“It” Happened In The Cereal Aisle

“Charlotte?”

I turned; pulse quickened, throat tightened.

“Is this your daughter?”

I swallowed hard.  “Sarah, meet Mommy’s boss, Fran.”

The four-year-old’s eyes brightened.  “You’re the selfish blowhard.  But your nose doesn’t look brown!”

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This week’s Trifecta weekend challenge:  “Write a horror story in 33 words, without the words blood, scream, died, death, knife, gun, or kill. Good luck.”

Good luck is right…for this entry, I went for social horror rather than physical horror.   See, no ‘banned’ words needed at all.  However, it may leave you wondering if I had a daughter at one time?” 😆

41 thoughts on ““It” Happened In The Cereal Aisle

  1. MOV March 30, 2012 / 1:17 PM

    now this is MY definition of a horror story!!!

    best,
    MOV

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 7:56 PM

      I shudder just thinking about it, MOV. Thanks for reading!

      P.S. – interesting idea you came up with for the challenge this week 🙂

  2. newwhitebear March 30, 2012 / 1:38 PM

    It’s the usual challenge in 33 words. Beutiful and nice incipit.

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 7:56 PM

      As always, I appreciate you stopping by to read, Newwhitebear!

  3. pattyabr March 30, 2012 / 2:17 PM

    LOLlololol
    Out of the mouth of babes horror to all mothers

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 7:57 PM

      Glad you got a chuckle from it…funny if it doesn’t happen to you, right? Thanks for reading, Patty 🙂

  4. braintomahawk March 30, 2012 / 2:36 PM

    Terrifying…THIS is what all of us fear the most! Great job!

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 7:58 PM

      They can become a liability when they learn to speak if we aren’t careful 🙂 Thanks for checking out my entry, Braintomahawk!

  5. suzicate March 30, 2012 / 3:41 PM

    Oh my goodness, let this story be a lesson to the things kids repeat

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 7:58 PM

      Oh, yes. They will repeat anything…and they have a knack for knowing when they shouldn’t repeat it! Thanks for stopping by. SuziCate!

  6. OldDogNewTits March 30, 2012 / 4:44 PM

    A problem from the first moment they learn to talk. Cute.

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 7:59 PM

      That is true, ODNT. And yet we cheer their first words! Thanks for reading.

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 8:00 PM

      Thanks, Phil – glad you could relate to it! I appreciate you reading 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 8:01 PM

      It reminds me of the Quaker “Chewy stops the chatter” commercials. They can be little parrots at times. Thanks for reading, Kelly!

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 8:03 PM

      Thanks, Linda…I appreciate you stopping by. Glad you liked it 🙂

  7. k~ March 30, 2012 / 7:20 PM

    LMAO… that was fun Janna!

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 8:03 PM

      Thanks, K! Appreciate your visit and comment 🙂

  8. yvonneroot March 30, 2012 / 8:21 PM

    Janna, your writing always seems great to me. Your horror story was so great it made me laugh out loud. And, I’m alone — so you know it is good. Keep up the good work.

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 9:43 PM

      Thanks for the compliment, Yvonne. I do appreciate you reading what I write 🙂 Thanks for sharing your reaction. Sometimes I think I’m the only one laughing!

  9. nrhatch March 30, 2012 / 8:22 PM

    Ha ha! Kids are sponges . . . who sometimes wring out juicy tidbits in public. 😀

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 9:50 PM

      We don’t say much around the kids because of this, but they still manage to twist truths and create situations we have to explain ourselves out of! Thanks for stopping by, Nancy 🙂

  10. pattisj March 30, 2012 / 10:02 PM

    I could see this happening in some families.

    • jannatwrites March 30, 2012 / 10:43 PM

      Yep. If you say it within earshot, it’s fair game for repeating 🙂 Thanks for reading, Patti!

  11. The Gal Herself March 31, 2012 / 12:12 AM

    You captured the suspense of having a wee one in your life. Clever take on the prompt!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2012 / 8:26 AM

      Suspense is right…you nevew know what they will say or when they will say it!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2012 / 8:25 AM

      Thanks, Mel. Gotta have some fun with the horror 🙂

  12. Debbie March 31, 2012 / 7:20 AM

    Nice job, Janna!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2012 / 8:24 AM

      Thanks, Debbie…I appreciate you reading it!

  13. trailertrashdeluxe March 31, 2012 / 12:09 PM

    Horror stories aren’t supposed to make me laugh–good job, though. Sorta reminds me of the “Rosanne” episode where someone (her kid’s friend’s mom?) tells Rosanne at the end of the episode (something like), “By the way, I’m going in soon for surgery to have the stick removed from my back.”

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2012 / 8:11 PM

      It’s a different type of horror, I guess. It’s not the blood and guts kind, but rather the kind that makes you say, ‘I’m glad that’s not me.’ Thanks for sharing your thoughts on my social horror story, Trailertrashdeluxe!

      P.S. I haven’t watched Roseanne, so I’m not familiar with the episode you describe…it sounds like it could be funny, though.

  14. Scriptor Obscura March 31, 2012 / 1:57 PM

    HAHAHAHAHA! I love this story! Out of the mouths of babes, indeed! LOL! I can just imagine the mother’s mortification here…Wow…I imagine someone is going to get called into the office for a wee little chat very soon…(Cue the ominous music here)…I really do hope that this story is entirely fictional, though, and that it has not happened to you or to someone in your life for real! Now THAT would be a true horror story! Great story, Janna! 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2012 / 8:14 PM

      Thanks, Scriptor! Yes, it is 100% fiction. My kids have done many other things to mortify me, but this isn’t one of them. Maybe because even if I did feel this way about someone, I wouldn’t say so around them!

  15. Sandra March 31, 2012 / 9:00 PM

    Yes! Horrifying! I was worried about reading lots of gore. I’m so glad this made me smile AND was a horror story!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2012 / 9:19 PM

      Thanks, Sandra! I don’t write blood and gore, so this week took a little more creativity for me. Glad you could see the horror in that story…thanks for reading 🙂

  16. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) April 2, 2012 / 1:50 AM

    Thanks so much for linking up with Trifecta this week. Hope to see you back on Monday (10 am Eastern) for the new prompt and some exciting news about the changes Trifecta is making to spread the word about our writing community.

Got an opinion? Share it!

