Creek Lessons

When we go camping, my goal is to bring tons of snacks, but leave the heavy thinking at home.  Invariably, as my body assumes a vegetative state, my brain decides to shift into creative mode.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful when I think of workable ideas, but me being the picky person I am, I’d rather it be when I wasn’t too lazy to get paper and pen.

After a half-mile hike into Oak Creek Canyon, I rested with my legs in the chilly creek water.  While the kids searched for fish, I sat on a large rock and closed my eyes.  I listened to the roar of the water and wind blowing through the trees.  That’s when it started.

Any other time (like when I desperately need it) my brain lies dormant.  But in this moment when I wanted to do nothing, I had the urge to take pictures; to observe.  A blog post took form during those couple hours by the water.  The creek became my teacher.  I can’t wait to repeat the class 🙂  Here are a few things I learned:

Sometimes things are rough,

but calm awaits up ahead.

Sometimes we don’t get what we want.

Kiddos went fishing, but caught crabs instead.  Wait, that sounds bad. Oh, just check out one of the crustaceans they found!

Sometimes we get what we asked for, but it’s not what we expected.

Kiddos hoped for a fish you could see without a magnifying glass. This guy might be small, but it’s still a fish!

A Sedona tan is only temporary.

No, it’s not a corpse; it’s my legs after my “Sedona tan” (i.e., red dirt) washed off. I miss that dirt…it took the glare off my skin 🙂
24 thoughts on “Creek Lessons

  1. newwhitebear July 5, 2012 / 12:56 PM

    I seem to hear the sound of the water, that flows into the creek.
    Wonderful and peaceful atmosphere.

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2012 / 6:17 PM

      I love the sound of water flowing in a creek. Thanks for enjoying a piece of peace here today 🙂

  2. pattyabr July 5, 2012 / 1:25 PM

    ha ha to the corpse remark about your legs.

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2012 / 6:18 PM

      You know, it used to bug me terribly. In high school, I dreaded wearing shorts. Now, I just don’t care….if it hurts your eyes, look away or buy sunglasses 🙂

  3. Debbie July 5, 2012 / 1:42 PM

    And here I thought my Irish skin was pale!! Janna, you might want to do as I do and invest in a self-tanning cream — if you’re careful, it won’t turn you orange but will give you a nice healthy glow! Love that ferocious creek, though!

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2012 / 6:22 PM

      I’m part Irish, too. I had a bad experience with the cream (long story) back when I cared and wanted a tan. Now, I put a positive spin in it. If we get lost in the forest on one of our hikes, just lay me out in a clearing and the search planes will find us in no time. Hey, my glass is half full 🙂 The creek was nice…if I can’t live in Hawaii, I might be able to be happy there!

  4. suzicate July 5, 2012 / 3:38 PM

    Fabulous lessons on the creek! Nature is wise. I’ll bet your boys had more fun catching crawfish and minnows than they would have real fish anyway!

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2012 / 6:24 PM

      They just wanted to touch a real fish, Suzicate. We didn’t have fishing poles with us, so they fished with their hands and a couple of cups/plastic dishes. The crawfish were fascinating, but it made me think twice about wading into the creek. I would feel bad if I smashed one 😦

  5. Widdershins July 5, 2012 / 3:44 PM

    Loved the comment about the dirt!!! 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2012 / 6:25 PM

      Yeah, Widdershins, I shine up nice when I’m clean…I have a healthy glow glare 🙂

  6. pattisj July 5, 2012 / 6:10 PM

    My feet want to get in there, too! Now you know what it takes to get those creative juices flowing…a little time in nature. 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2012 / 6:26 PM

      I don’t know if it was the fresh air or the freezing water, but something got in my brain there, Patti.

  7. jeanne July 5, 2012 / 7:03 PM

    I love the sound of falling water…so soothing.

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2012 / 8:45 PM

      I agree with you, Jeanne! Glad you stopped by tonight.

  8. Eric Alagan July 5, 2012 / 10:28 PM

    Lessons which the creek imparted – but you were an eager student and good for you. Many look, but only some see – you saw plenty, I reckon 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 6, 2012 / 5:46 AM

      It was a nice day at the creek, Eric. I wish everyone could take time to soak it in (as long as it’s not when I’m there…I like the solitude :))

  9. GodGirl July 6, 2012 / 4:24 AM

    I love the perspective we can find when immersed in nature, and we just allow everything unexpected – crustaceans or otherwise – to simply be OK 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 6, 2012 / 5:48 AM

      In nature, I’m better able to accept (or even expect) the unexpected. Thanks for stopping by and relaxing by the creek with me today, GodGirl!

  10. Sandra July 6, 2012 / 12:07 PM

    That was a lovely post! I love it when inspiration comes at the most unexpected moments, and you even have the best pics to go along with it! And if it’s any consolation, my legs may just be one shade lighter than yours! =)

    • jannatwrites July 6, 2012 / 10:48 PM

      Thanks for reading, Sandra! You really think your legs might be lighter? I don’t know…I’ve only met two people with lighter skin than mine 🙂

  11. Spiritual Junkie July 7, 2012 / 9:08 AM

    Hi Janna, those tanned legs remind me of Scotland : ) I would also like to ask you a favour. I have written a selction of short stories and need a reasonably honest review on whatever you can including the cover.It is available for free and I cant get it any attention.Thanks if you have the time. David
    https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/163231

    • jannatwrites July 7, 2012 / 11:35 PM

      I should visit there – might feel like I fit right in for once. I’ll certainly check out the stories when I have a chance. I’m not great at the feedback thing, but I’ll share my opinions (to be taken with a fair amount of salt.)

    • jannatwrites July 11, 2012 / 7:07 PM

      It’s always good to get away from home for a bit, no matter where home is. Hope you do it, Carl!

Got an opinion? Share it!

