Ready…Set…Gone!

Our Easter morning hike turned into a 2-hour long expedition. I took 78 pictures during that time.  Seventy-eight pictures that I would normally procrastinate in saving to my computer, renaming the files and then backing up on an external hard drive.  (Until yesterday, I still had pictures taken in January on my camera.)

Pretty (from a distance)
I like these flowers...bees do, too!

In case you thought to congratulate me on outwitting my procrastination, I feel I owe you the whole truth.  My quick turnaround in completing my photo backup duties can be attributed to one thing:  Hawaii.  (And avoidance of housework…wait…that’s two things.)

By this time tomorrow, we will be in Hawaii; the trip my husband has been so excited to take for our fifteenth anniversary; our first vacation without the kids.  I’m not thrilled about the air travel, but I am looking forward to seeing the sights.

I prefer to admire the clouds with my feet on the ground 🙂

It has been twenty years since my first visit to Hawaii. It occurs to me that some readers of my blog are barely twenty themselves.  To them, I must seem “over the hill”. Well, young ones, I’m not that old…in twenty years, you’ll be standing in my well-cushioned low-heeled shoes.  And you won’t even care that they look stupid with your Bermuda shorts.

Needless to say, I won’t be around much (if at all) for the next week or so.  Who goes on vacation to Hawaii to spend it on a computer?  I’ll catch up as best I can when I get back.  My camera’s memory card holds about 2,600 photos and I might just max it out. I’ll try not to share them with you all at once, okay? 😆

Have a beautiful week!

20 thoughts on “Ready…Set…Gone!

  1. suzicate April 12, 2012 / 4:02 AM

    Love that swirl of clouds!

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:26 PM

      Thanks, SuziCate! I really liked it, too 🙂

  2. nrhatch April 12, 2012 / 5:49 AM

    Enjoyed these pics.

    Good thinking to clean out your cache of photos to make room for vacation shots. What a great way to avoid doing the dusting. If you’re lucky, the “babysitter” will clean up your crib for you while you’re gone.

    Have a GREAT trip, Janna.
    It’s a long flight . . . bring slippers and a book.

    Aah . . . that’s better!

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:28 PM

      I did manage to escape most of the dusting, Nancy, so it was all good!

      Still in Hawaii – trip is good so far. We went snorkleling this morning and we have dinner and a show tonight. Just waiting for my hair to dry 🙂

  3. cuhome April 12, 2012 / 7:28 AM

    Have a fun, kidless vacation!!! Love Hawaii!!

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:29 PM

      Thanks, Janet! So far we’re having a blast. I survived the zipline so it’s all tame from here 🙂

      • cuhome April 16, 2012 / 6:34 PM

        OMG!!! I did the zipline with mu husband in Vegas on one vacation~~what a rush!!! Enjoy the sun and fun!!

        • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:47 PM

          Yeah, I ran video on my camera on the last (longest and most intense line) – I screamed like a stuck pig the whole time!

          And yet, I won’t go on a helicopter ride…go figure!

        • cuhome April 16, 2012 / 7:08 PM

          We tried the helicopter thing, but the weather didn’t agree, so that got nixed. But re: the zip line. I have a photo someone took of me coming down one of the fastest parts~~it was like a great facelift~I thought I looked awesome~~ but alas, it proved to be quite temporary. 🙂 When I lit on the ground at the end, my jowls were sagging more than ever . . .

        • jannatwrites April 20, 2012 / 1:07 PM

          Hehehe….temporary facelift…that’s good! We enjoyed talking about the zipline experience the whole trip. I don’t have ‘facelift’ pictures, though 😦

  4. Debbie April 12, 2012 / 11:43 AM

    Enjoy your vacation — I’m pea-green with envy ‘cos I’ve never been to Hawaii and really want to go! Looking forward to seeing your pix!

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:30 PM

      I’m halfway through the trip and I can already tell you that you should definitely go, Debbie. I could probably blog about it for a year (but I won’t!)

  5. newwhitebear April 12, 2012 / 1:33 PM

    I like the clouds. Often i use the picture of cloud like avatar.
    Good kidless vacation!

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:31 PM

      Thanks, Newwhitebear! The clouds mesmerize me…my head spends lots of time there.

  6. Widdershins April 12, 2012 / 5:01 PM

    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    Until we meet again … have a wonderful time.

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:34 PM

      Love the poem, Widdershins! Thanks for the wishes – I’ll be back to full-blog speed soon 🙂

  7. pattisj April 12, 2012 / 9:30 PM

    I have no doubt you won’t share them all at once. (Adding too many photos to a post makes WP cranky). Just be sure they downloaded before erasing! And have the time of your life!

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:37 PM

      Thanks for the download reminder….I’ve already made that mistake once. Thanks for the well-wishes, Patti!

  8. philosophermouseofthehedge April 13, 2012 / 4:57 PM

    Those swirling clouds look like they are dancing. No housework, someone else cooking, and Hawaii! Have a great time! (we will sit quietly and wait….well, probably not quietly)

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:43 PM

      I could live with the no housework and cooking…but I miss the kids! I can’t wait to get back to blogging again…I feel so out-of-the-loop!

Got an opinion? Share it!

