Friends

Brenda:  I stared at my best friend, unsure of what to say.  Our friendship began with a shared PB&J forty years ago.  Marriage… affair… divorce- she knew all my mistakes.

Like that, it’s over.

JoAnne:  For ten years, Meredith’s been my strength.  The only one who knew my guilt that sentenced me to homeless hell- nearly took my life.  That unborn child still haunts me.

Now, I’m alone.

Meredith:  I tried to be a good confidante.  I carried burdens and prayed for souls.  My friends were dear to me.  I took their secrets to my grave.

Just as I promised I would.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This ends my Trifecta entry.  Details on the prompt and a link to the Trifecta site will be included at the end of this post.

The Trifecta prompts are a funny thing.  With the recent prompts about scandals and betraying confidences, my mind needed a trip to the sunny side.  The sunny side is where you can take people at face value.  You don’t have to back away from them because you suspect they have knife ready to drive into your back.  You can confide in them and trust they wouldn’t turn your secret against you or betray you by discussing with others.  The sunny side is a warm place to be, but not too warm.  No sweating is involved.

I thought about my own friends.  I know a couple people I trust as my Merediths.  For that, I know I’m blessed, because some people don’t even have one.  I have old friends and I have new friends – each brought into my life for a reason.

It’s not a one way street.  I want to be a Meredith to my friends.  I want them to feel comfortable in ditching the fake smile used to cover their pain.  I want them to give me an honest answer about how they’re doing – not the socially accepted expected “fine.”  I want to share their joy and successes, too.  (This note added to clarify I’m not asking to be a toxic dumping ground for truckloads of negative emotions without the good stuff to neutralize them :))

Do you have a Meredith in your life?  Are you a Meredith to someone else?

Have a beautiful Sunday, everyone!  I’ll leave you with some interesting bits on friendship from the book of Proverbs in the Bible:

Proverbs 26:22 – The words of a gossip are like choice morsels; they go down to a man’s inmost parts.

Proverbs 26:28 – A lying tongue hates those it hurts, and a flattering mouth works ruin.

Proverbs 27: 19 – As water reflects a face, so a man’s heart reflects the man.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my third, and final, entry in the Trifecta weekend challenge.

This weekend, we return to the 33-word prompt, but this time, a 33-word prompt with a twist. Your task, should you choose to accept, is to take a scene that involves (or affects) at least three people. You should then write this scene from the point of view of three of the characters, using 33 words for each character.

24 thoughts on “Friends

  1. newwhitebear April 29, 2012 / 11:05 AM

    Your trifecta entry is nice and lovely.
    I only read it.

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 11:13 AM

      Thank you for reading it, Newwhitebear. I do appreciate it 🙂

  2. Debbie April 29, 2012 / 12:07 PM

    Interesting how we expect our friends to be our confidantes as we are theirs. This trust isn’t easily given yet is something we mustn’t betray. The more we’re betrayed, the less likely we are to open ourselves up and trust again. Well done, Janna!

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:01 PM

      You’re right, Debbie – betrayal is a good way to get us not to make that mistake again. Of course, betrayal is always a possibility – even in someone we think has ‘Meredith’ qualities. Leap of faith…

  3. cuhome April 29, 2012 / 12:29 PM

    Yes, I do have a Meredith. I met her in 2nd grade, 54 years ago. She was there when the teacher put me in the corner for talking during class, and she comforted me when she saw I cried in the curtain! 🙂 She’s been there through thick and thin, and I for her, and though we live halfway across the country from each other, we still keep in touch regularly. Those friends are few and far between, and I value them so much! Thanks for your post. . . it helped me reflect on that value and appreciate it even more!

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:03 PM

      That’s a long and beautiful friendship, Janet. So glad you have each other and that you cherish the relationship. Thanks for sharing the story – it made me smile 🙂

  4. Carl D'Agostino April 29, 2012 / 1:39 PM

    If you have sponsees in a 12-Step recovery program you become their confidante. I do and it is a sacred trust.

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:04 PM

      That’s great, Carl. It’s so good that you are able to be there for those who may not have someone else to confide in.

  5. Elizabeth Rodriguez April 29, 2012 / 1:40 PM

    Hi Janna! Your Trifecta entry is great! I think you did a good job with it. I hope that I am a Meredith to my friends. 🙂 I’m a motherly sort, so I try to be there for people and help them out and so forth. I do my best 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:05 PM

      Thanks, Elizabeth – I appreciate you stopping by to read it. It sounds like your friends would agree that you’re a Meredith to them 🙂

  6. braintomahawk April 29, 2012 / 2:10 PM

    This is why I still put the effort into the long time friendships that I have, the perspectives we have and the ways each of us has grown and changed (and continue to do so). Thanks for reminding me!

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:13 PM

      Long friendships do take effort, Braintomahawk. The hard part is that we all grow differently, so we have to find some common ground.

  7. nrhatch April 29, 2012 / 2:40 PM

    To soon to tell whether I’m a Meredith or not . . . I’ve only got one foot in the grave. 😆

    This was wonderful, Janna.

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:14 PM

      :LOL: You took it quite literally, Nancy! Glad you still have a foot on solid ground 😉

      Thanks for reading and making me laugh!

  8. Diane April 29, 2012 / 5:31 PM

    Girl friendships are so important to most of us, and I would hope to be a Meredith to my friends. I have a special Meredith in my life. We go back to first grade. We still talk, email, send cards, and when things are bad, she is who I call. I’m sure it’s reciprocal.
    Nice capture of the prompt and well written. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:25 PM

      I admire those with friendships going back that long. I’m glad you are both able to share with each other. Thanks for reading my post and for writing about your ‘Meredith’, Diane.

  9. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) April 29, 2012 / 6:51 PM

    How sad. Until you put the sunny side note in there, I thought the weight of the confidences had killed Meredith. But I’m really glad it was just old age and the grief of loss.

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:29 PM

      I hadn’t looked at the cause of her death that way. Interesting idea, though. Yes, her death was less dramatic, but still traumatic for those who loved her.

  10. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) April 30, 2012 / 6:05 AM

    Thanks for linking up (again). You story was touching and clearly from the responses above, your questions have been thought-provoking as well.

  11. pattyabr April 30, 2012 / 9:12 PM

    pretty powerful perspectives

  12. pattisj May 4, 2012 / 11:47 AM

    Good one. I like that she carried their secrets to the grave. Those people don’t come into one’s life every day, they are treasures. Somehow, I knew you to be a Meredith.

    • jannatwrites May 5, 2012 / 12:55 AM

      You are very sweet, Patti. I hope I am, despite my mistakes here and there. I appreciate you reading the story and sharing your thoughts.

Got an opinion? Share it!

