The Next Generation

My son: the next generation

When I held my child for the first time, all I could think about was that this tiny life depended on me.  For him to survive, he needed my love and attention, lots of bottles, and even more diapers.  The idea overwhelmed me.  I wondered how I could possibly do it.  (Somehow we figured it out and even added another son to our family.)

My older son is blazing the trail through childhood and I often look at him in amazement.  I wonder when he got so tall, and how his feet could be so big.  I marvel at how quickly he went from total dependence to partial independence; from me being the center of his world to, well, whatever it is I am now!

Black shoe is son’s, gray shoe is mine. Same size, but my feet will NEVER wear his shoes!

Several months ago, hubby discovered our older son’s physical capacity surpassed his own.  This happened during a community 5k run.  Before the run, my son grumbled that he didn’t want to wait for my husband and he wanted to run on his own.  My son never trained for the run but was still confident he would run faster than my husband.  I whispered to my husband to “leave him in the dust”.

My son crossed the finish line over two minutes before my husband.  It seems the years and extra pounds were no match for youthful confidence.  So much for teaching son the importance of hard work and training.

Last weekend, we went for a hike and my older son kept squeezing in front of the rest of us to be in the lead.  At one point, everyone was behind me.  I heard footsteps closing in on me, so I quickened my pace, knowing it would drive my son nuts that he wasn’t first.  I looked over my shoulder – my older son was bounding down the trail like a mountain goat.  I went as fast as I could, but he still got closer.  I imagined plunging down the mountain in mere seconds, so I stopped and told him to go ahead.

Like my hubby, I was defeated by a nine-year-old.  It’s not that shocking, really.  Athleticism has never been a quality I possessed, but before children, I could at least fake it for short periods of time.

At this moment, I can still claim to know more than him.  It’s only a matter of time before I have to concede on that, too.  I wonder…will it be next year?

I’m a college graduate, but I’m probably not smarter than a fifth grader.  I’ll blame that on motherhood, too. 🙂

33 thoughts on “The Next Generation

  1. GodGirl May 29, 2012 / 3:44 AM

    Hehe – our children surprise and surpass us in many areas don’t they. I’m supposedly stil in the ‘glory years’ where I can run faster, etc (Well I think so, anyway!) – but my five-year-old has never really admitted I know more than him! 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 8:33 PM

      Oh, my older son wouldn’t admit that I know more than him. My six-year-old would, though. I hope you continue to outrun your son, GodGirl (or at least give him a run for his money!)

  2. Tori Nelson May 29, 2012 / 5:38 AM

    I’m terrified my 2-year-old will catch on that he is smarter than I am any day now. I sometimes use big words just to throw him off my trail.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 8:36 PM

      No worries, Tori…I think you have a good two or three more years before he figures out he knows (or thinks he knows) more than you 🙂

  3. Carl D'Agostino May 29, 2012 / 8:18 AM

    Until they become parents they can never surpass you and that may be questionable when that happens as well.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 8:38 PM

      Well, Carl, I shall see how it all works out. I do hope that when they are grown they do know more than I do!

  4. Debbie May 29, 2012 / 8:27 AM

    Janna, count your blessings that you have a healthy leader-in-the-making! I remember when my son was about that age — he loved measuring his feet and hands with mine (and seeing his eventually surpass mine!) It’s wonderful watching them grow more confident in their abilities, though it can be trying for parents’ egos, haha!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 8:42 PM

      Ego? I don’t think I have any of that left these days, Debbie 🙂 Watching him grow is bittersweet – I’m so proud that he’s learning and growing…but I’m so sad that he’s learning and growing. Thanks for stopping by to share your experience. They do love to be ‘bigger’ than us!

  5. Jonesingafter40 May 29, 2012 / 8:49 AM

    As if that shoe weren’t enough to force you to face the fact that he’s growing up, he has to use it to show you up! Pesky boy!! 🙂
    P.S. I love this one Janna.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 8:43 PM

      Yep, pesky boy…but he’s still my baby 🙂 I try to cling to my younger son, but sadly, he’s growing up, too. Thanks for stopping by today, Jonesing!

  6. suzicate May 29, 2012 / 9:41 AM

    Happens quickly, doesn’t it?

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 8:52 PM

      Too quickly, Suzicate. Sometimes I want to cry, but I don’t because I would miss the right now. I’ll save the tears for when he’s all grown up 🙂

  7. Diane Turner May 29, 2012 / 12:18 PM

    The part I love most about this post is that through all of it – and it happens to all parents – is your recognition at the time it’s happening and not years later, if at all, when memory veils over and details are less sharp. I really love the poignancy: the inevitability of child surpassing parent. Excellent writing.

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 8:59 PM

      I wish I had the secret to slowing down time. I spent my youth looking forward to being older, gaining responsibility and reaching the next milestone. Now I just want the moments to last longer. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Diane!

  8. Widdershins May 29, 2012 / 12:32 PM

    Just keep all those embarrassing baby photos handy!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 9:00 PM

      I got the pics covered…he went through a sweater vest phase a couple years ago 🙂 Thanks, Widdershins!

  9. nrhatch May 29, 2012 / 12:34 PM

    My nieces outrace and outpace me . . . and I can’t blame it on motherhood. I may be wiser than I was once, but I’m also ages older.

    • nrhatch May 29, 2012 / 12:35 PM

      And, judging from this post, you still got what it takes.

      • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 9:04 PM

        Thanks, Nancy…I’m trying to hold my own!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 9:02 PM

      I don’t know, Nancy…being a mom to Tigger takes it out of you, I’m sure 🙂

  10. pattisj May 29, 2012 / 1:07 PM

    Sounds like you have a born leader on your hands. And a fit one, at that! It’s all good. He’ll take good care of you one day. 😉

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 9:06 PM

      Oh, he does like to lead (one could even call him ‘bossy’.) He’s a sweetie, though. Thanks for stopping by, Patti!

  11. philosophermouseofthehedge May 29, 2012 / 6:27 PM

    A glimpse of the future on that trail – may he climb confidently to great heights knowing you will always be there right behind. (Don’t worry, once kids get mid 20’s, they are amazed to discover their parents are really smart)

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 9:20 PM

      If I can stay close behind, I’ll be okay. I’m looking forward to knowing something..it’ll be worth the wait. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Phil 🙂

  12. chlost May 29, 2012 / 7:24 PM

    Ah, the job description of a parent….to bring them into the world, love them, help them grow, and then launch them into the world. Feels as though the better you do the job, the faster you become obsolete. Two of my children now have more education that husband, and are equal to me, all of them will soon surpass us in income. They physically surpassed us long ago. When they become parents, the cycle will continue. It’s an amazing thing, really. And congratulations for making it this far before he outran you!

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 9:38 PM

      You must be so proud of your children, Chlost! It sounds like you did your job well, but I doubt you’re obsolete 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to share your story…it shows it’s not all bad when our children out perform us.

  13. Anna F. May 30, 2012 / 6:56 AM

    I love that first pic of your son on top of a rock. I don’t have kids but I have 3 nephews (16, 13, and 5) that I’m pretty close with. The 16 year old just got his license and, seeing how I (just an aunt) felt regarding his growing so fast, I couldn’t imagine what it’s like for a parent. Nice post!

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2012 / 4:55 PM

      Thanks, Anna! I really liked that picture, too. You have a good point – I think everyone is affected by a child’s growth (I have nephews that I refuse to believe are teenaagers). I wonder if it’s because it tells of our own aging and mortality? I appreciate you stopping by today!

  14. cuhome June 7, 2012 / 10:55 AM

    That moment when you realize your children are more capable is quite stunning! For me, it became obvious when I had to ask my 20-something daughter how to use some electronic device…. she showed me, almost without thinking. It occurred to me then that, if I ever really let myself get behind, I might not ever be able to keep up!! Great post!!

    • jannatwrites June 7, 2012 / 6:39 PM

      I think my kids have already passed me up in some areas. I’m not going to let it get me down, though, Janet! My brother is my mom’s reluctant tech support on her computer when my dad isn’t able to help. I hope my kids will help me with my computers!

  15. xoEvelynOrtizHasSpoken June 11, 2012 / 10:53 AM

    lol, cute post 🙂

    Your son seems to be growing up so quick & becoming less dependent but he will always view you as MOTHER the most important woman!

    • jannatwrites June 11, 2012 / 7:57 PM

      Thanks, Evelyn. I do hope he is one to maintain a close relationship when he is grown. (I know wife and family will come first, though!)

Got an opinion? Share it!

