I promise you’ll find something you do like among the entries :)  The instructions for this prompt are as follows:

This weekend’s prompt is borrowed from Benjamin Franklin, who once said, “Guests, like fish, begin to smell after three days.”  We want you to tell us a story about a guest, invited or otherwise, who begins to smell, metaphorically or otherwise, after three days.  (Using up to 333 words.)

Oh, if you want to write your own entry, check out the Trifecta site by clicking on the Tricycle picture to see full instructions.  Happy writing (and reading!)

34 thoughts on “In Consideration of Inconsideration (a Trifecta Challenge)

  1. Diane Turner July 13, 2012 / 11:41 AM

    Ah! This is wonderful. A skunk narrator! I love it.

    • jannatwrites July 13, 2012 / 9:20 PM

      He stinks at the narrator gig, but I think he’ll get better. (Sorry about the bad pun…couldn’t resist :)) Thanks for reading, Diane!

  2. judithhb July 13, 2012 / 2:36 PM

    Added to your other skills- you speak skunk! I love this one Janna.

    • jannatwrites July 13, 2012 / 9:21 PM

      As long as I don’t smell skunk, I’ll be happy. I’m glad you liked this one, Judith!

  3. Gina July 13, 2012 / 3:01 PM

    I love that it was told from the skunk’s side of things!

    • jannatwrites July 13, 2012 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks, Gina. Last time we went camping, we smelled lots of skunks, so it seemed like it would be fun to look at our intrusion from their POV.

  4. Jennifer Worrell July 13, 2012 / 9:31 PM

    Go, Skunk Family! What a great point of view!

    • jannatwrites July 13, 2012 / 10:18 PM

      Thanks, Jennifer! I think the Skunk Family will be all right. They may be smaller, but they are (a little bit) smellier 🙂

      • Jennifer Worrell July 14, 2012 / 4:03 AM

        HA!

    • jannatwrites July 14, 2012 / 5:26 PM

      Yeah, I think the skunk won 🙂 Thanks for reading, Widdershins!

  5. Lifelicita July 14, 2012 / 11:14 AM

    I really enjoyed your interpretation of the prompt, and your unique narrator! Great job!

    • jannatwrites July 14, 2012 / 5:26 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Lifelicita 🙂

  6. kgwaite July 14, 2012 / 12:04 PM

    Great idea! Neat way to take this prompt.

    • jannatwrites July 14, 2012 / 5:27 PM

      Thanks, Kelly! Glad you stopped by to read it 🙂

  7. Tessa July 14, 2012 / 2:15 PM

    What a unique take on the prompt! Loved it!

    • jannatwrites July 14, 2012 / 5:27 PM

      Thanks, Tessa! It was fun to “think skunk” 🙂

  8. Sharp Little Pencil July 14, 2012 / 9:43 PM

    Janna, the driving the skunk to tears with his B.O. was the funniest thing I’ve read on this challenge so far. You dove right in and delineated every crappy detail. You ask me, THEY are the skunks. How do you deal with interlopers? I just tell them they are not invited back, and when they ask if I’m kidding, I say, ‘Do I look like I’m kidding?’

    Great write, Janna! Thanks, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/07/14/houseguest-pest-trifecta/

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 9:33 PM

      Thanks so much, Amy – I’m glad you enjoyed the ending. We go camping quite a bit over the summer and some people really are that inconsiderate. The last time we went, we smelled skunks several times – thank goodness we never saw one (alive)!

      I like the “Do I look like I’m kidding?” after the rescinded invitation. I wish I could be that bold…I’d probably go for the more subtle route, like moving and forgetting to give them our adddress 🙂

  9. unevenstevencu July 14, 2012 / 9:47 PM

    🙂 good take on the prompt!

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 9:34 PM

      Thanks, Steven. I appreciate you taking time to read it 🙂

  10. GodGirl July 15, 2012 / 4:56 AM

    Great stuff! I love the ending!

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 9:44 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl…glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 9:46 PM

      Thanks, Ruby! I appreciate you stopping by to read it.

  11. @trifectawriting July 15, 2012 / 5:18 PM

    Thanks so much for linking up with Trifecta this weekend. Please remember to come back and vote for your top three posts!

  12. Deus Ex Machina July 15, 2012 / 5:30 PM

    Oh wow. This one had me all discombobulated for a minute. I had to read it twice. I can say I have never tried to narrate as a nonhuman before. Brilliant idea.

    • jannatwrites July 15, 2012 / 9:59 PM

      Thanks for taking the time to read it (twice), Deus Ex Machina. For this one, it felt right to do the less obvious perspective 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 16, 2012 / 6:36 AM

      Thanks, Habibadanyal! I had a hard time narrowing down my votes, so I have no idea if mine will place or not. I had fun with the challenge, regardless.

  13. Sandra July 19, 2012 / 10:23 AM

    I loved this! I read it but didn’t have a chance to comment. Great unexpected take on the prompt!

    • jannatwrites July 19, 2012 / 10:27 PM

      I’m glad you liked it, Sandra. It was a fun one to write 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

