Take Me Away

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

The cacophony of boys fighting knocks at the locked bathroom door.  I lather soap on my washcloth.  It’s magic, they say.

I shriek.

Insects.  Ants marching toward their lake.

Calgon take me away.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Yes, it’s time for another Trifextra weekend challenge.  Inspiration left my brain for the weekday challenge, which ironically enough, was to use the 3rd definition of the word ‘brain’.

Here are the rules For this week’s Trifextra, we’re switching things up a little bit.  The 33-word stories are fun to read, but we wanted to give you a bit more leeway this weekend.  The challenge is to write a response that is between 33 and 333 words long and uses the words listed below.  Use the words however you wish, but make sure that all three appear in your response.  Oh, and they must appear in order.  Good luck!

  1. cacophony
  2. soap
  3. insects
23 thoughts on “Take Me Away

  1. pattyabr April 6, 2012 / 8:55 AM

    haha cute

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2012 / 3:01 PM

      Thanks, Patty. I’d like to come up with something serious, but I don’t know if I can do that given the words I have to use 🙂

  2. Amanda April 6, 2012 / 9:27 AM

    I like “It’s magic, they say.” Doesn’t work for me though. 😉 And good job getting all the challenge words in 33!

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2012 / 3:04 PM

      I’ve tried everything…lavender, chamomille…nothing drowns out the distractions and calms me! Thanks for stopping by and reading my entry, Amanda.

  3. Sandra April 6, 2012 / 9:37 AM

    Wow, you’re fast this time! Again, a difficult prompt for me. You made it look so easy. Great job!

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2012 / 3:06 PM

      Sometimes they come right away, and other times, like the ‘brain’ prompt, I have nothing. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. If you let it simmer for a while, I bet you’ll think of something for this prompt, Sandra 🙂

  4. nrhatch April 6, 2012 / 11:27 AM

    Rub A Dub Dub
    Ants Marching in the Tub

    Eek! 😯

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2012 / 3:09 PM

      We’ve had tiny black ants invade our bathroom (usually when the temps get really hot). Not fun…not fun at all 🙂

      Thanks for reading, Nancy. I liked your little poem there!

  5. barbara April 6, 2012 / 1:54 PM

    lol – gotta love little boys. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2012 / 3:09 PM

      Yep. Between the boys and the ants, I doubt bathtime will be relaxing 🙂 Thanks for reading, Barbara!

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2012 / 10:01 PM

      In my house, it could be the cats, too. No matter what, relaxation often comes after everyone is in bed 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and reading, Mel!

  6. pattisj April 6, 2012 / 9:57 PM

    I usually end up with a spider in my tub!

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2012 / 10:03 PM

      Ew. I don’t care for spiders in my bath, either, Patty! I hadn’t thought about that…

  7. Sparks In Shadow April 7, 2012 / 12:33 AM

    Oh, no! I’d scream too, if that happened during my alone time. Insects and bath time don’t go together for me.

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2012 / 6:43 PM

      Hehehe. Insects don’t go together anywhere for me, but bath time is especially traumatic. Thanks for reading, Sparks In Shadow!

  8. Debbie April 7, 2012 / 2:23 PM

    Yikes, this was a tough one! Are they getting harder to write, or is it just my imagination??

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2012 / 6:43 PM

      I think they are getting harder, but I don’t know if it’s the challenge or if my brain is failing me 🙂 Thanks for reading, Debbie!

  9. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) April 8, 2012 / 11:19 AM

    Oh to have a bath in peace. Yesterday, I had a four year old head jammed into the spray with me while I washed my hair. And I had to get the soap out of my hair before I could deal with the place some had landed — in his eyes.

    http://jesterqueen.com

    • jannatwrites April 8, 2012 / 8:50 PM

      That’s funny, Jester Queen! I’ve gotten to the point I just wait until they are in bed, and lock the door in case they sense me trying to relax and decide to put a stop to it:)

  10. Dana April 8, 2012 / 8:08 PM

    Haha! I can so relate to this entire post (sadly… ;-p). Calgon, indeed! Well done, Janna. 😉

    • jannatwrites April 8, 2012 / 8:52 PM

      Thanks, Dana! I’m afraid there are a lot of people who can relate 🙂

  11. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) April 9, 2012 / 6:29 AM

    Thanks for linking up this weekend. We hope you can come back for the weekday challenge too. Remember to check out our Facebook and Twitter pages for news on what’s happening on the site.

Got an opinion? Share it!

