The New Orleans Caboose

With this post, the New Orleans series waves goodbye.  The last of my vacation memories will be shared, clearing the way for more random thoughts and posts from me.  (You didn’t seriously think this would be the last train leaving the station did you?) 😉

JAZZ MUSIC

Love the combo of brass and woodwind instruments and the toe-tapping melodies.  The best part is Jazz music was everywhere – the two varieties I heard were “pre-recorded” and “live”…there’s something special about watching a live performance.

Steamboat Willie
A jazz funeral sounds like a fun way to go!

COLORFUL REMNANTS OF MARDI GRAS

The fun and whimsy of purple and green Mardi Gras decorations and colorful beads brightened otherwise gray and dreary days.  We visited the week after Mardi Gras, so we missed the crowds of rowdy people (oh, darn) yet we could still feel the festivity.  That’s a win-win for me!

ZAPP’S CHIPS

Crunchy, spicy, tasty heaven in a bag is what these kettle chips are.  Sure, we have kettle chips in Arizona, but I’ve never encountered flavors such as ‘Voodoo’ or ‘Spicy Cajun Crawtater’.  These flavors are as Louisiana as alligators!  I brought a few bags home for my boys (kids and hubby) and they loved them.  Over the weekend, I am stopping by a local specialty store to see if they carry Zapp’s chips.  If not, I will order a box online.  Yes, they are that good 🙂

.

BEIGNETS

Deep-fried dough covered in powdered sugar...yum. Some warm chocolate sauce for dipping would've been nirvana

We tried beignets at Café Beignet and Café Du Monde.  After our unofficial taste-test, our vote for favorite beignet was split – I preferred Café Beignet and my friend liked Café Du Monde better.  Either way, the result was the same:

Hey, Nancy - I ate an extra one for you, as promised!

Thanks for indulging me by sticking around as I shared my New Orleans trip.  Sunday, I’ll be back to my “regular programming”.  (Which may or may not be a good thing :))

P.S. – On a different topic: When a post is published on WordPress, an email goes to subscribers.  Does anyone know if an email would be sent to subscribers if I edit a published post?  I’ve noticed a few typos on recent posts and I’d love to fix them, but I don’t want subscribers to have to deal with another email.  I know, the easy solution would be to proofread better.  I’m working on getting more sleep, so that should help 😉

29 thoughts on “The New Orleans Caboose

  1. suzicate March 9, 2012 / 6:13 AM

    You got the full New Orleans experience. I agree, a jazz funeral does sound like the way to go!

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:04 PM

      I’ll have to see if they have jazz funerals in Phoenix…probably not 🙂

  2. nrhatch March 9, 2012 / 6:31 AM

    Thanks for eating an extra beignet for ME! I shall return the favor by eating an extra piece of chocolate for YOU!

    Enjoy the visit to NOLA. Jazzy & snazzy pics! 😀

    • nrhatch March 9, 2012 / 6:31 AM

      oops . . . enjoyed the visit

      • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:06 PM

        That’s what I read (it’s what counts, right?)

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:06 PM

      It was my pleasure to eat the beignet for you. Enjoy your extra piece of chocolate, Nancy 🙂

      I’m glad you came along on my New Orleans week recap!

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:08 PM

      Thanks! I liked seeing the colors everywhere, too. Appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge March 9, 2012 / 9:12 AM

    Voting for Café Beignet – but Du Monde is a must see. (And the chips are that good) Sounds like you had a great time!

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:09 PM

      We’re in agreement, Phil. I’m glad we went to both places. And those chips – I’m so excited that I might get my hands on a bag tomorrow. I know that sounds so pathetic 😉

  4. Debbie March 9, 2012 / 9:17 AM

    I’m thrilled you had such a great time! Oh, how I miss beignets (you can kind of recreate the experience by taking a can of Pillsbury biscuit dough, flattening out each biscuit and frying them, then smothering them in powdered sugar, but of course you’ll miss the ambiance!). As to your P.S., I wish I knew. I think we’re all prone to that, especially in our comments, but somehow we feel worse about it when it’s our own posts. I’ll be watching to see what answer you get to that one!

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:13 PM

      Thanks, Debbie! I’m glad you came along as I summarized the trip. Your version of the beignet might work, but I’m way too lazy to go that trouble. Besides, it’s another way I can coerce hubby into going with me next time. He loves just about anything with powdered sugar!

      It looks like I might be able to edit without it sending out another post. I’d hope someone on my subscriber list would tell me if they got duplicates!

  5. newwhitebear March 9, 2012 / 1:26 PM

    I vote colorful remnants of mardi gras, but all is amazing and betiful.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:14 PM

      I was drawn to those, too. (I had trouble narrowing down the pictures to just 3!) Thanks for following my New Orleans trip postings, Newwhitebear – I do appreciate it.

  6. Karen March 9, 2012 / 2:39 PM

    Sounds like you have a wonderful time and how could any beignet not be good. Thanks for sharing your photos.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:15 PM

      You do have a point – fried dough bathed in powdered sugar has to be tasty! Thanks for checking out the photos, Karen.

  7. pattisj March 9, 2012 / 2:48 PM

    Crazy names for chip flavors! Glad you sampled the local cuisine and liked it.
    You should be able to edit without publishing the post again. Go to Dashboard/Posts/All. Find the one(s) you want to edit from the list, hover over the title and you’ll have options show up Edit/Quick edit/Trash/View. Pick one of the edit options, do what you need to do and click update. It shouldn’t publish it again.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:17 PM

      I liked the chip names too, Patti. They are quite yummy!

      Thanks for the tip on the editing. I’m going to try it this weekend. I cringe when I think about how many typos I haven’t noticed yet 😉

  8. judithhb March 9, 2012 / 5:26 PM

    Thanks for sharing. I have only ever been to NO once and just loved it. It was before Katherine and I wonder whether it is very different now. And I loved beignets at Cafe du Monde – my vote if you are counting.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:19 PM

      This was my first visit to NO, so I can’t say how it has changed. The areas we were in looked like they had rebounded nicely. There were a couple boarded up buildings and I wondered if it had anything to do with Katrina.

      Thanks for your beignet vote, Judith. My friend will be happy to know she has company 🙂

      • judithhb March 9, 2012 / 9:49 PM

        Oh another blonde moment – Katrina not Katherine.

        • jannatwrites March 10, 2012 / 8:34 AM

          Very close, Judith. I knew what you meant!

  9. jeanne March 9, 2012 / 6:20 PM

    I am happy you enjoyed my beloved NOLA…thanks for the walk down memory lane.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks, Jeanne. I can see why you are so fond of the city!

  10. chlost March 9, 2012 / 7:48 PM

    Those beads look wonderful contrasting the background of the fence. I’ve never been to NO or Louisiana. I also think the idea of a jazz funeral sounds great!
    I sure hope that the edits don’t end up with another email. If so, I have been filling the inboxes of a lot of folks. Tell me what you find out. My bigger question is why the ads have been showing up uninvited on so many wordpress blog sites.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:26 PM

      I just loved all the iron work, mainly because we don’t see it where I live. I’m glad I’m not the only one intrigued by the jazz funeral, Chlost. The sign was so cute I couldn’t help but laugh!

      I haven’t noticed the ads. I wouldn’t be happy if they started showing up on my blog, that’s for sure! I’ll give it a shot and make the edits.

  11. Widdershins March 9, 2012 / 10:02 PM

    If you’ve already edited, nothing’s shown up … looks like you had a blast on your trip!

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2012 / 8:37 AM

      I just updated the last post (A few of My (New Orleans) Favorite Things). Thanks for reading about my trip, Widdershins!

Got an opinion? Share it!

