Signs of Creativity

Doesn't look like much at first glance....

We went for an Easter morning hike today (our last one before we leave for Hawaii on Thursday.)  The funny thing about these hikes is that the mountains just look brown and rocky, but if we pay close attention, there are interesting textures and colors waiting to be admired.  I have some nice landscape photos to share another day.

We hiked the trail for about ten minutes when we came across a sign:

Will You

I snapped the picture because it’s not every day you see this.  We huddled around it wondering questions out loud that we knew couldn’t be answered.  Finally, we decided it must be a marriage proposal.  How clever!  We continued along the trail.  Another ten minutes or so later, we found this:

Come To

Marriage proposal was out.  Prom another person in our group suggested.  Yes, it is April; that had to be it.  Question figured out, we began to study the handwriting to guess if the asker was male or female.  To me, the handwriting looked female (I think because of the loop on the “t”), but the gesture seemed male.  Of course, I’m not schooled in handwriting analysis, so this was a futile exercise.  Fun, but pointless 🙂

Soon, we came across another sign:

Prom With (we figure the asker stood next to the sign in place of "me")

We don’t know the answer, but I think it had to be ‘yes’.  The romantic in me refuses to think that such a sweet gesture could result in a ‘no’.  It’s been a long time since my prom days, but I went to three of them – and none asked me in a way that took this much effort.  They went something like this:

“Since we’re back together, are we going to Prom?” (Sophomore year, asked by my Junior boyfriend.)

“If you don’t get a date for Prom, you wanna go as friends?” (Junior year, offer made by a friend who had recently moved out-of-state and wanted to see his friends.  I did not get a date, and against my better judgment, I went.)

“If you want to go {to Prom}, I’ll go with you.”  (Senior year, stated by different boyfriend who wanted to buy an Italian leather steering wheel for his Nova – not rent a tux.  Against my better judgment, I went.)

Your turn:  Did you go to Prom?  How were you asked (or how did you do the asking?)

24 thoughts on “Signs of Creativity

  1. J. P. Cabit April 9, 2012 / 5:08 AM

    Never went to prom. But I like the crumb-trail-style message. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 9, 2012 / 6:39 PM

      You didn’t miss much, Seph 🙂 I thought it was a fun idea, too 🙂

  2. suzicate April 9, 2012 / 5:47 AM

    Yes, that is creative! I did go to prom but the invitations were not exciting like that one.

    • jannatwrites April 9, 2012 / 6:40 PM

      I hope you enjoyed Prom. I guess the bar has been raised on asking style, SuziCate!

  3. cuhome April 9, 2012 / 7:57 AM

    You are so creative, and you put so much visual effort into your blogs. I enjoy them so much. And, did I forget to say, you have so much writing and photographic talent, and such an ability to find meaning in things that most of us would overlook with a simple, “uh.” I hope you keep writing and sharing and photographing. Oh, and did I mention, you have a wonderful sense of humor, which brings much laughter to my life. Thank you.

    • jannatwrites April 9, 2012 / 6:41 PM

      I’m sorry it took so long to respond….my head got too big and I couldn’t get out of bed 😆 Seriously, though, I’m flattered by your compliment. (I’m low on cash…can I pay you later?) Thanks for reading my posts and stopping by to share your thoughts when you can. I appreciate it!

      • cuhome April 10, 2012 / 6:40 AM

        You are so funny! It’s a joy to read your blogs! I truly look forward to it! Keep writing, girl!

        • jannatwrites April 10, 2012 / 5:43 PM

          I will keep writing, Janet! Thanks 🙂

  4. nrhatch April 9, 2012 / 8:04 AM

    Loved watching this “romantic mystery” unfold, Janna. Thanks for capturing the prom proposal for us.

    I never went to the prom. I didn’t (and don’t) like playing dress up . . .

    • jannatwrites April 9, 2012 / 6:43 PM

      You didn’t miss much, Nancy. The best part was hanging out with my friends, and we could have done that at a bowling alley!

  5. momsomniac April 9, 2012 / 8:07 AM

    I didn’t go. I asked a friend who also didn’t have a date to go with me and he declined, saying “if you don’t get lucky on prom night, you’re pretty much done for life.”

    Ah, the romance.

    So, instead I went parking with my (older, dropped out of HS) boyfriend and nearly got arrested.

    Ah, the romance.

    : )

    • jannatwrites April 9, 2012 / 6:45 PM

      Your comment cracked me up, Momsomniac 😆 I feel bad for your friend – he was so wrong! Nearly getting arrested would be a story, but maybe not one you’d like to tell…

  6. newwhitebear April 9, 2012 / 9:32 AM

    It’s a charming question with an uncertain replay. All is possible. It’s a nice puzzle.

    • jannatwrites April 9, 2012 / 6:46 PM

      It was cute to see, Newwhitebear. We enjoyed following the trail! Thanks for stopping by today – I appreciate it.

  7. pattyabr April 9, 2012 / 6:54 PM

    I did not go to Prom. My husband did not go to Prom. Our son did not go to Prom. Our daughter was the Prom Queen. go figure

    • jannatwrites April 9, 2012 / 10:16 PM

      Hahaha! That’s funny, Patty. Looks like she was the “black sheep” when it came to Prom. I bet she had a blast, though!

  8. Debbie April 10, 2012 / 7:20 AM

    I didn’t go to Prom, Janna. Kind of hurt at the time, but from what I hear now, I didn’t miss much. There are other, better ways to hang with your friends. Love the signage, though — must have warmed someone’s heart!

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2012 / 5:44 PM

      A lot of things hurt back then that don’t seem to get us down when we’re older…I guess that’s the good part about aging, Debbie 🙂 You’re right, socializing with friends doesn’t have to be a black tie affair!

  9. Rachael April 11, 2012 / 5:56 AM

    My best friend and I asked a couple boys from church to go to our Jr Prom. I realized before it even started that while I was picturing happily ever after with my date, he was picturing my bff in his bed.. 😦 But, our prom was held at a Bowling Alley/Convention Center so it was still pretty fun.

    • jannatwrites April 11, 2012 / 10:04 PM

      I’m sorry it ended up like that, Rachael. Did they have it set up where you could go bowling on Prom night? That would be so fun!!

      I ran into much the same thing my Senior year. He was ‘put out’ because I wouldn’t. Oh well!

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:35 PM

      You’d think we’d learn after the first, right? I hope you at least have a funny story or two from them, Braintomahawk!

  10. pattisj April 15, 2012 / 9:57 PM

    I don’t remember, and I’d just as soon forget the rest! lol

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:45 PM

      Prom must not have been that memorable! We have a way of blocking out traumatic memories, don’t we? 😆

Got an opinion? Share it!

