Return of An Old Friend

Of course, the ‘old friend’ I’m referring to is Spring!  In honor of its return, I wanted to post a few recent pictures I saved just for this day.  Although here, in the desert of Arizona, we don’t really get four seasons, I still get excited for Spring because it is the three-week period of time where I can go outside and feel like Goldilocks (not too cold, not too hot.)

I hope Winter got the memo and has turned the reigns over to Spring where you live.

Have a beautiful day!

Photo taken in New Orleans
Another New Orleans photo
Yep, you guessed it...New Orleans again!

So, what is your favorite thing about Spring? 

24 thoughts on “Return of An Old Friend

  1. suzicate March 21, 2012 / 4:04 AM

    Lovely! My favorite things are the blooms and the crisp fresh air!

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 6:52 PM

      You’ve been capturing some beautiful shots lately, SuziCate. I also enjoy flowers blooming.

  2. Jim Clark March 21, 2012 / 7:31 AM

    Thanks for the reminder about the beauty of Spring. As I sit on my back porch that is coated in pine pollen and live oak droppings, all hopped up on Benadryl, and flailing wildly as I explode into a devastating episode of sneezes, it’s always at this time of year that I find myself wondering if all those flowers were worth the excessive medication and daily car washes.

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 6:55 PM

      I feel bad for chuckling a little at your comment. I’m not laughing at your misery, really! I can see how it would be hard to see the beauty through watery eyes and a stuffed-up nose. At least you’re getting a great ab workout with the sneezes, right? Okay, I guess that’s not much of a consolation…

      Thanks for visiting today, Jim.

      • Jim Clark March 22, 2012 / 12:28 PM

        Thank you, Janna! You actually inspired me yesterday to write my own spin on the Spring I’ve got outside my door. Wanna check it out? http://bit.ly/GGbga3

        • jannatwrites March 22, 2012 / 4:45 PM

          I’ll stop by and check it out tonight. Can’t wait to see your take on Spring!

  3. Widdershins March 21, 2012 / 9:39 AM

    It would have to be the return of the leaves on the trees. In Australia the only trees that are deciduous are introduced species. They look the same all year round, but here … you really know you’re having a season!

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 6:59 PM

      You’re in Canada now, right, Widdershins? We have a few trees that shed leaves and it is pretty when they get their green back (though in the summer here, they get dried out, but I won’t think about that!)

  4. nrhatch March 21, 2012 / 1:15 PM

    Gorgeous photos, Janna.

    Here in Florida, the four seasons are less differentiated than in the mid-Atlantic, but I still enjoy the arrival of Spring ~ baby animals and baby ducks top my list . . . along with flowers.

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 7:03 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! They’re not as good as SuziCate’s, but I liked them anyway 🙂

      Baby animals…that’s a good one – I hadn’t thought of that. They are cute!

      I hope your comment enjoyed the red-carpet treatment today – bypassing the Spam folder and going right to my Approved Comments!

    • nrhatch March 21, 2012 / 8:03 PM

      Yay! I love getting the red carpet treatment! 😀

      I just realized that you took all these photos on NOLA. Lovely mementos of your vacation.

      • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 8:15 PM

        Yep, I had to use NOLA pictures! I haven’t been out much around here since I got back, so no new pictures 😦

  5. newwhitebear March 21, 2012 / 1:19 PM

    Spring is an old friend, that wakes up with a blaze of colours.
    Lovely and wonderful photos.

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 7:05 PM

      Thanks, NewWhiteBear. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I enjoyed your lovely words about Spring’s colors 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  6. judithhb March 21, 2012 / 9:06 PM

    Well we are now into autumn here. Not as pretty as spring but the leaves on the trees changing colour are something to behold. Perhaps, if it ever stops raining, I shall be able to take some photos to share. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 10:35 PM

      I do think the orange and red leaves are pretty. The bare trees of winter are a bit depressing to me, though. Thanks for stopping by, Judith!

  7. Debbie March 22, 2012 / 10:54 AM

    Yep, I recognized those Spring blooms as being from New Orleans — sorry, but the desert holds a different kind of beauty than an area like Louisiana that gets sooo much rain! They’re lovely, especially the middle closeup! My favorite thing about Spring is the color and the lessening of Winter’s icy grip.

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2012 / 4:41 PM

      Yeah, the desert doesn’t have as many ‘pinks’. Winter’s icy grip should let you go sonn 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to look at the flowers.

  8. Auntie N. March 22, 2012 / 11:34 PM

    Passing along The Versatile Blogger Award!

    • jannatwrites March 23, 2012 / 5:27 AM

      Icy Blu….you changed your name…I almost didn’t recognize you! Thanks for dropping by and passing along the award. I’ll be by to check out your award post tonight (if I make myself late for work, it will confirm that I do indeed have a blogging additction problem 🙂

  9. pattisj March 26, 2012 / 1:37 PM

    I love new leaves sprouting, greenery pushing up through the mulch in the flower bed, and the chorus of birdsong.

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2012 / 9:04 PM

      You’ve described some of the best parts of Spring, Patti. Thanks for sharing your favorites!

Got an opinion? Share it!

