Opportunity: Take It And Run

A missed Sunday blog post (gone camping.)  A Monday holiday post (Presidents Day – no work.)  A Tuesday that felt like a Monday (have you ever been late for work because you lost your car keys…and finally found them in the car’s trunk?)

It’s madness, I tell you!  I put the brakes on the crazy train by posting this on Thursday – a regularly scheduled post day.  Ahhhh, regularity is a good thing.

I have as many things on my to-do list as the Presidential candidates have barbs for their opponents.  But, unlike the candidates, I’m taking this opportunity to let it go.  All 3 blog posts I wanted to do for next week probably won’t get done.  I choose to view this as helping all of you out with your ‘to do’ lists because reading my blog posts (or deleting the email without reading) is one less thing you’ll have to manage 🙂

This is a big step for me because when I set goals for myself (like posting 3 days a week) I don’t like to fail.  However, I’ve banged my head against enough walls (figuratively speaking) to know that the result is a big fat headache – every time.

Aiding me in letting go, was Nancy’s blog post Killing Time – Building Tunnels to Nowhere because it made me think about how best to spend my time.  Unfortunately, some “tunnels to nowhere” can’t be eliminated until I win the lottery.

No way around the commute to work...

But others, such as obsessing over a missed post, or worse, writing something just for the sake of posting should go.

Yes, this messed up week is an opportunity to give my mind permission to focus on getting ready for my New Orleans trip and spending time with my family.  Don’t get too excited – I can’t stop writing completely any more than I can stop breathing…there will be at least one post 🙂

Speaking of opportunity, check out someone who knows how to seize an opportunity and run:

Older son caught a lizard and named it "Carmella" - 'her' first glimpse of opportunity
Before my son could release the lizard where he caught it, she took opportunity and ran up his sleeve with it!

 

24 thoughts on “Opportunity: Take It And Run

  1. Greever Williams (@GreeverWilliams) February 23, 2012 / 7:46 AM

    Hey janna – I agree, we’ve all got to relax every once in a while. Deadlines and goals are very important to give us something to work towards, but we have to be careful not to let them define us or force us into an unproductive routine. Take a chill. Enjoy your trip and your family. We’ll be here when you get back. ; )

    • jannatwrites February 23, 2012 / 8:20 PM

      ‘Take a chill’…those are words I need to listen to! I think sometimes I keep myself moving because I’m afraid that if I stop, I won’t get moving again. I should look at it differently, though: if I slow down, I just might pick things back up with more energy than before.

      Thanks for the great comment, Greever!

  2. suzicate February 23, 2012 / 8:22 AM

    Having Monday off (and family visiting for four days) has totally thrown me off schedule.

    • jannatwrites February 23, 2012 / 8:21 PM

      I’m glad I’m not alone, SuziCate. I love holidays (no work days) but the rest of the week is often out of whack!

  3. Carol Ann Hoel February 23, 2012 / 12:39 PM

    I’m glad you were able to be flexible when you needed to be. I’m learning everyday that my plans are subject to change without notice. I still make plans. Keep smiling. Our Sovereign God has it all under His control. We win. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites February 23, 2012 / 8:24 PM

      I’m not the best at navigating change. Sometimes I wonder if God shakes up life a little bit to make me bend a little more. I can imagine that your days are largely dependent on how your husband is doing. I’m glad today allowed you some time to stop by and visit, Carol Ann 🙂 (I’m still smiling :))

  4. pattisj February 23, 2012 / 1:11 PM

    Thanks for permission to skip writing a post today. 🙂 I couldn’t stay awake last night, and the video I planned to share didn’t work…you see a pattern here? So, why write just to write? I have plenty of blog reading to catch up on. Enjoy your trip!

    • jannatwrites February 23, 2012 / 8:27 PM

      I’ve had days like that, Patti. In fact, I had a Sunday post almost ready to go late Sunday night, but then I decided I didn’t like it. Sometimes our writing plans just don’t go as planned 🙂 Maybe tomorrow will be better, right?

  5. nrhatch February 23, 2012 / 1:43 PM

    Yay, you!

    Writing is great, posting posts is fun, sharing our thoughts is inspirational . . . BUT (you knew that was coming, didn’t you?) . . .we cannot allow the “tale” to wag the dog. 😉

    We must decide on a moment to moment basis how to spend THIS moment . . . and THIS moment . . . and THIS moment.

    Have fun planning your trip! Toss me a beignet when you get to NOLA. 😀

    • jannatwrites February 23, 2012 / 8:33 PM

      ‘Tale’ wagging the dog….hehehehe. Good one, Nancy! I got a Sunday post done and had another one I wanted to do, but simply ran out of time. You know what? It’ll still be here when I get back! How about if I just eat an extra beignet for you? 🙂 I’ve never had a beignet (or even seen one), so I’m curious.

      • nrhatch February 24, 2012 / 9:07 PM

        Excellent ~ if you eat both . . . I don’t have to figure out a way to burn off the extra calories. 😀

        • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:50 PM

          We tried beignets at two places, but my friend and I disagreed about which was better. I thought of you as I sampled, Nancy 🙂

  6. newwhitebear February 23, 2012 / 2:11 PM

    A nice post with a beutiful photo.
    When do you win lottery?
    Best wishes

    • jannatwrites February 23, 2012 / 8:34 PM

      Thank you, Newwhitebear. I would love to win the lottery, but I’m afraid I don’t play nearly enough to have a very good chance of that ever happening 🙂

  7. Tori Nelson February 23, 2012 / 3:42 PM

    Ahhh, your post is actually a huge relief to me. I’m having a week in which I have managed to stay a million things behind.

    • jannatwrites February 23, 2012 / 8:35 PM

      You’re sure posting a lot for being so behind. I’m so far behind, I’ve read two of your posts but haven’t had a chance to comment yet. Just relax 🙂

  8. chlost February 23, 2012 / 7:51 PM

    If blogging is no longer fun but becomes a chore, that is the time to pack it in.

    The picture of the lizard scurrying up that sleeve gave me the shivers. Not a fan of crawly things.

    Have fun in New Orleans. Never been there. Heard it’s a blast and beautiful in many different ways.

    • jannatwrites February 23, 2012 / 8:45 PM

      Oh no, blogging is still fun – the hard part is putting the writing aside to do the other stuff that has to get done! My mom didn’t care for the lizard picture, either. She’s afraid of them!

      Thanks for visiting, Chlost. I will share pictures in future posts at some point (I can’t say how long it will take me to get the pictures organized, though :))

  9. Widdershins February 23, 2012 / 11:10 PM

    Go Carmella … give him a little nip too while you’re there, just to make sure he puts you back where he found you!

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:47 PM

      Carmella was a good girl – no nipping happened – and she got put back where he found her. We had to take off his jacket and shirt to get her, though!

  10. Debbie February 24, 2012 / 11:42 AM

    Thankfully, my son never brought a live lizard home — eewww, those things creep me out! Enjoy taking a little siesta now and then; it re-charges you and whets the appetites of your readers. I myself took Wed. and Thurs. off this week, and it was grand (the playing “catch up”, though, is pretty rough!)

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:49 PM

      My older son catches tons of lizards but he always lets them go. I’m fine with that, but I do get a little squeamish when they detach their tails and he shows me that – the tails still move on their own. Gross!

      P.S. I feel you on the playing catch up, Debbie!

  11. pattyabr February 26, 2012 / 7:19 AM

    all is well. no worries. love the lizard.

    • jannatwrites March 1, 2012 / 2:51 PM

      Thanks, Patty. I like lizards – I think they’re cute. Snakes, on the other hand, scare me!

Got an opinion? Share it!

