Observations

I’m all about sitting back and observing the world around me.  Normally, I just shake my head and think, “huh, that’s strange.”  This week, however, I decided to have some fun with it and write down my observations with my unscientific evidence to back them up.

Observation #1:  Children lack short-term memory, but their long-term memory develops at an early age.

Proof:  My older son can’t remember that I asked him to clean the pets’ water dishes ten minutes ago, but he can tell you the exact “bad” words I said when I dropped a glass casserole dish four years ago.

*

Observation #2:  The dinner table is a post-it note for a young boy’s brain that nature’s call was put on hold.  (Totally unplanned that this was my second observation 🙂  I have two boys,  please forgive me.)

Proof:  My younger son doesn’t remember he has “business” to take care of until we sit down to eat dinner.  It doesn’t matter if we eat at 4:00 or 7:00.

*

Observation #3:  I have discovered a no-fail test to see if the kids are listening to our conversation.

Proof:   Say the words “pizza” or “ice cream”.  If there is no response, they aren’t listening.

*

Observation #4:  People in an office setting will eat anything, and have developed antibodies which prevent illness.

Proof:  Bagels and cream cheese sitting out for four hours unrefrigerated, half-eaten leftovers from weekend dinner parties, even expired snacks – I’ve seen it all eaten and so far, no one has needed hospitalization.  Simply amazing.

*

Observation #5:  I feel like a robot after repeatedly typing those letters to prove I’m not a robot when commenting on blogs.  Nothing I have to say is really that important, but I jump through the Captcha hoops for the aggravation entertainment of it all.

Proof:  Try it.  Choose a few blogs with Captcha enabled and see if you can type the deformed letters without second-guessing whether you see “druit” or “trult”.

*

Observation #6:  Spouses (both men and women) feign ignorance.

Proof:  Hubby claims he doesn’t notice something spilled on the floor.  I claim I didn’t see the dishwasher needed unloaded.  We both lie.

*

Observation #7:  Pigeons prefer the color blue.

Proof:  I avoid parking by trees, yet this is what those lovely creatures do while I work all day.  (Sorry, Patti, I guess I don’t share your love of the avian species, specifically pigeons :))

Yeah, look between the mud spots for pigeons’ handiwork. Ha! I can totally ignore the roof of my car.
Okay, it’s harder to ignore the trunk. Geez, did they eat the 3-day old salsa in the breakroom or what?
Huh. My car door, in plain sight. Lovely. But I’m a glass-half-full kinda gal: at least they didn’t get my door handle this time.

So, have you noticed any of these things?  What are some of your own observed oddities of daily life?  Go ahead, feel free to add to the list.  It’s not Friday yet, and I could use all the laughs I can get.

34 thoughts on “Observations

  1. cuhome May 24, 2012 / 7:48 AM

    This is hysterical, I’m still laughing!!! Love it!!!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:39 PM

      Glad you enjoyed, Janet. A laugh a day is a good thing 🙂

  2. Carl D'Agostino May 24, 2012 / 9:02 AM

    What is captcha ? My friend says it’s a vegetable from Romania.

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:40 PM

      You’re funny, Carl. You’d know what Captcha if you saw it!

  3. suzicate May 24, 2012 / 9:37 AM

    As a mother of boys (now grown) I get #s 1,2, and 3. As part of a married couple I totally get #6!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:47 PM

      Glad you could relate to some of them, Suzicate 🙂

  4. Jonesingafter40 May 24, 2012 / 10:27 AM

    Seems pretty scientific to me! Thanks for the laugh!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:48 PM

      Scientific in an approximate way, I guess! Thanks for reading, Jonesing 🙂

  5. nrhatch May 24, 2012 / 11:25 AM

    These are “spot on,” Janna . . . especially the accompanying photos! 😀

    BTW: Meal time is my post-it note too. As soon as I sit down to eat, I have to go. 😉

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:49 PM

      Oh, you’re funny, Nancy! Spot on…I get it 🙂 I thought maybe he would grow out of it, but perhaps meal time will always be his reminder!

  6. newwhitebear May 24, 2012 / 11:40 AM

    Empirical but true proofs. it’s enough using the head to watch another observations.

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:49 PM

      Watching what goes on around us can be entertaining! Thanks for stopping by, Newwhitebear.

  7. Widdershins May 24, 2012 / 12:08 PM

    I’ve got some great character names from all those captcha non-words I’ve had to type to prove my non-robot status … about the only thing they’re good for.

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:50 PM

      I’m glad someone’s getting use out of those non-words, Widdershins. They drive me nuts…especially when it takes me multiple tries before they believe I’m human.

  8. philosophermouseofthehedge May 24, 2012 / 1:03 PM

    Funny! On that #3 observation: have your kids developed a parallel to see if you are listening? Do the insert, “Can I have $10.00” in the middle of conversations yet?

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:51 PM

      No, they haven’t pulled that yet, Phil. I won’t share the idea with them either, because I’d end up broke for sure 🙂

  9. Diane Turner May 24, 2012 / 2:09 PM

    Wonderful! Still giggling.

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:53 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed, Diane! Life is more fun when we can laugh at it (especially the pigeons attacking my car.)

  10. Debbie May 24, 2012 / 4:17 PM

    Your poor car totally needs a bath! But it’s not just blue cars that pigeons attack — they potty whenever and wherever they can, and the likelihood of them finding your car is equivalent to whether your car was recently washed!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2012 / 8:56 PM

      My husband got it washed (clean slate for the pigeons). My son watched a pigeon do it’s thing on some railing at the zoo one time. He was fascinated, but kind of grossed out by it. He completely lost it when a kid came up and put his hand on it! Thanks for stopping by, Debbie 🙂

  11. pattyabr May 24, 2012 / 10:41 PM

    Kids….they remember what they want to remember if it is significant to them.

    I would tell my son important details. I know he tuned out 90% of what I said because he probably thought I was telling him stuff that he didn’t care about. But when I would announce something previously told to him and he was “shocked” he would announce “nobody told me” in his disbelief that didn’t tell him something so important. It’s all good and funny

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2012 / 8:34 PM

      You’re right about kids’ memories…it’s almost like we should record all conversations as proof of what was said! I’m sure this will become more of an issue as they get closer to the teen years. Yay! Thanks for reading my observations and sharing your input, Patty 🙂

  12. Eric Alagan May 24, 2012 / 11:17 PM

    Well – when I am rushing for a meeting – the word somehow leaks out and the whole world is on the highway.

    I leave plenty of time for traffic – the word somehow leaks out and the whole world garages their vehicles.

    It is conspiracy, I tell you 😦

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2012 / 8:35 PM

      It is a conspiracy, Eric! Have you noticed that all the ‘idiots’ are on the road when you’re in a hurry, too 🙂

  13. xoEvelynOrtizHasSpoken May 25, 2012 / 5:54 AM

    “Observation #4: People in an office setting will eat anything, and have developed antibodies which prevent illness.”

    LMAO – SO true .. hahaha. I have observed that also in with food infested office :-p

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2012 / 8:39 PM

      I just can’t help but think if I broke down and ate that stuff, I’d probably end up in the ER 🙂 Oh well, maybe one day the science community will figure it out and start using office workers for testing instead of lab rats! Thanks for stopping by and adding more “proof” for my observation.

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2012 / 8:40 PM

      I’m glad you liked it. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  14. Rachael May 28, 2012 / 8:05 PM

    I love this list! I can relate to nearly all of them!
    #1 is my daughter, she remembers *everything* especially things I’d rather she forget. #3 describes my HUSBAND, #4 is my old boss-he would eat Friday’s pizza on Monday, from the box that had been sitting on the counter all weekend! #5 is probably accurate but I’m fond of the captchas lol & #6 is definitely desciptive of me and my husband.

    • jannatwrites May 28, 2012 / 9:32 PM

      I wondered how many of these would hit home for others 🙂 I don’t particularly mind the captchas when they accept what I type. When I have to go through four or five rounds, I get a little frustrated.

      Thanks for stopping by to check out my observations, Rachael!

  15. GodGirl May 29, 2012 / 3:46 AM

    Haha, enjoyed this. Love the pizza and ice cream one 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 29, 2012 / 8:34 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl – I’m glad you liked this one!

  16. pattisj June 3, 2012 / 7:56 PM

    I finally got to read this, Janna. Yes, those pigeons fly right over my car to get to the food in the backyard. They always leave me a thank-you note. I’d be more than happy to send you a few more…and no, they aren’t picky about color.
    My hubby can prove #4 is true, many times he tells me about food that’s been left out at work, but it gets scoffed up the next day. I’m not going to try that at home, though.

    • jannatwrites June 3, 2012 / 10:03 PM

      I don’t feel quite so singled out now, Patti 🙂 Here I thought the pigeons had it out for me, and it turns out they’re just messy creatures! It’s amazing that more office workers don’t die on the job with the stuff that gets eaten in the breakroom.

Got an opinion? Share it!

