A Few Of My Favorite (New Orleans) Things

I took some of the suggestions from my blogging friends and found parts of New Orleans that I adored.  (Note:  Since we only had a day-and-a-half to experience the city, I didn’t get to check out all of the ideas I wanted….it just means I’ll have to visit again!)

As I put together this post of my favorite things in New Orleans, I couldn’t get Julie Andrews’ song, Favorite Things” out of my head.  If I had three hours to burn, I’d play the Sound of Music DVD right now.  It’s funny how things change.  As a child, that movie was definitely not one of my favorite things, but then again, I thought Chef Boyardee was the best cook.  Ever. 😉 

Without further rambling, I present some of the things I loved about New Orleans:

JACKSON SQUARE

There were many street vendors and performers in this area (that’s where we laughed with Bongo Man).  Even though there were quite a few people around, it didn’t feel elbow-to-elbow, which I like…people in my personal space, I don’t like!

MISSISSIPPI RIVER AND ARTILLERY PARK

We watched a few boats cross under the bridge, but couldn’t stay in one place for long.  We checked out Washington Artillery Park, street performers and of course, some of the nearby shops.  (I couldn’t go home without a few souvenirs!)

THE GARDEN DISTRICT

We took advantage of a Groupon deal for half-off a guided 2-hour tour). Honestly, I could have spent a few more hours gawking walking through the neighborhood.  I loved the architecture and iron work – it’s nothing like what we see in Arizona.  I have to wonder if the people living there get tired of tourists snapping pictures of their houses.  I mean, they can’t even sit on the front porch with a glass of lemonade without feeling like paparazzi lurked outside their gates.

I could stare at the detail fo the iron work all day. But not this day, as the tour guide kept us on a tight schedule!
This was my favorite house. The architecture is pretty and the paint is "wow!"

I know I said I would wrap up my New Orleans post today, but I lied changed my mind.  When I drafted the post, I ended up with 7 things I liked and 15 pictures…way too much for one post.  Rather than wrestle with the agony of trimming down my ‘likes’ list, I decided to wrap the list up in a Friday post.  Now if  only all of life’s snags were that easy to smooth…

16 thoughts on “A Few Of My Favorite (New Orleans) Things

  1. Carl D'Agostino March 8, 2012 / 6:20 AM

    A while back they passed an ordinance banning the boom box performers as they were blaring out all the traditional acts at St Charles Sq. Is that still working?

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2012 / 10:00 PM

      You know what, Carl, I think the ordinance must still be in place because I don’t recall hearing boomboxes. Lots of jazz bands, though 🙂

  2. suzicate March 8, 2012 / 8:28 AM

    The architecture of some of those old homes is amazing.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2012 / 10:01 PM

      I couldn’t get over all the iron work – such intricate detail.

  3. nrhatch March 8, 2012 / 9:49 AM

    Thanks, Janna. I’m enjoying this glimpse of NOLA through your eyes. 😀

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2012 / 10:02 PM

      Thanks for continuing to check it out, Nancy. I’ve had lots of fun posting about the trip. I don’t know what I’m going to write about over the summer when I’m not traveling 🙂

  4. Debbie March 8, 2012 / 11:14 AM

    Janna, those two old homes are beautiful and are among my favorite parts of NOLA, too! I don’t think I’d enjoying living there, for the very reasons you pointed out, but the architecture is exquisite. What fun it must be to roam all those nooks and crannies!

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2012 / 10:05 PM

      I’d be afraid to buy a house there because of all the tree roots. We saw lots of sidewalks destroyed by tree roots, so I imagine there are a few houses that have been invaded, too. At any rate, I wish they did tours of the insides of the houses, but I guess that really would be too much of an imposition 🙂

  5. pattisj March 8, 2012 / 6:01 PM

    I love that house too, Janna! Thanks for a peek into your tour.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2012 / 10:05 PM

      Thanks, Patti. We must have great taste 🙂

  6. sufilight March 9, 2012 / 1:02 AM

    I love architecture and noticed that when I moved to Oregon we don’t have this here. Those houses are awesome, I would be one of those annoying tourists taking a lot of pictures. 🙂 Thanks for the glimpse!

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 8:51 PM

      I’m glad I’m not alone on the picture-taking front, Sufilight! Our houses are very boring in comparison. Thanks for visiting today 🙂

  7. rerodan March 9, 2012 / 5:41 AM

    I would love to visit New Orleans and see the places Jazz legends like Louis Armstrong and Jelly roll morton grew in, see the clubs where they honed their music and perhaps be one of the first to spot a future legend, maybe witness a parade or a funeral with the band playing and dancing to oh when the saints go marching in.

    Sound of Music is one of those classics that cuts accross generations, I love it and other Rogers and Hammersteins musicals.

    Great post JannaTWrites

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:01 PM

      There’s lots of history there, Rerodan. I only got to see a fraction of it.

      Funny you should mention the parade though…we were actually in a Second Line parade after the reception for the wedding we attended…and the band played When The Saints Go Marching In. We were also pelted with strands of beads as we made our way down Bourbon Street. We waved our hankerchiefs as we did our best to not trip and fall in the middle of the street (the surfaces are not smooth and walking in high-heeled shoes is a bit tricky.)

      So you’re a Rogers and Hammerstein fan, huh? Great taste you’ve got!

  8. jeanne March 9, 2012 / 6:17 PM

    These are a few of favorite things…the architecture, the cathedral, the mississippi river..we visit NOLA together next time…

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2012 / 9:22 PM

      I bet you know a lot more places see in New Orleans, Jeanne. My older son really, really wants to do a swamp tour. I’d have gone but just ran out of time! Would love to go back….

Got an opinion? Share it!

