Above The Clouds (Haleakala)

Maui continued…

Entrance to Haleakala

On recommendation, we decided to drive up to Haleakala Crater after the zip line (since we were halfway there.)  The top of the crater was 10, 023 feet high.  It was such a crazy feeling to drive up the crater through the clouds.  Even stranger to stand on the top of the crater on a cloudy day with the sun burning down upon you because the clouds are all below!

Me with my head in the clouds (for real this time)

When we milled around the visitor center, we encountered a man from China who rode his bike all the way up the crater.  He said it took him six hours.  I doubt I would’ve made it 200 feet!  (Yes, it’s that bad.  Writing blog posts doesn’t exactly build muscles! :))

I don’t know exactly what I expected to see at the top of a dormant volcano, but once I got there, I realized I thought I would see more vegetation.  We found mostly dirt and lava rock and learned that the conditions can be quite harsh there – anything between searing heat and snow.

Dirt + clouds + 10,000 feet = one amazing view

We discovered one striking plant that looked almost like plants we see in the Arizona desert.  The only difference was that this one had shimmer to it.  We read that it was a Silversword and the only place it grows is the Haleakala Crater.

Haleakala Silversword – maybe it’s coated in fairy dust? I’d love to meet Peter Pan!

So that’s the short version of our trip to Haleakala.  Hope you enjoyed the view from above the clouds!

15 thoughts on “Above The Clouds (Haleakala)

  1. suzicate May 8, 2012 / 4:20 AM

    Wow, what a way to have your head in the clouds for real!

    • jannatwrites May 8, 2012 / 6:00 AM

      Yes, it was so cool to have my head in the clouds literally instead of figuratively 🙂 Thanks for checking out my HI pics, SuziCate!

  2. Debbie May 8, 2012 / 7:59 AM

    I think that’s one thing I like about flying, Janna — being ABOVE the clouds! What a beautiful plant — sad that it only grows in one place, though I suspect that’s true of lots of plants and animals throughout our world. I’m enjoying your trip to Hawaii!

    • jannatwrites May 8, 2012 / 8:47 PM

      Thanks for checking out more pictures from my Hawaii trip, Debbie. I get nervous flying, but being above the clouds here didn’t bother me because my feet were firmly planted on the ground 🙂

  3. nrhatch May 8, 2012 / 11:06 AM

    Wow! Especially photo #2 (one slim and trim visitor looking down on the clouds) and #4 (a spikey spiked silver sword plant).

    • jannatwrites May 8, 2012 / 8:49 PM

      Aw, thanks for calling me slim and trip…sure don’t feel like it most days (need more muscle tone, I think). I also liked the silversword – the color was just so different. I appreciate you stopping by to take a look at my Hawaii pictures, Nancy. 789 to go. (Only kidding!)

    • jannatwrites May 8, 2012 / 8:57 PM

      The silversword looks much better in person – I love the sparkly sheen to it! Thanks for taking a look at my Maui pictures, Evelyn 🙂

  4. pattisj May 12, 2012 / 12:20 PM

    Amazing photos, Janna. I imagine that silversword was an amazing thing to behold.

    • jannatwrites May 12, 2012 / 8:21 PM

      It was a unique plant, Patti. I heard it can snow up there, so I’d love a picture of one with snow on it…

  5. cuhome May 16, 2012 / 6:27 AM

    Beautiful, and it brings back many wonderful memories of my trip to Hawaii!! Thanks for the trip down memory lane, and for the terrific photos!

    • jannatwrites May 16, 2012 / 11:39 PM

      I’m glad it brought back some good memories, Janet. I already want to go back!

      • cuhome May 17, 2012 / 11:27 AM

        Meeee toooooo ! I don’t know if I already told you this, but when my husband took me on my first trip to the Big Island, (and I’d never been to any of the islands before), we arrived at night (don’t ever do the red-eye, but that’s another story…)–anyhoo, we went to bed in our hotel room, and the next morning I woke up and walked out onto the balcony, and it was so beautiful, it literally took my breath away and made me cry! I had never seen such beauty in my life!

        • jannatwrites May 17, 2012 / 8:13 PM

          We did a red-eye home. Miserable! I love your reaction to the beauty. I didn’t cry, but I sure did a lot of sitting and staring 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

