Duel In The Desert (Trifecta – Week 19, #2)

The brothers dropped their backpacks on the floor and sauntered to the table.  They slid into chairs facing each other and placed their fists on the wooden surface.  Eyes squinted, they sized up the opponent.  Leaned forward, with backs straight, both boys sought to intimidate the other.  They knew what was at stake should they lose the duel.

“One…two…three…” the boys pounded their fists on the table with each count.  On the fourth count, the older boy flattened his hand into paper; the younger boy held two fingers out as scissors.

“Yes!  I won the cookie!”  The younger brother bounded from his seat to grab his prize.

“Not so fast,” the older brother blocked the cookie with his arm.  “You threw your scissors after my paper.”

“Nuh-uh!  That was a clean start – I won fair and square.  I’m telling Mom…”

“Fine.  Best two out of three, then.”

Rock, Paper, Scissors - the decision-making guide for young boys

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my second entry for Trifecta – Week 19.  Here are the challenge details:

This week’s word is:  clean (adjective): a ) free from moral corruption or sinister connections of any kind <a candidate with a clean record>; b)  free from offensive treatment of sexual subjects and from the use of obscenity <a clean joke>; c) observing the rules : fair <a clean fight>

The challenge is to use the word “clean” with the above definition in a post that is between 33 and 333 words.  The word itself needs to be included in the response.  You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.  (No cleaning, cleaned, cleans, cleaner, cleaning lady, etc.).  Additional posting instructions are in Trifecta’s challenge post.

36 thoughts on “Duel In The Desert (Trifecta – Week 19, #2)

  1. nrhatch March 20, 2012 / 6:21 AM

    Best 2 out of THREE makes sense for a Trifecta Challenge.

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2012 / 5:40 PM

      I like Trifecta’s “3” theme…makes it fun. Thanks for stopping by today, Nancy.

  2. laciejay March 20, 2012 / 7:56 AM

    Very cute story, I remember using rock, paper , scissors for everything as a kid.

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2012 / 5:41 PM

      Thanks for reading, Laciejay. I did that, too. And now I play with my kids (or sometimes just listen as they work out the details!)

  3. booguloo March 20, 2012 / 8:06 AM

    Now if they do the same thing for the milk they might next learn the art of compromise. A good one.

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2012 / 5:43 PM

      I hadn’t thought of that. Maybe they will progress 🙂

  4. Debbie March 20, 2012 / 10:30 AM

    Maybe Rock, Paper, Scissors would be a good way to solve ALL the world’s problems!!

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2012 / 5:45 PM

      Funny thought, Debbie 🙂 Could you imagine President Obama doing Rock, Paper Scissors with the leader of Iran?

  5. Chris March 20, 2012 / 10:37 AM

    Great entry. Really captures the essence of being a child and I’m sure it brought a lot us back to those days. It certainly did for me.

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2012 / 5:46 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to give it a read, Chris. I think almost everyone has tried the Rock, Paper, Scissors method to problem resolution 🙂

  6. GodGirl March 20, 2012 / 5:42 PM

    Well done! Love it.

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2012 / 5:47 PM

      Thanks for reading, GodGirl! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  7. Ruby Manchanda March 20, 2012 / 8:44 PM

    It is fun growing up like this. I loved this writing.
    Regards,
    Ruby

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2012 / 9:16 PM

      Thanks, Ruby! I appreciate you stopping by to check it out.

  8. barbara March 20, 2012 / 8:53 PM

    I’m telling Moooooooooom!

    🙂

    • jannatwrites March 20, 2012 / 9:19 PM

      😆 Yeah, the 5-syllable “Mom” does come. I probably shouldn’t admit that I have hidden once or twice when I have heard that…

  9. karen March 21, 2012 / 12:23 AM

    I love the way my kids have joined in the RPS game, I don’t remember playing it at their ages, only as an adult. Your story is so well defined, it makes for a perfect picture of what is happening in my mind. Love it!

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 6:52 PM

      Thanks, Karen! I don’t remember playing the game as dispute resolution (only for fun.) My kids play it a lot and sometimes it leads to more fights 🙂

  10. Sandra March 21, 2012 / 8:12 AM

    Adorable. This tickles the insides of a mother in me! =)

    • Sandra March 21, 2012 / 8:13 AM

      And man, are you a natural at this writing challenge! =)

      • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 6:57 PM

        It sure doesn’t feel like it, but thank you, Sandra. Thank goodness I submit before reading the other entries, or I’d probably chicken out 🙂

  11. lexy3587 March 21, 2012 / 11:09 AM

    I like the seriousness you imparted on the competition. It is, after all, a very serious endeavor, striving to win the cookie 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 21, 2012 / 7:02 PM

      Cookies are serious business, Lexy. When a boy needs his chocolate chip fix, there’s no joking around 😆

      Thanks for checking out the story!

  12. Gina March 22, 2012 / 7:18 AM

    I always wanted two out of three because I constantly lost against my brother. Funny that we all still use this technique.

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2012 / 3:40 PM

      Funny! I don’t recall using RPS for settling disputes as a child, Gina. I figured my brother (4 years older) would’ve won anyway 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 22, 2012 / 3:45 PM

      Mmmm…gummy worms isn’t a bad prize, either! Thanks for reading the story and your supportive comment, According To Mags. I appreciate your visit.

  13. OldDogNewTits March 22, 2012 / 9:24 PM

    Loved it. I still use R/P/S as a decision-maker for many things in our house. But I have to know … who got the cookie?

    • jannatwrites March 23, 2012 / 5:25 AM

      Well, ODNT, this story is made up…would it ruin the ending if I walked in and ate it?

      • OldDogNewTits March 23, 2012 / 6:59 AM

        No. I think that would make you the …. antagonist.

        • jannatwrites March 23, 2012 / 4:17 PM

          Antagonist isn’t bad…I’ve been called worse 😆

  14. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) March 23, 2012 / 1:04 AM

    Would there be uproar among the Trifectan community if Lisa and I were to use this method to select this week’s top three? This was a fun story, and quite different to your first entry. Thanks for linking up (twice!).

    • jannatwrites March 23, 2012 / 5:31 AM

      Here’s the thing…no one would ever know if you did RPS. If my entries get knocked out, best ‘two out of three’, okay? 😆

  15. pattisj March 26, 2012 / 1:02 PM

    Cute story. Interestingly, I engaged in a few games of rock paper scissors yesterday. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2012 / 9:02 PM

      R-P-S can be fun. Glad you had the chance to play, Patti!

Got an opinion? Share it!

