Moms of Boys (Trifecta)

Mothers of boys should have:

  • Patience of Job.
  • Compassion of Mother Teresa.
  • Faith of Abraham.
  • Quick wit and lots of love.
  • Hair color (to cover the gray).

Three out of five ain’t bad.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

In case you don’t know, I have two sons.  I love them so much, but there are times I don’t understand them at all (even though we are supposed to be of the same species.)  This post is dedicated to my two sweet enigmas (throwback to the last challenge.)  This is an entry in the Trifecta weekend writing prompt challenge:

This weekend’s Trifextra is the first of its kind.  This weekend we only need 32 words from you, because we’re giving you the 33rd.  Your challenge is to write anything you want, in whichever form you please, so long as your response is exactly 33 words and includes the word “mother.”

Good luck!  And to those of you women with children who have called, will call, or already do call attention to your natural process of aging: happy Mother’s Day.

26 thoughts on “Moms of Boys (Trifecta)

  1. Carl D'Agostino May 12, 2012 / 3:23 AM

    There are more like this but I don’t know how to google them. Some have their kids posed with booze and such but I don’t think that is funny.

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:11 PM

      There were more boy pics, but I just picked a few of my favorites for this post. I don’t think posing with booze is funny, either. Thanks for stopping by, Carl!

  2. J. P. Cabit May 12, 2012 / 4:22 AM

    (Give me a time-out if you will, but that skateboarding thing looks rather fun…)

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:13 PM

      *Sigh* Boys…. As a mom, that skateboard thing looks like an ER visit waiting to happen. It has “bad idea” written all over it 🙂

  3. TikkTok May 12, 2012 / 8:58 AM

    That last one………….. shoooo wee! ROFL. But what a great, um, suit. 😆

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:16 PM

      That one cracked me up, too. What’s worse, is the one I got in an email didn’t have the blacked out portion…and a liner was wrapped around his privates. Figured this one was a little more family-friendly! Thanks for stopping by, Tik Tokk!

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:16 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I’m glad you stopped by.

  4. The Gal Herself May 12, 2012 / 9:34 AM

    Just reading this one made me tired! Happy Mother’s Day (Mom of Boys)!

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:18 PM

      Thanks, Gal! Some days are more tiring than others, but it’s a good tired.

  5. Imelda May 12, 2012 / 12:23 PM

    HAHAHAHA I need all 5! :-))
    I like that last picture best. No.1 should be funny except that I am afraid of frogs (but between us, that gives my sons all the more incentive to want to play with frogs).

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:22 PM

      I need all 5 too, Imelda. Unfortunately, I only have three (and that’s being generous.) Not saying which ones 🙂

      I like frogs, but that frog pic makes me cringe anyway!

  6. newwhitebear May 12, 2012 / 1:08 PM

    wonderful words! I say Hair color (to cover the white), becouse mom scared, while she was looking the images..

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:24 PM

      You’re funny! Mine aren’t scared white, yet, but I suspect that will come in time, Newwhitebear 🙂

  7. pattisj May 12, 2012 / 1:48 PM

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:25 PM

      Thanks, Patti! Happy Mother’s Day to you, too 🙂

  8. OldDogNewTits May 12, 2012 / 5:19 PM

    This is so sweet … and so true. You must have boys.

    And I have always loved that ‘feminine protection’ picture. Hysterical.

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:26 PM

      Yep, I have two boys, ODNT. Double the fun, double the trouble. That was my favorite pic, too. It’s so wrong!

  9. Sandra May 12, 2012 / 9:20 PM

    This is excellent. The list and the pictures are absolutely perfect! I hope your boys never attempted any of those… I probably would have had a coronary! Happy Mother’s Day!

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 10:33 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Sandra. No, my boys haven’t done these things specifically, but they have had their own hair-graying ideas. Happy Mother’s Day to you, too 🙂

  10. karen May 13, 2012 / 10:36 AM

    Oh my. Ha ha. I was ONLY going to have girls as I grew up in an all girl family and an all girl neighbourhood (don’t know how THAT happened) and had already had two beautiful little girls when HE came out. For weeks, my husband even called him her, but he’s definitely everything from which little boys are made.

    This is a great entry, especially with added illustrations. And I’m so glad I got a little boy so that I may experience the craziness that is boy.

    • jannatwrites May 13, 2012 / 8:22 PM

      Haha! I was sure we would have a girl, but we ended up with 2 boys. Funny how that happens, right?

      My husband jokes that my oldest is as close to a girl as we’re going to get. My older son isn’t girly by any stretch, but as far as ‘boy’ traits go, my younger son is “x10”. Example: team sports. In soccer, my older son would back off the ball if others were going for it. He was very polite. My younger son? Last season in T-Ball, he not only fought a girl for the ball, he yanked it out of her hand and just left her there on the ground. We had a talk after the game.

      I’m glad you had a boy, Karen. The craziness that is boy is a nice kind of crazy 🙂

  11. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) May 13, 2012 / 7:44 PM

    Buggar. I’m at two of five and unlikely to increase to three. I was like Karen- completely unsure what to do with a boy. And so glad when I got one. (We’re a one of each family.)

    • jannatwrites May 13, 2012 / 9:29 PM

      Boys are a fun challenge – glad you got the opportunity to find out, Jester Queen 🙂

      Don’t feel bad. I have three on a good day….on the 364 other days, I’m at a solid “2”!

Got an opinion? Share it!

