Opposites Bring Balance

I’ve been driving my husband nuts with all the landscape photos I’ve been taking lately.  He joked that he would leave me in the parking lot of a strip mall if I got out to take pictures of a blooming cactus.  At least I think he was kidding….  Sometimes when we’re in the car, he will pretend he doesn’t hear me ask him to roll down the window real quick (we have them ‘locked’ otherwise the kids would mess with them.)

Hubby had plans with a friend on Saturday, so I took the kids to visit my parents.  While my kids grazed on their grandparents’ snacks, and conned them into playing a Netflix movie, I snuck outside to take a few pictures with a new camera that my husband wanted me to have for our anniversary.  It’s supposed to take decent low-light pictures, but I haven’t tried that yet.  I hope to test it out later this week.

As I looked at the pictures I snapped, I was struck by the contrast of the desert landscape – how the harsh cacti and blooming plants live in harmony.  This time of year, many cacti bloom, too, which is an extra treat.  I don’t usually give things like this much thought, but I realized the spines and blooms could be metaphors to describe both the rough and appealing traits in me.

My next thought was that maybe SuziCate is rubbing off on me….wise thoughts interwoven with nature are her forte.  I’d rather not be a cheap knock-off of the original, so, I’ll stop right here and just show you some pictures I thought represented the desert well.  Enjoy!

Agave cactus spines put up a wall of defense
Bougainvillea - pretty on the outside, but there are thorns underneath
Organized rows of pain...
Fabaceae tree flowers are a bit of sunshine to a brown landscape
Cholla (a.k.a. jumping cactus) - watch out 🙂
Giant Argentine Cactus - sticky thorns AND pretty blooms all in one
28 thoughts on “Opposites Bring Balance

  1. SusanWritesPrecise April 3, 2012 / 5:25 AM

    How I wish I lived in a cactus-friendly climate! The cholla is most intriguing. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 7:22 AM

      Thanks for taking a look at my pictures and taking the time to comment. I’ve lived in the desert for half my life, and I’ve only recently gotten to the point where I could see beauty in it 🙂

  2. pattyabr April 3, 2012 / 6:56 AM

    NIce pics. I may have asked you this before but what kind of camera do you use for your beautiful pictures? Did you take a class in photography?

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 7:31 AM

      My new camera is a Canon Rebel T3. It’s not a convenient camera to carry around, though because it is much bulkier. My with-me-all-the-time camera is a Nikon CoolPix (about 4 years old). It does just fine on daytime, outdoor pictures, but is terrible in low-light situations or scene settings.

      I haven’t taken any photography classes, but I’m sure it would help to do so! My learning is a slow process 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to view and comment on my pictures, Patty. I appreciate it!

  3. suzicate April 3, 2012 / 7:26 AM

    You are no cheap knock off! You are an original, and a beautiful one at that! But thank you for your lovely words.On my first visit to the desert I was in awe of the beauty and how all thrives in such harsh conditions. I took a bunch of pics of azaleas and camellias, but decided to give you guys a break today…figured everyone was probably sick of my flower pics!

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 7:38 AM

      Thanks for the kind words, SuziCate. I don’t know about anyone else, but I won’t get tired of flower pictures! Thanks for stopping by today.

  4. Debbie April 3, 2012 / 8:56 AM

    How lucky you are to be surrounded with such beauty! I think that’s one thing I appreciate so much about this country, its variations in landscape. Thanks for sharing these photos with us. Too many people tend to think of the desert as harsh, but you’ve captured a lovely side of it!

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 5:20 PM

      This time of year, the desert is quite nice. However, with temps creeping up close to 90 degrees, it will quickly become unpleasant until about October or so. I would like to see more of the country…not enough time or money. Thanks for visiting, Debbie!

  5. momsomniac April 3, 2012 / 8:57 AM

    Wonderful photos. Thank you for sharing!

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 5:21 PM

      Thanks, Momsomniac. I appreciate you visiting!

  6. crumbld April 3, 2012 / 12:06 PM

    Lovely pics. Glad you’ve come to appreciate the beauty in your environment, Janna. The desert might seem stark and barren, but I think it holds endless wonders, and you certainly captured some of it with your pics.

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 5:22 PM

      I think every place has beauty if we choose to look at things in a different way to see it. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your comment on my photos!

  7. newwhitebear April 3, 2012 / 12:32 PM

    I ddin’t see ever beutiful photos like your. You are very clever.

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 5:23 PM

      I’m glad you liked the photos, Newwhitebear. I appreciate your visit 🙂

  8. nrhatch April 3, 2012 / 2:18 PM

    Fabulous shots. I could see you arranging a montage of all six 8×10’s over your sofa ~ 3 across and 2 down.

    Photography helps us zoom in and focus on the beauty in our own backyard. 😯

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 5:27 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! Since I started paying attention to photo ops in my everyday life, I find that I look at things differently. It’s kind of fun 🙂

  9. philosophermouseofthehedge April 3, 2012 / 3:57 PM

    Love the agave! What a contrast between all the blooms this time of year and the expected thorns and stickers. thanks

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 5:28 PM

      Thanks, Phil! I was amazed by the sharp thorns. They mean serious business 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 3, 2012 / 11:02 PM

      I’m glad they brought back fond memories (you must have avoided touching the cactus ;)) I haven’t been to Utah yet, but there are several parks I’d like to visit, including Zion. Thanks for visiting and sharing your comment, Amy!

  10. J. P. Cabit April 4, 2012 / 2:48 AM

    Delightful pictures! The Bougainvillea seems incontrovertibly evil, I’ve decided. Nothing should wear flowers on the outside and spikes on the inside. Hopefully, that’s one “Cactus” trait that none of us have. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 4, 2012 / 5:06 AM

      Hahahaha! Sadly, there are Bougainvilleas among us. I have met at least one person who wore a kind smile while holding a knife behind her back. They are the worst kind, I tell you!

      • J. P. Cabit April 4, 2012 / 3:52 PM

        Oh, right? That’s one species of cactus that we can ALL do without. 🙂

  11. Sandra April 4, 2012 / 7:47 AM

    Those are beautiful pictures, Janna! I would love to get into photography, but time and money is always an issue! While I don’t have a photographer’s eye, I think those are stunning. I look forward to seeing more of your pics!

    • jannatwrites April 4, 2012 / 8:21 PM

      Thanks so much, Sandra. I have zero training and don’t consider myself a photographer, but almost every day, I see something that I think would make a cool picture. I appreciate your stopping by today 🙂

  12. pattisj April 15, 2012 / 9:48 PM

    These are lovely, Janna! Thanks for sharing your landscape with us.

    • jannatwrites April 16, 2012 / 6:44 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to check out the pictures, Patti! The desert can be pretty at times. (Not like VA, though.)

Got an opinion? Share it!

