In The Wild

I love being out in nature when we go camping, but I have to admit, I prefer when nature keeps its distance.  I squeal when bees fly around me, I gasp when I find a giant spider scurrying along the pine needles and I get a little nervous when I hear forest noises for which I cannot identify an owner.  Even with my fears and apprehension, I still respect God’s creatures that dwell in the forest.

I am pleased that my children appreciate nature, too.  They do not destroy the habitat or intentionally harm the creatures.  (Although when we came across a large beetle I knew from my childhood as a “stink bug”, my younger son did ask if he could kill it to see if it really stinks.  The answer was “no”.  I didn’t tell him that I had firsth-hand experience because I was a wretched child and crushed a few.  I do regret my childhood actions.)

Before we went on a hike on Friday, I told the kids I wanted to get pictures of things that lived in the forest.  It was a living scavenger hunt of sorts, and some of the things they found, I’d have slept better not knowing about them.  The good news:  we didn’t find any black bears or mountain lions!

I hope you enjoy the slideshow of what we did capture digitally!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Genesis 1:26 – Let us make man in our image, in our likeness, and let them rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air, over the livestock, over all the earth, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.

21 thoughts on “In The Wild

  1. Carl D'Agostino June 3, 2012 / 10:13 AM

    One area of interest for me in animal kingdom is how bugs, birds, reptiles and amphibians use blending in with the environment as a defense against predators.

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2012 / 3:21 PM

      It is a fascinating ecosystem, Carl. There are so many critters out in the forest that we didn’t see until we looked closely. I wonder how many more we missed?

  2. newwhitebear June 3, 2012 / 12:54 PM

    The nature is beutifule e wonderful but we must respet it.
    It’s very well to know it and to love.

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2012 / 3:22 PM

      Yes, me must be conscious of our actions and how it affects nature. Thanks for stopping by, Newwhitebear.

  3. Debbie June 3, 2012 / 1:08 PM

    I appreciate nature so much more from inside, Janna, haha! Bugs, lizards, bats, snakes — all those “creepy crawlies” can just do their thing far away from me, and I’ll be fine. You’ve got some good photos here, though, and I second your lesson of respecting nature. Glad you avoided the bears!

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2012 / 3:24 PM

      Yeah, I’m not into actually touching nature, but I do love to look at it. Unfortunately, I don’t have a glass box I can lock myself in when we go camping 🙂

      Oh, I’m glad we avoided bears, too!

  4. Diane Turner June 3, 2012 / 4:04 PM

    WOW! Great shots. And, truly, these wonderful creatures will be here long after man has vacated this lovely planet. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2012 / 9:59 PM

      Thanks, Diane! I do have a feeling they are hardier than we are 🙂

  5. nrhatch June 3, 2012 / 8:20 PM

    Your sons did a terrific job with the LIVE, and dead, scavenger hunt. Great activity for kids of all ages. 😀

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2012 / 10:05 PM

      It was fun, Nancy. It kept them busy and I ended up with tons of pictures!

  6. Eric Alagan June 3, 2012 / 8:54 PM

    Beauty is found in every creation of God – if we take the time to savour it.

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2012 / 10:08 PM

      You’re right, Eric. It’s good to slow down once in a while and pay attention to the beauty around us!

  7. pattisj June 3, 2012 / 11:22 PM

    I love finding all those little treasures. Live scavenger hunt–perfect!

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 5:56 PM

      The activity did make us pay more attention to the creatures around us, Patti. Some of them blend into their surroundings so well we almost missed them. (I never would have seen the furry moth if my son didn’t point it out!)

  8. pattyabr June 4, 2012 / 5:42 AM

    Lots of pictures of insects. I read somewhere that there are more insects and microorganisms than people living on earth. And I read that if all animals and humans became extinct these insects and microorganisms would continue to live. Nice close up pictures.

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2012 / 5:58 PM

      Interesting facts, Patty. I could believe that the insects would inhabit earth after humans are long gone. Thanks for stopping by to check out the pictures. We had so much fun spying them 🙂

  9. cuhome June 7, 2012 / 10:48 AM

    Beautiful photos!!! And good post!

    • jannatwrites June 7, 2012 / 6:37 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed them. We had fun on our nature hunt!

  10. xoEvelynOrtizHasSpoken June 11, 2012 / 11:43 AM

    yeah I enjoy nature but I agree – it should keep its distance sometimes.

    i must admit I am a squealer too :-p

    • jannatwrites June 11, 2012 / 7:58 PM

      I embarrass myself so much with the squeals and flailing my arms. One of these days, I’ll learn to play it cool. (Yeah, I know…probably not!) Thanks for visiting today, Evelyn!

Got an opinion? Share it!

