Time To Relax

I have officially survived finished my first year as a Cub Scout leader.  Sure, there are a few activities over the summer, but I don’t have any meetings to plan until August.

Yes, it’s time for me to relax…

This kitty was napping outside the ‘Ulupalakua winery on Maui.  (Don’t ask me how to say the name; it took me long enough just to type it :))

The cat napped right by the sidewalk and there were people milling around nearby.  I grew concerned because the cat didn’t move.  It’s not unusual for a cat not to bother opening its eyes or raising its head, but at least their ears usually twitch as some kind of acknowledgement of our invasion of their space presence.

Another couple had stopped to stare at the cat and assured me the cat was indeed alive.  I watched the cat for several seconds and saw its side rise and fall.  Once I confirmed the cat was breathing, I went ahead and took the picture.  (It seemed creepy to take a picture of a dead cat.)  Even with the hum of the focus and the click of the pictures, the cat didn’t open its eyes.

I wondered if the cat was so relaxed because he lived in paradise.  I thought maybe he stayed up too late on rodent duty.  Then I remembered his residence – a winery.  That’s it:  he’s the pineapple wine quality assurance tester and he worked overtime!  No?

Why do you think the cat was so relaxed?  Get creative!

23 thoughts on “Time To Relax

  1. J. P. Cabit May 10, 2012 / 10:11 AM

    I’m thinking heat stroke, social shut-down (hey, it probably happens to cats too…being around too many people is exhausting!), denial, or yes, a bit too much pineapple cider. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2012 / 5:29 PM

      Social shut down cracked me up, Seph. (Aren’t cats usually socially closed off?) You came up with some good reason kitty could be so tired – it’s fun to guess about something I’ll never know!

  2. Richard W Scott May 10, 2012 / 10:50 AM

    It was actually a small dog in a cat suit hiding in wait for the real cat.

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2012 / 5:30 PM

      Ah, that is a sneaky plan, Richard! I should’ve stuck around to see if he unzipped the furry disguise 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2012 / 5:40 PM

      That is one nice catnap! Thanks for stopping by, Chlost 🙂

  3. pattisj May 10, 2012 / 5:13 PM

    He/she knew it was 5:00 somewhere. (Alan Jackson/Jimmy Buffet song)
    You sure are using your vowels since your trip! lol You’d be in trouble on Wheel of Fortune.

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2012 / 5:41 PM

      I suppose kitty could’ve been a Country music fan and got some big ideas, Patti!

      I have the hardest time with all the vowels. It just doesn’t flow for me!

  4. Debbie May 10, 2012 / 5:44 PM

    Kitty probably was so used to tourists that she found them rather boring and decided to “play possum” just for fun. She probably was counting how many folks stopped to check whether her sides were indeed rising and falling!

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2012 / 7:02 PM

      Oh, come on, Debbie….a cat would never trick a human! (written with sarcasm)

      I hadn’t thought about that – kitty could’ve just been having fun at our expense 🙂 Thanks for sharing your idea of why kitty is so tired.

  5. philosophermouseofthehedge May 10, 2012 / 6:40 PM

    That is one confident secure smug kitty. (How did you keep from petting him? He looks so soft!) Maybe an abundant overload of adoration exhausted him? (Wine makes people sooo friendly)

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2012 / 7:04 PM

      Our cats aren’t that relaxed…they have to stay on their toes or a short, hyper person (my kids) will catch them. I didn’t pet him because he looked so relaxed, I didn’t want to bother him. Or, since I didn’t drink wine, maybe I wasn’t that friendly 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Phil!

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2012 / 10:35 PM

      Oh, good one, Diane! Kitty had to rest up so he/she could roam all night 🙂

  6. suzicate May 10, 2012 / 8:10 PM

    Maybe he’d been sampling the wine!

    • jannatwrites May 10, 2012 / 10:36 PM

      Maybe, SuziCate. Instead of a dish of milk, a dish of pineapple wine!

  7. nrhatch May 11, 2012 / 8:59 PM

    We saw a cat like that in the middle of a crowded dockside restaurant, the Starfish Cafe. Despite all the activity on the dock, the cat didn’t move . . . except for the slow inhalation and exhalation.

    My guess . . . a Buddhist cat . . . intently meditating. 😀

    • jannatwrites May 11, 2012 / 10:37 PM

      Ooh, a Buddhist cat – good one, Nancy! I hadn’t imagined a cat belonging to a religion, but perhaps the cat picked it up from a previous life? (They have nine of them, afterall :))

      Thanks for reading and offering your take on why kitty naps so well!

  8. Eric Alagan May 12, 2012 / 12:07 AM

    “Why do you think the cat was so relaxed? Get creative!”

    What do you reckon? Hic!

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 12:57 AM

      I suspected 🙂 Your response made me laugh tonight, Eric!

  9. cuhome May 16, 2012 / 6:22 AM

    Perhaps he was a wine-tester, but I suspect that he was so bored-silly-to-the-bone with tourists that he no longer bothered to look. Or he was raised to be a true Zen cat . . .

    • jannatwrites May 16, 2012 / 11:37 PM

      All good suggestions, Janet. Being a cat, it could very well have been he just tired of people staring at him!

Got an opinion? Share it!

