Trifextra Entry #1: Lost

 LOST

“I’m late for work, let’s go!”  I yell.

My son appears, backpack slung over his shoulder, barefoot.

I stare.  He shrugs.

I contemplate which I can locate first:  his shoes or my patience.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my first entry in Trifextra:  Week Eight weekend writing challenge.  Here are the rules:

This weekend’s challenge is to write a story entitled ‘Lost’ in exactly 33 words. The word ‘lost’ can only appear in the title, not your 33 words. Any reference to the TV show could result in another visit to see the editors in the Trifecta offices.

I am so excited, because my first entry in a writing challenge (In The Morning) was chosen as the 3rd place winner by the folks at Trifecta.  So unexpected and fun!  Thanks to all who stop by to read.

40 thoughts on “Trifextra Entry #1: Lost

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 9:58 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to read it, Ruby!

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 9:59 PM

      Thanks, Richard! Thanks for stopping by to take a look.

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 9:59 PM

      You’re welcome, Booguloo 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read it!

  1. barbara March 16, 2012 / 1:06 PM

    every mother is nodding her head in time with this one. 🙂

    • kelly garriott waite March 16, 2012 / 2:43 PM

      Oh, yes. Nodding away. Nicely done. I can definitely relate to this one!

      • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 10:08 PM

        Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Kelly. Good to know others can relate 🙂 If I had room for one more word, it would be “Aaaargh!”

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 10:00 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one, Barbara!

  2. dunce two March 16, 2012 / 1:07 PM

    Very catchy; and I can definitely relate.

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 10:01 PM

      Thanks, Dunce Two. It seems to be common among children 🙂

  3. Debbie March 16, 2012 / 1:32 PM

    Good one — congrats on getting a victory right out of the box!

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 10:02 PM

      Thanks, Debbie! It’s been a lot of fun working with prompts.

  4. clarbojahn March 16, 2012 / 1:34 PM

    Congrats on third place, Janna.
    This entry is awesome. Anyone with kids can relate and 33 words exactly is hard to do.
    Great job!

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 10:02 PM

      Thanks for your support, Clar! I’m glad you liked this entry – anything short is hard for me to do 🙂

  5. newwhitebear March 16, 2012 / 1:50 PM

    Congrats on third place.
    You are very clever at writing.

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 10:03 PM

      Thanks for your compliment and for continuing to read my posts, NewWhiteBear!

  6. Sandra March 16, 2012 / 3:15 PM

    Very nice. I like this very much because it is probably something I get to look forward to in a few years =) You’ve captured how I feel now with younger kids. Enjoyed it!

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2012 / 10:09 PM

      Thank you so much, Sandra. I’m afraid your day will come 🙂 As mine have gotten older, they get more willful and want to get ready when they decide to…not when I tell them to!

  7. mairzeebp March 17, 2012 / 4:37 AM

    I LOVED this. I thought in a few words you painted the perfect picture for the entry. Good luck!!

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2012 / 10:10 AM

      Thanks, Mairzeebp! I’m glad you enjoyed it. And I’m excited that you tried the challenge yourself 🙂

  8. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) March 17, 2012 / 4:45 AM

    Thanks for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. You’ve just written the mantra I’ve been repeating, on a loop, for the past five years. But especially this week. Thanks for shining some light upon something that can feel pretty overwhelming at times. Hope to see you back on Monday.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2012 / 10:11 AM

      It’s a strange comfort to know this is “normal” child behavior 🙂 I’m enjoying the writing challenges and look forward to what’s in store next week!

  9. suzicate March 17, 2012 / 5:45 AM

    Now this brings back memories!

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2012 / 10:12 AM

      They are good memories, but not so great when I’m in the moment 🙂

  10. nrhatch March 17, 2012 / 5:57 AM

    Wonderful x 2 . . . this post and your 3rd place finish. Woo Hoo!

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2012 / 10:13 AM

      Thanks for your support, Nancy! I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

  11. becca givens March 17, 2012 / 9:31 AM

    A great read — paints a vivid picture in 33 words! Hope mom finds patience first!! 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2012 / 10:17 AM

      Thanks for reading, Becca! I hope the mom in the story finds patience more often than I do 🙂

  12. chrstnj March 17, 2012 / 2:35 PM

    Ha! This is totally me every morning. I love the lightheartedness of this piece.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2012 / 8:28 PM

      Thanks, Chrstnj! It seems many of us have mornings like this.

  13. jesterqueen (@jesterqueen) March 17, 2012 / 6:21 PM

    That was really funny, and so very true. The later you are, the more likely the children are to have lost something!

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2012 / 8:29 PM

      That’s the truth, Jesterqueen. I even got them to school once only to find my older son didn’t have his backpack…he only took it to school every single day and he still forgot it! The trip back home didn’t help my late problem 🙂

  14. karen March 17, 2012 / 9:52 PM

    Mine always have to go to the bathroom, just as we are running out. 3 kids, 2 bathrooms and always one of them has to do more than “make water”. Sigh.

    But the shoe thing. Oh, and the lost patience. Um, has anybody seen mine!?!

    • JannatWrites March 17, 2012 / 10:19 PM

      Are you missing your shoes, or your patience? Check under the couch…it’s amazing what ends up there 🙂

      The bathroom thing is always a pain, but at least yours do it before you leave. Mine wait until we’re in the middle of the store, and then announce (loudly, of course): “Mom, I have to poop!” I can hear the other shoppers’ snickers all the way to the bathrooms.

      Thanks for stopping by, Karen. I had fun with your comment tonight!

  15. Gina March 19, 2012 / 8:29 AM

    Very cute and familiar feeling. Love your entries. Really, really love the second one and the innocence lost.

    • jannatwrites March 19, 2012 / 7:19 PM

      Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my entries, Gina. I appeciate the visit 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

