Adulthood

…First came the marriage…then the baby in a baby carriage…and then another!

Marriage, the birth of my first son and the birth of my second son:  the only three events in my life where I felt the enormity of change in the moments I first breathed them.  Each time, a butterfly emerging from my chrysalis with new wings, at first, tentative and unsure but eventually taking flight.

Three times when I had to choose whether anticipation or trepidation would forge my path.

Three times when my choice had the power to transform a child into a woman, and a woman into a stronger woman.

Three times when I knew my heart would forever beat for someone else; another’s life woven into mine like the threads of a rope.

These memories symbolize my adulthood, and speak to the certainty that I am not a lost child.

I am an adult; a wife and a mother.

My path may not always be easy, but it is where I should be.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my entry for the Trifecta weekend challenge.  It was a vague challenge – see for yourself, the guidelines are below:

And now on to the weekend challenge.  This weekend what we are asking from you is a little bit different (again).  We are asking for a bit of your memoirs. We want a real account of a period in your life that can be clearly identified by (wait for it) the number three.  We’d like for your story to be true-ish, and we’d like for it to be an artistic creation, not just a play-by-play account.

 

38 thoughts on “Adulthood

    • jannatwrites June 8, 2012 / 7:24 PM

      Adulthood: the part of life you wish for during childhood, but once you’re there, you realize it isn’t that great 🙂

  1. trifectawriting June 9, 2012 / 12:33 AM

    Thanks for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. I hope you weren’t annoyed by the ambiguity of the challenge. It was purposely left open to give everyone a bit more breathing room than Trifecta sometimes offers. 🙂 And you definitely succeeded! This is great. I have had the same three experiences, but I’m not sure they would be the ones that define my move into adulthood. I like that there are so many different options there. Great job with the prompt. (Love your definition of adulthood, btw.)

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2012 / 8:36 AM

      Nope, not annoyed at all…just left wordless for a while until something 3-ish finally came to me 🙂 (I’m not used to being wordless.)

      I have had other experiences that have made me grow up, but since I had to limit them to three for this challenge, I chose the three that I felt changed my life so significantly, it would be impossible to be the person I was before they happened. I would be curious to know the defining adulthood events that others have experienced…I hope commenters decide to share!

  2. justkeepinitrealfolks June 9, 2012 / 7:24 AM

    You are so right about the enormity of change that happens with each of those events.

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2012 / 8:37 AM

      Yeah, these are the three times where I thought, “Oh my gosh, what have I done?” when the fear of change hit right afterward. (I know, a little late!)

  3. vanhaydu June 9, 2012 / 9:29 AM

    Hi…love your writing…!

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2012 / 3:42 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Vanhaydu. I appreciate your visit and your nice comment 🙂

  4. pattisj June 9, 2012 / 10:06 AM

    This is a lovely post, Janna. I never really thought about these life-changing moments in this way–but then–I haven’t had time to think since then, either. 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2012 / 3:43 PM

      Now that you mention it, I probably haven’t thought for nearly ten years myself 🙂 Funny, I seem to be getting along fine in spite of that!

  5. Debbie June 9, 2012 / 10:08 AM

    You nailed it again, Janna! You’ve chosen three life-changing events to describe your metamorphosis from child to adult. Well selected, my friend!

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2012 / 3:44 PM

      Thanks for reading, Debbie! I’ve had several ‘big’ events, but these three were tops! Somehow, I still refuse to grow up completely 🙂

  6. The Gal Herself June 9, 2012 / 10:29 AM

    “Not a lost child.” No, you certainly aren’t! Very moving post.

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2012 / 3:47 PM

      Thanks for your kind comment, Gal. I appreciate you taking time to read my entry 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2012 / 3:48 PM

      Thanks, Jester Queen. I hadn’t really thought of my life in terms of threes before, so it was a fun challenge.

  7. newwhitebear June 9, 2012 / 1:32 PM

    They are three moments that cann’t forget. They beat time and leave the marks.

    • jannatwrites June 9, 2012 / 3:49 PM

      These are ‘forever’ moments! Thanks for stopping by today, Newwhitebear 🙂

  8. GodGirl June 10, 2012 / 5:48 AM

    The choice between “anticipation or trepidation” – I like that. I really felt the magnitude of each of your life-altering experiences while reading this.

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2012 / 3:06 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl. Most major choices are made by avoiding fear or facing it down. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  9. Gina June 10, 2012 / 11:23 AM

    I, too, love your definition of adulthood! Three life altering events, for sure!

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2012 / 3:07 PM

      Yep, adulthood is great from a child’s eyes. Now, childhood doesn’t seem that bad 🙂 Thanks for reading, Gina!

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2012 / 3:07 PM

      Thank you, Kgwaite. I appreciate you stopping by.

  10. braintomahawk June 10, 2012 / 1:55 PM

    I’m not a parent, but if/when I am, I am sure it will redefine how I see everything. Thanks for reminding.

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2012 / 3:16 PM

      Before children, my life was different, too. Adulthood was more about me learning to be self-sufficient, working my way out of entry-level jobs, and balancing spending with saving for the future. I’m sure my adulthood will change several more times as my life experiences change! Thanks for stopping by, Braintomahawk!

  11. pattyabr June 10, 2012 / 4:04 PM

    I like how you weaved your story into the Trifecta. I had a similar writing reflecting on my motherhood oh…19 years ago. The emotions that are stirred in the heart and in the brain set off that motherhood chemical reaction of love for her children.

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2012 / 10:01 PM

      Thanks for reading, Patty. It’s funny that you wrote something similar. I imagine that many moms have had similar experiences.

  12. OldDogNewTits June 10, 2012 / 5:37 PM

    That’s lovely. And, as a married mother of two, it could be my story, too. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2012 / 10:02 PM

      Thanks, ODNT. Glad you could relate to the story.

  13. philosophermouseofthehedge June 10, 2012 / 8:17 PM

    Now this is life as a grown-up: “felt the enormity of change in the moments I first breathed them”. Line has real impact.

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2012 / 10:12 PM

      Thanks for reading, Phil. I’m sure many people can recall moments that affected them in this way, too.

        • jannatwrites June 11, 2012 / 6:45 AM

          Thanks for the compliment, Phil. I appreciate it 🙂

  14. cuhome June 12, 2012 / 3:03 PM

    Wow! I can recall a few moments like this, when you realize their impact as you move through them! Defining moments . . .

    • jannatwrites June 12, 2012 / 8:34 PM

      These defining moments can leave us awestruck (or scared to death)! Thanks for stopping by, Janet.

  15. judithhb June 13, 2012 / 2:21 AM

    Thanks for this Janna. Most certainly the three things you mention define adulthood for many of us – although I had a daughter and then a son. And then later other things define adulthood – children marrying, parents dying and one’s soulmate dying. Adulthood is constantly changing as we move along our life’s journey.
    I am moved by your writing and in awe of your way with words. 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 13, 2012 / 9:14 PM

      You are so right, Judith – adulthood does continue to evolve. In ten or twenty years, I wouldn’t be able to narrow the ‘life changing events’ to only three! Thank you for stopping by to read, and I appreciate your kind words about my writing.

Got an opinion? Share it!

