Leave No Trace

Leave No Trace

We head to nature

To get away,

To take a break

From our hectic lives.

We bring our comforts –

Coolers of drinks,

Stuff for snacking –

Chips, burgers and s’mores.

When it’s time to go

Some leave their mess;

A sign of disrespect

To both land and life.

Pieces of garbage circled in red
On our last camping trip, we gave the kids bags and asked them to fill the bags with trash that they found near our campsite.  This follows the Cub Scout rule of leaving an area better than we found it (also referred to as “Leave no trace.”)
Collected trash (doesn't include the bag of our own garbage)

While I appreciated the fact the boys kept busy while we packed up, it makes me sad they found this much trash.  In fact, there was still more to be retrieved, but we couldn’t stay any longer.  Is it fair that wildlife has to deal with our waste left behind?

The LORD God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it. (Genesis 2:15)

16 thoughts on “Leave No Trace

  1. suzicate February 26, 2012 / 7:47 AM

    I hate it when people litter. Good for your boys for taking care of nature.

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:52 PM

      I don’t like the littering either, SuziCate. I’m proud of my kiddos because I don’t have to remind them to not leave their trash. They’ll hand it to me rather than carry it, but that’s okay – we keep bags with us!

  2. Debbie February 26, 2012 / 8:40 AM

    What a good example you’re giving your boys! I think kids seem to know from an early age that littering is wrong. Wonder what happens to make them “forget” and grow into adults who litter??

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:54 PM

      We’ve seen older elementary school kids litter and I ask my kids if that’s okay. They tell me no, but I still keep an eye on them to see what they do. I think teenage years is where it starts to unravel for some. Thanks for stopping by, Debbie!

  3. nrhatch February 26, 2012 / 9:49 AM

    People are peculiar. 😦

    Thanks for cleaning up the mess they left behind. I’ve done the same with my nieces on the beach and am amazed and dismayed at what PIGS people can be.

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:56 PM

      It is sad, Nancy. I worry about the wildlife getting sick from trying to eat the trash we leave behind. They probably could’ve had an entire bag of just cigarette butts, except I told them to leave those – too nasty 🙂

  4. newwhitebear February 26, 2012 / 10:25 AM

    If all do as you, there is a cleaner world. But i’s not so.

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:57 PM

      We can still hope, Newwhitebear! Every person that catches on to the ‘no littering’ concept can make a difference.

  5. pattisj February 26, 2012 / 11:16 AM

    I’m glad you’re helping your boys to ‘leave a place better…’ It peeves me to see trash thrown from a vehicle. What are they thinking–that someone is going to come along behind and clean up after them?

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:59 PM

      I agree, Patty. Trash thrown from a moving vehicle irks me, too! I also see empty cups/soda cans in parking lots…is it really that difficult to carry it to the trashcans that are in front of every store? If people are caught littering here, it’s a $500 fine…the problem is, it is hard to catch them in the act.

  6. philosophermouseofthehedge February 26, 2012 / 9:00 PM

    Thanks you for helping – and having the kids see. People seem to forget they are guests in the forest and the critters’ house. Great post

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:59 PM

      We’re glad to do our part, Phil. We hope it might be contagious and others will join in 🙂

  7. Widdershins February 27, 2012 / 12:41 AM

    Some ‘oomins are real disappointment sometimes.

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 3:00 PM

      You said it, Widdershins. None of us are perfect, but we can try a bit harder to do the right thing.

  8. judithhb March 5, 2012 / 8:12 PM

    I do agree. I wrote a post some time ago about an old man and his dog that I saw every Thursday when I left my son’s house. He/they had a plastic grocery bag and stopped to pick up rubbish along the side of the road. If we all did a little what a big difference it would make.

    • jannatwrites March 6, 2012 / 12:44 AM

      I’ve seen people do this on hikes, too, Judith. I’m not usually prepared with extra bags – just the backpack to keep our own stuff in. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Got an opinion? Share it!

