Rising Sun

When my husband first told me he’d scheduled a family hike with friends – at 7AM on Sunday morning, I groaned and told him to wake me up when he got home.  After thinking about it, I decided the exercise would do me some good, and help counteract my consumption of foods I should avoid.  (I love the Girl Scouts, but their cookies aren’t doing my waistline any favors :))

By getting out of bed and onto the trail, I was rewarded with a beautiful sunrise, as well as a fun surprise when we crested one of the hills…I’ll share pictures of that next week.

Thanks for sharing the sunrise with me.  Have a beautiful Thursday!

28 thoughts on “Rising Sun

    • jannatwrites February 16, 2012 / 10:19 PM

      Thanks, Victoria. I’m glad you stopped by to share the sunrise 🙂

  1. Tori Nelson February 16, 2012 / 7:53 AM

    Lovely. This almost makes me want to wake up a little earlier!

    • jannatwrites February 16, 2012 / 10:20 PM

      Almost…but not quite 🙂 It’s a trade off, Tori, and sleep is awfully tempting!

  2. suzicate February 16, 2012 / 8:26 AM

    Absolutely stunning…thank you for sharing, Janna.

    • jannatwrites February 16, 2012 / 10:21 PM

      Thanks, SuziCate! I’m glad you enjoyed the pics 🙂

  3. Debbie February 16, 2012 / 8:51 AM

    Lovely, Janna. Shots you’d have never gotten, had you stayed in bed!

    • jannatwrites February 16, 2012 / 10:22 PM

      That is true, Debbie. I don’t mind the hikes once I’m out there, but the idea of going makes me not want to bother. Strange 🙂

  4. Carol Ann Hoel February 16, 2012 / 8:59 AM

    Nature is beautiful to behold. Your photos make me pause to remember sunrises. We live near downtown Dallas, so sunrises like the one you saw and captured in photos are not easily discovered. The horizon is cluttered with tall buildings. I’m a city person and a country gal all tucked into one. I won’t complain about the city skyline, but I really miss the beauty of the sun appearing on a horizon of earth and trees. In Ohio country, as far as your eyesight could wander, the sky met the earth as the sun rays rested on fields of grain. Forgive my long comment, and thank you for blessing us with a view of the sunrise you witnessed.

    • jannatwrites February 16, 2012 / 10:30 PM

      I bet Ohio does have pretty sunrises – and sunsets, too. I like the convenience of the big city, but like the beauty in a landscape that’s relatively untouched by man. Downtown Dallas would be too crowded for me, I think…but downtown areas often look pretty at night with all the lights.

      Your comment wasn’t that long, Carol. I enjoyed reading it! I’m glad you were able to take a moment and enjoy the sunrise pictures 🙂

  5. newwhitebear February 16, 2012 / 12:35 PM

    Your photos describe rising sun better than words. They ‘re beutiful.
    Greetings

    • jannatwrites February 16, 2012 / 10:31 PM

      Thank you so much, Newwhitebear. That’s exactly why I didn’t bother to caption the photos 🙂

  6. chlost February 16, 2012 / 9:12 PM

    That’s a beautiful morning, but too bad you weren’t able to enjoy it from a porch with a cup of coffee in hand….. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 16, 2012 / 10:33 PM

      That sounds nice, Chlost. The only problem is, I can’t see the sunrise very well from my house…too many other houses blocking the view. What I need is nice house on a hill 🙂 (Okay, that’s not really a need, but a girl can dream!)

  7. nrhatch February 16, 2012 / 9:35 PM

    Beautiful shots, Janna. But I find that sunsets work better for me. 😀

    • jannatwrites February 16, 2012 / 10:36 PM

      I would love to catch a sunset, Nancy. Evenings are so busy with dinner and kids’ homework, I can’t seem to see one. It doesn’t help that I would have to drive somewhere with fewer buildings to get a nice view of the horizon 🙂 One of these years I might sneak up on a sunset…you never know!

  8. Widdershins February 16, 2012 / 11:43 PM

    Beautiful sunrise. I’m always up at the crack of nine, so I miss most of ’em!

    • JannatWrites February 20, 2012 / 12:35 AM

      Thanks, Widdershins! The crack of nine….I’m envious. I’m always up before 6AM because of work or children. I’m used to it though 🙂

  9. Pattyabr February 18, 2012 / 9:46 PM

    Nice pictures I’m glad you went on the hike because it looks like it was worthwhile

    • JannatWrites February 20, 2012 / 12:36 AM

      It was a nice hike and I’m glad I went. Thanks for checking out the sunrise pics, Patty!

  10. pattisj February 19, 2012 / 3:10 PM

    7:00 a.m. Ha! You see how many days it took me just to get to your blog. lol Your pictures are wonderful, I could possibly get up for that…if I got to bed at a decent hour. 🙂

    • JannatWrites February 20, 2012 / 12:38 AM

      Getting to bed at a decent hour is the hard part…even worse if I have to get up before the crack of dawn. Thanks for visiting, Patti – a sunrise is still a sunrise several days later 🙂

  11. Connor @ Citiesofthemind.org February 19, 2012 / 3:57 PM

    There really is nothing quite like the world at dawn. My life has been one long war between my deep appreciation of mornings and my deep-seated desire to sleep through them.

    • JannatWrites February 20, 2012 / 12:39 AM

      Your comment made me laugh, Connor. You do have quite the struggle there…if it were me, I’m pretty sure sleeping in would win most of the time 🙂

  12. cuhome April 4, 2012 / 4:24 PM

    You’ve been nominated for the Tell Me About Yourself Award! Please see my blog for details! Congratulations!!

    • jannatwrites April 4, 2012 / 8:23 PM

      Thanks, Cuhome! That is very nice of you. I’ve not heard of this one, so I’ll stop by to check it out. (Though I’m not sure anyone really wants to know more about me :lol:)

      • cuhome April 5, 2012 / 7:02 AM

        You’re fascinating ~~ I am sure we would like to hear more about you! Pleeease?!!

        • jannatwrites April 5, 2012 / 8:19 PM

          I hardly think I’m fascinating, but, I’ll see what I can come up with anyway…

Got an opinion? Share it!

