Poem: Now He Wants a Frog

Now He Wants A Frog

At the age of six

My son begged for a kitten.

We brought home two-

They came as a set.

He promised to care for them,

But it didn’t take long

For complaints to begin,

                                                            For boredom to creep in.

                    And now he wants a frog.

By age seven,

He wanted a fish.

For a year, I said ‘no’-

The two Bettas were a gift.

Before his ninth birthday,

He angled for a lizard,

And then a turtle –

I still said “no way.”

                    And now he wants a frog

I gave this warning

To friends and family:

“If you give a gift that breathes,

It will live with you – not me.”

Sly son took hubby to see the frogs,

To which Dad gave a ‘maybe.’

“But they were kind of cute.”

Hubby said defensively.

                                           And now, it seems, he wants a frog.

36 thoughts on “Poem: Now He Wants a Frog

  1. suzicate February 2, 2012 / 12:33 PM

    Frogs are cute…but if they are alive and not toy stuffed ones, they’re much cuter at someone else’s house!

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 6:27 PM

      That’s what I’m thinking, SuziCate! I used to play with them in out in the wild when I was a kid, but I have yet to see a frog out in nature around here 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 6:30 PM

      Thanks, Richard! Yes, I wrote the poem a few days ago. As for the photos, the kitty picture is the only one I took.

  2. Sandi Ormsby February 2, 2012 / 12:41 PM

    Nicely written! My son brought home something that’s supposed to turn into a beetle. The Science guy visited the school, and handed out bug catchers and something that looked like a catepillar. We weren’t told how to care for it and my son said to just “leave it”

    I think it died, but was told it takes awhile. Now, we actually are looking for the bug collector glass thingy to inspect it for life. We can’t find it. Both my hubby and I are asking each other where it is…neither of us recall tossing it out…I hope it isn’t hidden in the kids’ room somewhere.

    gotta run, I gotta go look for it now…

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 6:33 PM

      Oh my goodness, Sandi, what a buggy nightmare! My son has brought in ants in a ziploc baggie, worms and crawly things that I can’t identify. All except the worms were evicted immediately. I let him keep the worms in a cup for a week or so and then convinced him to put him back ‘home’ in the garden.

      I hope you are able to locate your device to inspect the beetle creature. As long as the kids aren’t distraught over the possible loss, it’ll be okay. If you have to go in their rooms to look for it, I pray for your safe return 🙂

  3. Carl D'Agostino February 2, 2012 / 1:14 PM

    Best pray he don’t take a hankerin’ for no elephant. They produce 400 pounds of poop a day!

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 8:06 PM

      That’s a lot of doo, Carl! No worries about the elephant…the HOA would have a “cow” if we got an elphant 🙂

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge February 2, 2012 / 2:11 PM

    Frogs are great – if they live outside and eat mosquitoes….outdoor cats seem to be entertained by them….the pretty non native ones? Really should stay in their habitat or zoo..does a zoo close by offer an “adopt an animal” option?….worked for us…we got to visit – it was happier there.

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 8:09 PM

      Thanks for the suggestion, Phil. There is a zoo in town, but I don’t know if they offer such a program. I’m kind of hoping he will just move quietly on to something else!

  5. jonesingafter40 February 2, 2012 / 2:58 PM

    Sounds like a frogtastic idea for hubby and son to experience together. Added benefit is that you can start a frog blog. Speaking from the frog’s point of view, of course. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 8:14 PM

      I just don’t see my husband researching how to care for frogs, but I guess they could both surprise me. My husband can do the frog blog – he can be all about frogs 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Jonesing!

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 8:15 PM

      Why thank you, Clar. I appreciate you stopping by today 🙂

  6. nrhatch February 2, 2012 / 4:10 PM

    Awwwww . . . mooooooommmmm!

    C’mon. I’m sure he’ll take care of catching and feeding it flies . . . and taking it for a walk (or hop) around the neighborhood. 😉

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 8:19 PM

      I could picture him saying my name like that. Just got a shiver…

      My biggest concern is that the two active cats would “play” with the frog (my cat is too old and fat to care.) I now have a funny mental picture of him walking the frog on a leash – thanks, Nancy!

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 8:19 PM

      Thanks for reading, Momsomniac. Always good to see you drop by 🙂

  7. Debbie February 2, 2012 / 5:21 PM

    Darling poem, Janna. And so very true! Kids are notorious for being just like us and fixating on something they think will make them happy (especially when they’re told “No.”) I don’t envy you the probability that, with Dad weakening, you’re going to be out-numbered, ha!

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 8:22 PM

      I’m already outnumbered, Debbie! think I know how to fix it for hubby – the cost of all the supplies. He couldn’t believe how much I spent on getting a home set up for the two $4 Betta fish. Wait til he addes up the costs involved with creating a proper frog habitat. Then, it’s not me saying no, it’s our middle class circumstances 🙂

  8. Carol Ann Hoel February 2, 2012 / 8:39 PM

    That’s too funny! Ha! Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 10:01 PM

      Thanks, Carol! I’m glad you stopped by today 🙂

  9. totsymae1011 February 2, 2012 / 9:00 PM

    Using the chain of command. Smart kid. He gave you so many opportunities to say yes. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 10:03 PM

      I guess you’re right Totsymae…I’m the “No Ma’am” and hubby is the “Yes, Man”. But I did make it clear that I will not be taking care of a frog! Thanks for visiting 🙂

  10. pattisj February 3, 2012 / 12:03 AM

    Interesting timeline! lol

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2012 / 8:51 PM

      I’m almost scared to wonder what he will wish for next, Patti!

  11. pattyabr February 3, 2012 / 1:53 PM

    love the poem :0

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2012 / 8:51 PM

      Thank you, Patty. I’m glad you enjoyed 🙂

  12. rumpydog February 3, 2012 / 9:31 PM

    Animals are living things and deserve to be properly cared for. If not, then it is responsible to say no… and mean it.

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2012 / 10:42 PM

      You are correct, Rumpydog. When my son ended up with the Bettas, I spent many hours researching their care. It’s our joke that the $4 Bettas cost us over $100 after we had all the equipment (tank supplies, testing strips, etc.) Thanks for stopping by and sharing your comment 🙂

      P.S. To clarify, the Bettas were a gift from someone outside our house…my “no” never changed, and I have since let everyone know he cannot accept any more live gifts…

  13. sonsothunder February 4, 2012 / 6:47 AM

    So, let me get the poem straight…Or, the last line anyway. Am I correct in perceiving the (He) in the line:

    “And now, it seems, he wants a frog”. Is speaking of hubby?

    Oh never mind…lovely poem either way…and don’t look to me for any advice where reptiles are concerned… My mind always goes in the direction of “Kitten Eating” reptilians when the word frog comes up…

    But, then my minds ability to differentiate reality from politics ain’t all it’s “croaked” up to be either…Bless You
    paul

    • jannatwrites February 4, 2012 / 2:59 PM

      Yep, it was referring to hubby. But only joking, of course. Yes, hubby thought they were cute all right, but he’s nowhere close to buying one. I just wish he wouldn’t have said ‘maybe’ because my son doesn’t realize that means ‘probably not gonna happen.’

      ‘Croaked up to be’…hahahaha.

      Thanks for visiting, Paul!

  14. Neeks February 4, 2012 / 7:02 AM

    Wonderful poem, creative and funny! They all want the kitten, the puppy, etc and they love them for two and a half days. After that they won’t feed, walk or wash them or change the litter box without pouting…and the pet is only “theirs” when someone comes over and says oh, isn’t he cute! Huh? No I’m not jaded… lol

    • jannatwrites February 4, 2012 / 3:00 PM

      Thanks, Neeks.

      You’re not jaded…you’re spot on! They only like the cute, cuddly part of owning a pet. They try to overlook the work part, but we won’t let them get away with that 🙂

  15. judithhb February 6, 2012 / 5:49 PM

    Fortunately my children only wanted dogs and I nearly forgot, once Cate wanted a horse but as we never knew where we would live, that was rapidly vetoed. But guess who got to look after, feed and walk the dogs? Stay strong!

    • jannatwrites February 6, 2012 / 11:17 PM

      A horse is easy for us to veto – the Homeowner’s Association won’t allow it 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your comment and support, Judith. I feel very strong in my “no” to the frog!

Got an opinion? Share it!

