Three Truths, One Lie, And Grace

I have read the words and I believe;

I have prayed and felt Him near me.

He is the way.

He is the truth.

He is the light.

All spiritual roads lead to heaven.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

That is my second Trifecta weekend writing prompt entry, based on John 14:6 in the Bible.  Here’s the challenge: “This week’s Trifextra challenge is simple, but ambiguous. Three truths and a lie. 33 to 333 words.”

This ends my Trifecta entry.  What follows, is my regular Sunday spiritual post:

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

The idea for today’s post came to me during my commute to work last week.  With over six hours a week spent in the car each week, I have lots of time to think 🙂

Recently, I took my sons grocery shopping with me.  I don’t remember why I had them with me, but I know it was out of necessity because I prefer to go alone.  It’s an errand that does double-duty as “me” time.  (You wouldn’t believe how long it takes me to get through a grocery list sometimes!)

Anyway, I always tell my kids not to touch stuff that’s set up by the checkouts.  This day, they had grabbed these toy plastic guns full of gumballs while I was discussing a question with a clerk.  They dropped one of them and it broke.  I told them they would have to buy it because they broke it.

When we went to the checkout line, I told the man that the kids broke it so they were going to buy it.  He told me not to worry about it and set the gun aside.  I thanked him and walked away with the kids, telling them, “You’re lucky.  You should’ve had to pay for that.”

It didn’t even occur to me until I was on the road a few days later, but this was an example of grace.  Grace not unlike God’s grace for us when Jesus died on the cross for our sins.  (I’m lucky.  I should’ve had to pay for that.)

I had thanked the man in the grocery store for waiving a $1.79 debt.  I wondered, “does my life say ‘thank you’ to God?”  Sometimes.

I put myself on the hot seat and it didn’t take me long to see where I could extend grace:  my mother-in-law.  I’m praying I can make peace with our differences.  Perhaps in time, I won’t bristle at her remarks that criticize our parenting. Maybe I can get to the point where the kids can visit her house without us.

I’m not there yet.  We did go to her house for Cinco de Mayo carne asada tacos, which is a step in the right direction.  Until God planted the seed in me to think about grace, I hadn’t planned on going at all – I was content sending hubby and the kids (while I caught up on writing and blog reading.)  Selfish, huh? 🙂

I pray that God continues to keep grace in my thoughts.  If we extended more grace, think of all the grudges that would be displaced; imagine the axes that wouldn’t need grinding.

John 1:16-17 – From the fullness of His grace we have all received one blessing after another.  For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

Have a beautiful Sunday!

30 thoughts on “Three Truths, One Lie, And Grace

  1. Yvonne Root May 6, 2012 / 4:18 AM

    Grace. So amazingly simple. So difficult to understand. Often more difficult to extend. Thanks for reminding me Janna.

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 10:44 AM

      You put it beautifully, Yvonne. It surely is ‘amazing grace’…Thanks for reading and offering your thoughts.

  2. GodGirl May 6, 2012 / 4:21 AM

    I love your reflections on grace. Others’ actions of grace and mercy often confound me too. Some issues are definitely easy to get ‘stuck’ on, i.e. relationships with in-laws. I have a very strained relationship with my mother-in-law too. It’s really hard to show her grace because she’s hurt me so much in quite complex ways. But like the verse at the end says, grace came through Jesus Christ, bestowed on us… it’s quite convicting that we give what we’ve received in Christ. Sometimes it can be a daily thing I think, choosing to offer grace rather than holding a grudge. Choosing to say ‘I forgive you’ 100 times a day if needs be. Just to feel the peace Christ can offer when we do… Praying for you with your mother-in-law – I know it’s not easy.
    Thanks for your post 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 4:03 PM

      I’m sorry about your relationship with your MIL. You’ll be in my prayers, also. Your comment about the choice to forgive 100 times a day if needed reminds me of Matthew 18:21-22 – Jesus said not seven times but up to seventy-seven times!

      You hit upon another thing – holding grudges is a choice. Practicing grace is less of a burden on my heart, so that is the path I want to take (even though I do stray at times.).

      Thanks so much for reading and sharing your own situation as well as your thoughts on grace, God Girl. I appreciate it 🙂

      • GodGirl May 6, 2012 / 7:10 PM

        We all stray, but may his grace fill every possible moment of our lives 🙂

        • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 9:25 PM

          That is true, GodGirl. Lucky for us, His grace is always there 🙂

  3. Carol Ann Hoel May 6, 2012 / 7:02 AM

    Beautiful post, Janna. You, too, have a wonderful Sunday. Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 4:07 PM

      Thanks, Carol Ann! It has been a beautiful Sunday so far. Just went bowling with the kids (a cub scout outing I took them on with the leftover den due money.) It was so much fun, but boy am I a terrible bowler 🙂

      I hope your husband is having a ‘good’ day today.

  4. barbara May 6, 2012 / 7:14 AM

    thank you for blessing my heart this morning.

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 4:07 PM

      Your comment makes me feel blessed. Thanks for reading, Barbara!

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 4:29 PM

      Thank you, Ruby – I appreciate you stopping by to read.

  5. Jennifer Worrell May 6, 2012 / 10:47 AM

    Wow! Powerful!

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 4:30 PM

      I’m so glad it made you feel something, Gal. I appreciate you stopping by to give it a read!

  6. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) May 6, 2012 / 2:25 PM

    Interesting to think about what the lie might be in the original. The fleshout really adds depth to the piece. It made me think instantly of the one with Ken, Barbie, Santeria, and the crazy Mother-In-Law. I hope yours means well and just doesn’t know how to communicate with you as a family and has control issues that will eventually go away.

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 4:32 PM

      I read that one last night – I couldn’t believe it was true! I think my MIL means well – I don’t think she’s mean-spirited or anything like that…just has trouble with boundaries. It’s been fifteen years, so we’ll see how the next fifteen play out 🙂

      Thanks for reading, Jester Queen!

  7. pattisj May 6, 2012 / 3:18 PM

    Good examples of grace, Janna. You’re good at these challenges.

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 4:34 PM

      Thanks, Patti. I enjoy writing them, so even though they don’t place, I still feel like I grow as a writer. That’s really my goal (well, that and getting the characters written out for my next novel!)

  8. Eric Alagan May 6, 2012 / 5:34 PM

    Honesty – you were honest, you taught by words and action > more importantly, you recalled the grace > what a reward 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 6, 2012 / 9:26 PM

      I’m a little slow, Eric, but it is nice when the pieces finally fall together in my head and I “get it” 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to read and comment!

  9. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) May 7, 2012 / 5:35 AM

    Thanks for coming back for a second go. I saw in one of your earlier comments that you were thinking of adding a second ‘religious’ post and I’m glad you did.

    • jannatwrites May 7, 2012 / 5:39 AM

      Thanks, Trifecta. I try to keep the ‘heavy’ spiritual stuff to Sundays (I’ve warned my blog readers) so that if they don’t want to read it, they can skip my place on Sunday 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 7, 2012 / 10:53 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to read and share your comment, Ihadafeelingibelonged 🙂

  10. pattyabr May 7, 2012 / 10:52 AM

    I currently have a strained relationship with my sister. She said some very hurtful things to me. I continue to be be kind to her but, I am not able to meet with her in person because the pain of what she said to me is too great. Every time I talk about it I burst into tears. I am thankful for the grace of good friends and my MIL who has been supportive with this difficulty. I pray every day for the difficulties in my life. I’m praying for God to show me the miracle and all of this.

    • jannatwrites May 7, 2012 / 11:05 PM

      I’m sorry to hear about the troubles with your sister, Patty. It is so hard when the rift is with a family member. I’m glad you are able to still be kind as you work through your pain, and that you have the support of others around you. Thanks for sharing your experience. I pray for your continued strength.

  11. Debbie May 7, 2012 / 11:08 AM

    Lovely post, Janna. We ALL can learn from extended grace! God doesn’t usually call us to do the easy thing, but to do the right thing!

    • jannatwrites May 7, 2012 / 11:06 PM

      You’re right, Debbie. Usually when I think “uh-uh, I can’t do that,” it means He expects me to do it. So far it has worked out okay!

Got an opinion? Share it!

