Coming Home

COMING HOME

I’m smothered by paws and tongue- sixty pounds of Labrador greets me.  I nudge her away. I need to unload my briefcase, shed my tie and unwind.  Can’t I have just five minutes?

*

I’ve waited all day.  Scratch behind my ears!  Ooh, I love you!  He ignores me.  I follow him to the bedroom.  I bark.  Can’t he see I’m hungry?  He talks to the cat.

*

I yawn and stretch; can’t sleep with all that noise.  Oh.  He’s back.  I guess I could use more food.  He says something to me.  I meow… too tired to lift my head.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my first entry in the weekend Trifecta challenge.  It’s a fun one!  Anyway, here are the instructions they gave (if you want to join the fun, check out their site for full details):

This weekend, we return to the 33-word prompt, but this time, a 33-word prompt with a twist. Your task, should you choose to accept, is to take a scene that involves (or affects) at least three people. You should then write this scene from the point of view of three of the characters, using 33 words for each character. So for example, if your story involves a mother, a father and a young boy, you will tell the story first from the point of view of the mother (in 33 words), then the same story from the point of view of the father (in 33 words) and finally, from the point of view of the boy (also in 33 words).

39 thoughts on “Coming Home

  1. Gina April 27, 2012 / 11:43 AM

    I love this!!!! And, I know exactly the first two stories. I have two 75 lb. labs at home that pretty much tackle me when I come in the door even if I just went out to the end of the drive for the paper. Very cute!

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 7:47 PM

      So glad you can relate, Gina! You’ve got a lot of dog to greet you – I can relate to their being excited even when you haven’t ‘gone’ anywhere! My cats couldn’t care less unless it’s meal time 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 7:48 PM

      Scary, isn’t it? I wonder what else they’re thinking about us…Thanks for stopping by, Braintomahawk!

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 7:49 PM

      Thanks, Phil! I bet you can relate since you live with both species, as well 🙂

  2. Tara R. April 27, 2012 / 3:54 PM

    HA! This is my house. My dog is so needy and my cats couldn’t care less. I could picture them ‘saying’ all of this.

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 7:52 PM

      Thanks, Tara. I’m glad you can relate, too. Our dogs must always have someone petting them. I’m still trying to figure out why I named my cats – it’s not like they ever come when I call them anyway 🙂

  3. barbara April 27, 2012 / 5:12 PM

    I have no fur babies in my house, but I must say I have seen these reactions at the homes I’ve visited. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 7:53 PM

      Barbara – thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, even though you don’t experience those greetings on a daily basis.

  4. nrhatch April 27, 2012 / 8:56 PM

    Well done with the challenge, Janna. Tigger meets and greets us at the door with a friendly MEOW . . . even if it’s not mealtime. 😀

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 8:59 PM

      Aw, what a good kitty! My cat, Cybil, doesn’t bother to lift her head up off the bed (same place she’s at when I leave in the morning.) The younger cats might come out, but they will generally play the part of a rock and sit in the hallway just for the entertainment of watching us trip on them.

      I hope Tigger is feeling better (I’m almost to your posts for today in case you updated there.)

    • nrhatch April 27, 2012 / 9:05 PM

      As far as Tigger goes, we got good, not great, news at the Vet yesterday:

      * Tigger’s temperature (102.3) is normal. He’ll remain on the antibiotics for 2 more weeks.

      * His glucose reading is better (321 . . . down from 379) but not normal. The vet gave us 2 more weeks to see if we can get his blood sugars to a normal range (between 100 and 220). If not, we’ve agreed to give insulin a try.

      But his behavior is returning to normal ~ seems perkier and more playful. So . . . fingers (and paws!) still crossed!

      • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 9:56 PM

        Glad to hear he’s perkier and getting back to his normal self. I hope it doesn’t come to having to do insulin, but if it does, it’s not the worst thing in the world to happen. Thanks for sharing the good news about Tigger. Hope his glucose level keeps dropping.

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 9:59 PM

      I haven’t seen that movie – I was just writing from experience (3 dogs and 3 cats in our house!) I’m glad it rings true for others who read it. Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your thoughts, Amy 🙂

  5. pattisj April 27, 2012 / 9:56 PM

    That is an interesting concept! I didn’t count the words but trusted that you were honest about it. 🙂 Nice job.

    • jannatwrites April 27, 2012 / 10:01 PM

      The Word program and I had a disagreement on the first part, but we resolved our difference peacefully 🙂 Thanks for reading (and trusting my honesty). I appreciate you stopping by, Patti!

  6. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) April 28, 2012 / 3:45 AM

    Thanks for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. Love the response. As a longtime lover of both dogs and cats, I would say you totally nailed it. Hope to see you back again soon.

    • jannatwrites April 28, 2012 / 6:50 PM

      Thanks, Trifecta. Glad you enjoyed 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 28, 2012 / 6:50 PM

      Thanks, Mel! I’ve had a lot of training from my furry friends (their job is never done.)

  7. Debbie April 28, 2012 / 10:51 AM

    You got it, Janna! Dogs and cats have such different outlooks on life (and on their humans!)

    • jannatwrites April 28, 2012 / 6:53 PM

      Thanks, Debbie. Cats and dogs are very different (both show affection in their own ways). Thanks for reading!

  8. Scriptor Obscura April 28, 2012 / 11:06 AM

    I love this! So well-written! You captured the three perspectives perfectly! A winner in my book for sure 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 28, 2012 / 6:54 PM

      Thanks for the huge compliment, Scriptor Obscura. I do appreciate you taking the time to read and comment 🙂

  9. Elizabeth Rodriguez April 28, 2012 / 1:05 PM

    Wow! This is similar to mine(!) I think you did a really good job with yours 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 28, 2012 / 6:55 PM

      We must be on the same wavelength, Elizabeth! I took a peek at yours – love the cat’s “present” and the other’s reaction.

  10. OldDogNewTits April 29, 2012 / 12:03 AM

    That’s cute. I guess my cat’s the only one in the world who’s truly needy. Freak.

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 10:58 AM

      You have a needy cat? That’s so cool, ODNT! I want a needier cat – isn’t that messed up? 🙂

  11. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) April 29, 2012 / 4:35 PM

    Oh my GOD, that is so exactly right. I grew up with cats and dogs both, and they were totally like that (with a couple of exceptions).

    • jannatwrites April 29, 2012 / 8:19 PM

      There are always exceptions to the sterotype, Jester Queen. Most pets I’ve had follow the norm, too.

  12. Christine April 30, 2012 / 8:34 AM

    Hee! That was adorable. I love the contrast between the dog and the cat. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2012 / 12:01 AM

      Thanks, Christine. I appreciate you stopping by to read it 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

