The Full Moon

Butterflies swirl in my belly as I lie under my covers faking sleep.  At nine o’clock I had told Mama I was going to bed early ‘cause I didn’t feel well.  That had been only a partial lie; I hope enough truth to keep me from the arms of the Devil.

The clock hands point to 9:45.  It is time.  Mama plays the piano every night before bed to praise God.  Tonight is no different, except this time, it answers my prayers.  I step lightly as I shove pillows under my covers to mimic my sleeping body and gather my shoulder bag stuffed with a couple changes of clothes, a toothbrush and a hairbrush.  I want nothing else.

For the last two weeks, I have been stashing extra bed linens just for tonight.  I’m new to my role as a liar, but I’m a bit frightened at how easily deceit comes to me.  I’ll ask for forgiveness, but not right now.  I knot an end of the sheet rope around the leg of my bed and drop it out the window.  I take a deep breath and exhale slowly to calm my shaky nerves.

It’s 9:55.  No time to waste.  I shimmy down the “rope”, my skirt tangling around my legs.  I land on the ground with an awkward thump, but the piano music covers me.  I dust myself off, grab my bag and sprint to the cornfields.

It would be pitch black, if not for the light glow of the full moon.  Even so, I still find the quiet shadows eerie.  I check my watch- it’s 10:05.  The acid in my stomach crawls up my throat but I force it down.  Where is Jeremy?  Each gust of wind rustles the corn stalks.  Their whispers send chills through my veins.

“He’s not coming for you, Ellie.”

I gasp and try to run, but it’s too late.  A better liar than me twists my arm with a vice-like grip.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

The above story is an entry in the Trifecta weekly challenge.  This week, we were asked to write a story between 33 and 333 words (mine is 329 words) using the following word, with the definition specified:  NEW (adjective) –having been in a relationship or condition but a short time <new to the job> <a new wife>

If you want to try the challenge, click on the tricycle picture to view the complete guidelines on Trifecta’s site.

This is the fifth part of Ellie’s story.  If you didn’t catch the first four parts, check out the links below.  Each part is less than 333 words, so it won’t take long to catch up!

Part One; Part Two; Part Three; Part Four.

52 thoughts on “The Full Moon

  1. Widdershins June 4, 2012 / 10:28 AM

    Great atmosphere … this is getting scary! … well done.

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 5:59 PM

      I appreciate you following this story, Widdershins!

  2. suzicate June 4, 2012 / 10:30 AM

    uhoh, I was not expecting that!

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 6:00 PM

      That’s a good thing, Suzicate. It all seems obvious to me, so I’m glad maybe there are some surprises!

  3. Carl D'Agostino June 4, 2012 / 12:38 PM

    “He’s not coming for you, Ellie.” Charlie Brown waiting for the
    Great Pumpkin ?

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 6:01 PM

      Nah, Charlie Brown is playing football with Lucy. Linus could be hanging around the corn fields, though 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Carl!

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 6:01 PM

      Thank you for stopping by to read my story, Newwhitebear!

  4. Tara R. June 4, 2012 / 3:40 PM

    Oh no! I hoped that they would have escaped.

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 6:04 PM

      Not yet, Tara! (There wouldn’t be a story to tell if they got out that easily :))

  5. nrhatch June 4, 2012 / 5:31 PM

    What a maze of intrique!

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 6:05 PM

      We’ll see if they run into any dead ends. Thanks for reading, Nancy!

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 6:09 PM

      Thanks – I’m so glad, Diane! It makes it more fun to write when people read it and aren’t compelled to send me hate mail 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 8:40 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed, Andrea. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  6. Maya Bahl June 4, 2012 / 9:16 PM

    Great piece Janna! I loved how you set the mood for the deceit!

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 9:29 PM

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your thoughts, Maya!

    • jannatwrites June 5, 2012 / 8:21 PM

      Thank you so much for the nomination, Joylevel. It’s quite a nice surprise 🙂 I’ll check out your site tonight!

  7. habibadanyal June 5, 2012 / 3:49 AM

    you are actually about to finish off, what – a novel as trifecta’s challenge!!?!?! 😀 Awsome janna.

    • jannatwrites June 5, 2012 / 8:34 PM

      Haha! I don’t know if I’ll finish it here or not, but we’ll see how far it goes, Habibadanyal 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read it!

  8. Gina June 5, 2012 / 5:12 AM

    Oh no! I was so looking forward to her escape. I can’t believe the twist but, of course, I can. You caught us and I feel sad for Ellie.

    • jannatwrites June 5, 2012 / 8:43 PM

      Thanks for continuing to follow this story, Gina!

  9. Sandra June 5, 2012 / 8:54 AM

    Oh, the suspense! The voice could be Jeremy playing a trick on her?! It could be! Who else knew about this? Oh, that rustle in the cornfield. Gracious. I’m loving this. You are using the prompts so well to carry the story along! (P.S. I hope it’s okay with you that I added you to my blogroll.)

    • jannatwrites June 5, 2012 / 8:45 PM

      I can’t say who owns the voice, but I can say you might find out next week 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to follow this story, Sandra…and thanks for adding me to your blogroll – I’m excited to be included!

  10. Annabelle June 5, 2012 / 9:28 AM

    Oh, no! I am afraid to find out how the hand and the voice belong to.

    • jannatwrites June 5, 2012 / 8:50 PM

      Hehehe. You may not be kept in suspense for too long, Annabelle. Thanks for reading 🙂

  11. Debbie June 5, 2012 / 10:38 AM

    Rats! I thought Ellie was going to get away, and now it looks like she’s not! Nice twist, Janna.

    • jannatwrites June 5, 2012 / 8:51 PM

      It’s been my pleasure to frustrate everyone by putting a snag in Ellie’s plans 🙂 I appreciate you continuing to follow this story, Debbie!

  12. Imelda June 5, 2012 / 12:55 PM

    oh no! why oh why? This is not so unexpected – that rustling a few episodes ago always had me wary – but I still feel oh-so-sad. Pardon my dramatics – I have always been rooting for Ellie. I guess, I will just have to wait for the next episode. oh sigh! 😉 You had me hooked. :-))

    • jannatwrites June 5, 2012 / 8:53 PM

      Sorry, Imelda….I wasn’t ready to set Ellie free just yet…there is so much more story she can tell! I’m glad you’re rooting for Ellie 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 5, 2012 / 8:56 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the story, Kelly. I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  13. Rachael June 6, 2012 / 2:45 PM

    Wow! I wasn’t really expecting that at all—even with the suspicious rustling in the second one. Your comment to Imelda gives me hope–you used the word “yet” so I’m hoping Ellie still escapes, sooner rather than later 😉
    The last line-“a better liar than me” makes me very curious to know who the mysterious voice was. At first I was thinking the uncle was released, his false prophecies are what put Ellie in this situation, or the mom who seemed so suspicious of Ellie the other day and has lied to her for 14 years; or maybe its Derek, Jeremy said Derek wouldn’t let him get away with taking Ellie with when he tries to escape…I can’t wait for the next part!

    • jannatwrites June 6, 2012 / 8:37 PM

      Well, someone’s been paying attention to the story line – I’d better mind my details 🙂 You ran through the short list of possibilities, so we’ll have to see if any of them pan out. Thanks for continuing to follow this story, Rachael. I appreciate it!

  14. The Gal Herself June 6, 2012 / 5:35 PM

    You did such a good job of creating suspense that my response upon reaching the end was, “Oh … shit ….” Hope it all turns out well for her!

    • jannatwrites June 6, 2012 / 9:14 PM

      Your comment made me laugh, Gal! I’m glad that I’ve kept the suspense up for you and evoked an emotional response. I do hope you’ll check back to see what happens next. (I can’t even give you a hint because I don’t know yet :))

  15. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) June 7, 2012 / 8:39 AM

    Oh no. I was afraid of that. I remember that they were overheard. God. This is just awful. (I mean that in a good -riveted reader way). One thing – the first “lay” should be “lie”.

    • jannatwrites June 7, 2012 / 9:20 AM

      Thanks for reading this part, Jesterqueen. I couldn’t let her get away too easily 🙂

      Thanks for noting the verb tense issue. My draft keeps slipping into past tense but thought I fixed them all. Ooops 🙂

      • Rachael June 7, 2012 / 9:27 AM

        I actually like the use of lay in this, it seems to fit Ellie’s voice. If it was a different POV then it would probably need to be fixed, but a 14-year-old about to escape out her window probably is going to use the lay with no second thoughts.

        • jannatwrites June 7, 2012 / 5:26 PM

          I couldn’t help it – I had to fix it 🙂 I’m glad it sounded right in her voice, but it wasn’t intentional, so I decided to go with proper grammar. Thanks for weighing in, Rachael!

  16. cuhome June 7, 2012 / 10:45 AM

    Very suspenseful and intriguing! I like this very much!

  17. OldDogNewTits June 7, 2012 / 5:21 PM

    You had me with every word. I was truly disappointed to finish the reading.

    • jannatwrites June 7, 2012 / 6:44 PM

      Thanks so much for checking out my story, ODNT 🙂

  18. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) June 7, 2012 / 8:31 PM

    Nice tension throughout, I was really there with her. I hope she makes it out somehow.
    Thanks for playing with us again. We hope to see you back tomorrow for the new challenge.

    • jannatwrites June 7, 2012 / 8:42 PM

      Thanks for reading. I’m enjoying the challenge of building the story around the prompts.

  19. Neetika June 8, 2012 / 1:55 AM

    ooooh…. That sent a chill down my spine! Loved it 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 8, 2012 / 5:47 AM

      Thanks, Neetika. I appreciate you stopping by to read my story 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

