Mother’s Day Doh!

I made the mother of all mistakes-

How could I forget the date?

I wonder if Mother will open the door at this hour

If I show up with a bouquet of flowers?

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is an entry in the Trifecta weekend writing prompt challenge.  Here’s the challenge:

This weekend’s Trifextra is the first of its kind.  This weekend we only need 32 words from you, because we’re giving you the 33rd.  Your challenge is to write anything you want, in whichever form you please, so long as your response is exactly 33 words and includes the word “mother.”

Good luck!  And to those of you women with children who have called, will call, or already do call attention to your natural process of aging: happy Mother’s Day.

30 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Doh!

  1. newwhitebear May 11, 2012 / 8:27 AM

    Mother’s day is a special day that you celebrated with a wonderful poetry.

    • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 10:26 PM

      Thanks for reading and for your kind comment, Newwhitebear 🙂

  2. Libby May 11, 2012 / 9:30 AM

    Very, very clever to say the MOTHER of all mistakes! I liked it…

    • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 10:28 PM

      Thanks, Libby. It might be cheating but I had to do it anyway 🙂

  3. Carl D'Agostino May 11, 2012 / 10:14 AM

    Father’s Day in June and so is my birthday and sometimes fall on same day. My son always sends me cards for this. Usually around late August.

    • barbara May 11, 2012 / 10:55 AM

      oh, Carl, you did make me laugh. I commiserate. HubbyMoose and I celebrate our anniversary each year very close to Mother’s Day. It’s a toss-up if I get flowers for either. 🙂

      and, Janna . . . beautifully, cleverly written.

      • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 10:30 PM

        The ‘combo’ holidays are hard. My hubby’s b-day is in May, so sometimes he gets shortchanged with Mother’s Day taking his glory. Thanks for reading my Trifecta contribution 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 10:29 PM

      That’s funny, Carl. But maybe he’s not late….maybe he’s just early for next year?

  4. Sandra May 11, 2012 / 12:54 PM

    Great play on the word, ‘mother’! I’m sure a bouquet of flowers can melt the heart of any mother, especially when presented with a hug and kiss as well!

    • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 10:31 PM

      Ooh, I think the person in the poem forgot the hug and a kiss. Hope it turns out okay anyway! Thanks for taking the time to read and share your thoughts, Sandra.

  5. Diane Turner May 11, 2012 / 12:57 PM

    Love, love, love the mother of all mistakes. Very clever.

    • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 10:32 PM

      Thanks, Diane! May have stretched the rules a bit, but I wanted to do something different. I appreciate you reading and sharing your reaction to it!

  6. nrhatch May 11, 2012 / 9:22 PM

    Happy Mother’s Day, Janna!

    • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 10:38 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! Just spent the evening with my mom tonight because it’s another crazy weekend. If I’m lucky, I might get breakfast in bed on Sunday…more likely, though, I’ll be dragged out of bed to go hiking at 6:30AM 🙂

  7. Shawna May 11, 2012 / 10:41 PM

    A girl will always open the door for flowers. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 11:09 PM

      Maybe she will, Shawna…I hope so. Me? it would depend on whose clutching the bouquet and how upset I am with them 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read my Mother poem.

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:13 PM

      I’ve been having fun with the Mother’s Day challenge. Thanks for reading, Mel 🙂

  8. k~ May 12, 2012 / 8:34 AM

    Sweet Janna!

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:14 PM

      Thanks, k~. Appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  9. Gina May 12, 2012 / 9:21 AM

    Moms will take anything as long as as they are being thought of…no matter the hour. I like the use of “mother”.

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:17 PM

      Thanks, Gina. I’ll take a thought even if it’s lasst minute. My mom was one that would be mad if she even thought we hadn’t properly planned. So, we had to collaborate three days before instead of one 🙂

  10. pattyabr May 12, 2012 / 11:29 AM

    nice combo of 32 words 🙂 mother and guilt go hand in hand

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:20 PM

      You’re right, Patty! Must me one of the tools we get when we become parents?

  11. karen May 13, 2012 / 11:12 AM

    Very sweet. I would open the door. Luckily motherhood is every single day, so if the account is “paid” reasonably often (like with nice words) the date has little significance.

    I love how you played this.

    • jannatwrites May 13, 2012 / 8:29 PM

      I think I would open the door too, Karen 🙂 I like the way you look at the mother-child relationship. The date really is just a date (but a nice excuse for the family to be extra nice.) Thank you for reading and sharing your comment, Karen!

  12. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) May 13, 2012 / 12:21 PM

    Haha! We forgot to send mother’s day cards. As usual. I always feel guilty. I NEVER remember next time. Sigh.

    • jannatwrites May 13, 2012 / 8:48 PM

      Well, at least you’re consistent, Jester Queen 🙂

      This reminds me of my husband with his family. He always remembers to call on their birthdays and asks them if they got their card yet. When they say “no”, he tells them, “right. That’s because it’s on the table. We’ll mail it tomorrow.” I don’t think he feels guilt.

      Hope you had a happy Mother’s Day!

Got an opinion? Share it!

