Hawaiian Love

If you’ve visited my blog much, you might have figured out by now that I’m obsessed with taking pictures.  Although I’m not skilled enough to call myself anything more than an amateur, I have fun with it anyway.  And, like a four-year-old who scribbles all over a coloring book page and runs to show Mom and Dad, I come here and share my photos with you.

I know.  You’d rather see the coloring book page, right? 😆

As soon as we got to our hotel in Maui, I fell in love.  Before I even got inside the lobby, I was captivated.  My husband rolled his eyes, but he didn’t seem jealous at all.  In fact, he continued his beeline to the check-in desk, leaving me alone with my subject:

Gorgeous bloom begging for attention. It worked!

I hope the yellow hibiscus didn’t take offense, but I found that I loved the flower so much that I made it my goal to take pictures of every one I could find.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course, like a true stalker admirer, I couldn’t take just one picture of each flower.  No, I had to experiment with changing angles and zoom in order to find their most photogenic pose.  Then, I had the excruciating task of narrowing down the photos to the seven included in this post.

Seven pictures in a single post?  Narrowed down?  Does anyone else see warning signs of a future hoarder?

I hope you enjoy the hibiscus as much as I did!  Which color is your favorite?

21 thoughts on “Hawaiian Love

  1. nrhatch April 23, 2012 / 10:23 PM

    I like the yellow and the red the best. Beautiful shots, all!

    Thanks for your kind words of encouragement about Tigger. Fingers (and paws!) crossed.

    • jannatwrites April 23, 2012 / 11:29 PM

      Thanks, Nancy – glad you liked the flowers, too! I do hope Tigger’s health issues are diagnosed and are treatable. It’s hard when our furry babies are sick.

  2. pattisj April 23, 2012 / 11:02 PM

    As long as you’re hoarding digital items, no one will know! 🙂 One year my neighbor planted a vine that grew up their porch columns and across the top of the porch, then one day I went out and was greeted with these huge colorful flowers! They are beautiful. Thanks for sharing your find.

    • jannatwrites April 23, 2012 / 11:31 PM

      Luckily I have toned down my printing of pictures. It would be more difficult to ‘compress’ the evidence 😆

      I think our climate is too dry for hibiscus to grow wild. I think I had a hibiscus plant inside once, but of course it died (like every plant I’ve ever had.)

      Thanks for stopping by, Patti!

  3. suzicate April 24, 2012 / 4:21 AM

    These are gorgeous! I would have been obsessed with capturing them, too. I understand (all too well!) taking too many pics, and my opinion is that there are never too many!

    • jannatwrites April 24, 2012 / 7:01 AM

      Thanks, SuziCate! I’m glad I’m not the only one with an obsession for photographing flowers. I have so many pictures, I may have to end my obsession with renaming the files in such a particular way 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 24, 2012 / 7:02 AM

      Thanks for checking out the photos, Tori! The yellow was one of my favorites, too (with red right there with it :))

  4. Debbie April 24, 2012 / 8:10 AM

    My favorite is the red one. It looks just like the one my sister sent our mom for Mother’s day last year. I helped her plant it outside and it was drop-dead gorgeous — until winter came, of course, and made it drop dead for real!

    • jannatwrites April 24, 2012 / 5:25 PM

      It’s so sad when winter takes away the pretty blooms! They had a lot of red flowers – I like it a lot too, Debbie.

  5. Diane April 24, 2012 / 9:21 AM

    We’re going to Kauai in May. Now I can hardly wait to find some gorgeous hibiscus to bring home in my camera. Thanks for the lovely preview.

    • jannatwrites April 24, 2012 / 5:26 PM

      I’d like to go to Kauai, too – that’s where we were going to go before we settled on Maui. I’m sure you will find lots of beauty there!

      Thanks for stopping by to check out the photos, Diane 🙂

  6. philosophermouseofthehedge April 24, 2012 / 10:37 AM

    You could spend all day trying to capture these flowers – just beautiful. The white one with red center is gorgeous – but son does have an eye for picking beautiful shots!

    • jannatwrites April 24, 2012 / 5:28 PM

      I took photos of tons of flowers. Many of them I haven’t been able to identify yet. Some of them, locals ID’d for me, but sadly, my memory stinks!

      I’ll let my son know you like his choice. Thanks for visiting, Phil 🙂

  7. Widdershins April 24, 2012 / 10:52 AM

    Hm-mm … I’d have to go for the white one with the splash of red.

    • jannatwrites April 24, 2012 / 5:29 PM

      I keep wavering on which is my favorite, but I do like the distinctive petal shapes on that one. Thanks for sharing your pick, Widdershins 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 24, 2012 / 5:33 PM

      I like those too, Evelyn. After looking at the photos more, I noticed a couple of them have three colors. I like them better after seeing that!

      I’m hopeless. I just like all of the flowers 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to share your opinion!

  8. newwhitebear April 25, 2012 / 8:37 AM

    I like the orange and red hibiscus. Wonderful photo.

    • jannatwrites April 25, 2012 / 5:06 PM

      Thanks for checking out the flowers, Newwhitebear. Good ‘favorite’ choice 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

