Conquering Mad Fear At the End Of My Raving Zipline Rope Adventure

The working title of this post was “Conquering Fear or Stark Raving Mad?  I’ll Let You Know After My Pscyh Eval!”  I changed the title because those who have read my blog for any length of time might have looked at the choices, said “stark raving mad, of course” and then not bothered to read on.

My next idea was “At The End Of My Rope.”  I gave myself a pat on the back for my cleverness, because when ziplining, I literally dangled at the end of a rope.  Then, it occurred to me that the title could be mistaken for the figurative use of the phrase, indicating that an emotionally draining blog post/rant would follow.  Since my blog traffic is barely a blip on WordPress’ radar, I certainly didn’t want to scare off the few brave souls who click over here anyway, against their better judgment.  (I thank you all, by the way :))

Deciding to be less cutesy, I thought I’d use, “Adventures in Ziplining.”  Yawn.  After I nodded off for a bit, I decided the title needed a little more bling.  I begged my brain to work with me.  I mean, with a blog title of “JannaTWrites” (boring), I had to offer something creative and click-worthy!

All tapped out of brilliant mediocre deplorable ideas, I did a cut and paste job that would shame a Kindergartner.  I even lost a few of the words.  Sorry.  Blog titles drive me insane!  I know there must be something wrong with me.

I’ll let you know after my psych eval.

Now on to the real post…

So, the one thing I anticipated/dreaded about the Maui trip was the zipline.  I’m afraid of heights, and I’m not too keen on dangling from cables with a harness wedged up my….never mind.  Oh, the questions ran through my mind:  What if the cable breaks?  What if the harness isn’t hooked up right?  What good is the helmet going to do if I fall?

There were five ziplines on the tour we picked.  I’ll tell you why I picked this tour:  kids as young as eight could do it.  I figured if an eight year old could do it, I could too.  (Disclaimer:  this theory doesn’t apply to roller skating.  Trust me…I know.)

I screamed like a baby on the first line, which was mildly embarrassing considering that two young girls (I’m guessing 11-15 years old) had just done the line without so much as a yelp.  Things improved.  I went down the fourth line backwards.  I probably shouldn’t mention that it was a complete accident – I twisted and no matter what I did, I couldn’t get myself turned around.  Here’s a glimpse at my efforts:

Ready or not, here I come!
Looks like I decided to try acrobatic ballet. Not a graceful sight, folks.
Slid into the landing, ready for a Kung Fu kick. (I hear the music…’and everybody was Kung Fu fighting…’) Yeah. I’m a dork.

Sticking the landing without so much as a sliver in my backside (thanks to the gentleman stationed at the bottom to catch us), I felt like a zipline queen.  They said the last line was the fastest on the island.  They said some people choose to hike down instead.  I said, Bring.  It.  On.

Perhaps I underestimate the ferocity of the zipline (and overestimated my confidence)

I looked down and thought perhaps I could take the “hike to the bottom” option.  Then, I remembered the money we spent – I wasn’t about to waste one fifth of the tour!  The two young show offs girls went first.  In the hesitation that followed after the guide asked for the next victim, I stepped forward and volunteered to go.

This started an interesting example of adult peer pressure.  As I left the group, the couple we traveled with said they were going to hike down.  (Hubby was up for the zip.)  I expected to see my husband come down the line after me, but to my surprise, I saw his friend…followed by his friend’s wife…then my husband.  When asked why the change of heart, here’s the explanation I got:

Since I went, my husband would, too.  Once hubby’s friend heard my husband was going, he had to go also, or else my hubby would tell everyone at work he was a “pansy”.  When her husband ended up going, the wife decided to go because she didn’t want to hike down alone.

Good thing no one asked, “Would you like to smoke some of this?”

We all had a blast and plan to do it again sometime.  I found a short YouTube video of the last zipline, to give you an idea of what it looked like.  It’s a lot like my video, except it doesn’t have a crazy lady gasp-screaming for most of the ride 🙂

I guess I can cancel my psych eval.  I think we all know how that would turn out anyway…

So what do you think?  Have you ziplined?  Would you try it?

22 thoughts on “Conquering Mad Fear At the End Of My Raving Zipline Rope Adventure

  1. braintomahawk May 1, 2012 / 5:35 AM

    So your title is a collage. Quite…crafty.

    I WILL try it. Under the right conditions of course, nothing spy related.

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 5:59 AM

      Yep, it’s a title collage. It’s not pretty, but it’s the best I could do 🙂 I hope you do try it sometime, Braintomahawk. It was a great time!

  2. suzicate May 1, 2012 / 7:59 AM

    Oh my, you are a brave one! So happy to experience ziplining through you and not in real life!

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 9:20 PM

      Wow, I don’t think of myself as brave at all, SuziCate. It was more a situation that I feared I’d regret NOT doing it if I chickened out 🙂 It was fun, though!

  3. Jonesingafter40 May 1, 2012 / 10:51 AM

    Janna T Writes… and Ziplines!! Looks like a great adventure…and if you must plummet to your death anywhere on earth, Hawaii would be the place to do it. Glad you survived and had a terrific time. (Also…I’ve been reading your Trifecta challenges but haven’t had much time to comment…awe-SOME!)

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 9:25 PM

      Oh, it was so much fun, Jonesing! You’re too funny – but I agree that it would be an awesome place to ‘plummet to my death’! Thankfully, I didn’t, though 🙂

      Thanks for your comments about my Trifecta challenge entries – I appreciate your kind words!

  4. newwhitebear May 1, 2012 / 11:13 AM

    You showed to be a brave woman. I don’t know if i would be it.

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 9:26 PM

      I wouldn’t say I’m that brave, Newwhitebear. My list of “I could never do thats” is waaaay longer than the “sign me up for thats!”

      Thanks for stopping by today 🙂

  5. Debbie May 1, 2012 / 11:32 AM

    Oh. my. gosh. Janna, you’re so much braver than I’d be! Zipping along a high wire over a cavern of sorts is NOT my idea of fun. I’d have hiked down, I just know it! I commend you for facing your fears and having a good time with it!

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 9:31 PM

      I wanted to chicken at the last minute, but our traveling companions gave me a hard time because I talked them into doing it. I figured it was in my best interests to follow through 🙂 Glad I did because it was fun. The first run was the scariest, but it felt safe. I’ve had more anxiety on a ferris wheel at the State Fair. Thanks for reading about my zipline experience, Debbie!

  6. nrhatch May 1, 2012 / 2:25 PM

    I would definitely zipline. I’ve done something similar on a ropes course . . . pulled up into a very, very, very, very, very tall tree . . . pull the rip cord on the harness . . . scream, I mean swing, through the trees going very, very, very, very, very fast.

    WHEEEEEEEEE . . . . .

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 9:47 PM

      I could imagine you ziplining, Nancy! The rope course sounds wild. I don’t think I’d a voice at the end of that one!

  7. xoEvelynOrtizHasSpoken May 1, 2012 / 6:15 PM

    WOW, Your brave!

    P.S. I probably would have screamed through out the redlining also like a babyy hahaha

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 9:52 PM

      I’m glad there’s someone else who’d admit to screaming the whole time! It was a good time, though! Thanks for reading about my experience, Evelyn!

  8. Diane May 1, 2012 / 7:51 PM

    I think I could do it if it weren’t for the height, but then what kind of a thrill would that be – skimming along 2 feet off the ground! You’re one brave woman!

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 9:54 PM

      The mental image of ziplining 2-feet off the ground made me chuckle – thanks, Diane! The scariest part of the experience was always the beginning and the landing (huh….same as airplanes.)

  9. mairzeebp May 2, 2012 / 5:46 AM

    I read this on my blackberry when it came through and laughed out loud. I’m not sure I would do it. I’m a little chubbier than I prefer and fear the line would snap causing me to question my last hot fudge sundae on the way down :). Good for you on conquering your fear!!!

    • jannatwrites May 2, 2012 / 8:14 PM

      If you’re less than 250 pounds, you can do it, Mairzeebp 🙂 I’m not at that limit and I still questioned the glazed donut holes I had that morning. I wouldn’t say my fear of heights is conquered, but I gave it a little jab that day!

  10. cuhome May 4, 2012 / 1:39 PM

    I can relate to your zipline adventure, except I was in Nevada, and was worried that if the zipline broke, I’d end up in a next of rattlesnakes and/or scorpions on the desert floor! Funny, funny post! Thanks for the entertainment and the mental visuals!!!

    • jannatwrites May 5, 2012 / 12:58 AM

      I think I’d much rather zipline in HI than NV. Rattlesnakes and scorpions…aaack! Thanks for reading my post – glad you laughed 🙂

  11. pattisj May 9, 2012 / 10:38 AM

    That looks like fun, Janna. I don’t know if I could do that last one, but I think I’d have to try it on one not quite so far/fast.

    • jannatwrites May 9, 2012 / 4:29 PM

      Oh, they ease you into it, Patti. After four smaller lines, you just might be ready for the “Big One” 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

