Blogger Intelligence

The readers of my blog are highly intelligent people.*  You guys are there to offer wise advice on parenting, spirituality, or life in general.  You stop by to write nice things, or poke fun at me when I do something dumb.  And to top it off, you’re closet botanists, too!

Back in November, I introduced you to a plant known only as “Foliage.”  Chlost told me the plant would get a long white flower.  Widdershins suggested it could be a Calla Lilly.  Jeanne responded that Foliage was a spathiphyllum and backed up the prophecy that it one day would flower.

Lo and behold, we have a flower:

Transplant survivor (thriving in a larger pot)

That’s right folks.  Despite the dangers of living in our house, a plant has stayed alive for over two months.  There is an odd brown spot on the flower petal, but other than that, “Foliage” seems healthy.

The same dangers that threaten a plant, also threaten anything pretty or delicate.  That is why I’m taking extra precautions to protect this teapot that we recently bought from an estate auction:

Is that the sound of breaking clay I hear?

These beaded baskets aren’t necessarily pretty or delicate, but I liked them anyway.  I’ve had to be vigilant in watching over them, shooing away curious predators on several occasions.

Who knew beads and wire would be so tasty, er...enticing

No, it’s not the children.  Although they can be destructive, they aren’t the biggest threat to the safety of breakable objects in my house.  This is the #1 menace:

Moi? Destructive?

Lizzy.  Does anyone else see the resemblance to the Cheshire cat?

Never trust a smiling cat (image via dragonart.com)
Why, little ol' me is harmless. I'll be good...I promise
Let's shake on it. I'll give you four and a dewclaw!

* Although there is a correlation between reader intelligence and reading this blog, the cause and effect relationship has not been established.  Baseline reader IQ levels are not known and the author of this blog is not responsible for claims of declining IQs as a result of exposure to the content.

Do you feel smarter now?

22 thoughts on “Blogger Intelligence

  1. Carl D'Agostino January 31, 2012 / 5:35 AM

    Seems like your teapot and plant make a good team.

    • jannatwrites January 31, 2012 / 6:20 PM

      So far, neither are broken, so things are good. Thanks for stopping by, Carl.

    • jannatwrites January 31, 2012 / 6:21 PM

      Thanks, Victoria! She is cute, but she’s a curious little stinker sometimes 🙂

  2. suzicate January 31, 2012 / 7:37 AM

    I bought a call lily one year at church and planted it…it did not bloom for three years and I transplanted it and WOW a flower emerged! Love the teapot and beaded bowls….I can do without kitty claws though!

    • jannatwrites January 31, 2012 / 6:24 PM

      I guess the calla needed better soil, SuziCate. Nothing like a finicky plant. (I’m impressed that you kept it alive for three years – I would have killed it for sure!)

  3. Debbie January 31, 2012 / 2:02 PM

    I think I’m allergic to “Foliage’ and others of its ilk — had one in an office I used to work in, and it made my eyes water and me sneeze! Glad it did what it’s supposed to do (put forth a flower), though. I don’t even want to think about how you got that last picture of kitty and her claws — those things could draw blood, not to mention wreaking havoc with your china and beaded baskets!

    • jannatwrites January 31, 2012 / 6:29 PM

      Plant allergies are never fun in an office because you can’t get away. (I found this out when my husband sent flowers to work for our anniversary and by the end of the day, I could barely breathe.)

      Actually, I just got lucky with the claw shot. Lizzy had been curled up in a chair and got curious about the camera, so she stretched before coming to check it out. That stretch is when I snapped the picture.

      Thanks for stopping by, Debbie!

  4. jeanne January 31, 2012 / 6:17 PM

    Could those kitty claws have anything to do with the brown spot on foliage? Probably not…gosh I feel smart!

    • jannatwrites January 31, 2012 / 6:33 PM

      I was ready to blame it on Lizzy, but I didn’t see any tears in the petal, so I guess she’s off the hook 🙂

      You are smart, Jeanne. I’m glad you share your knowledge with me!

  5. nrhatch January 31, 2012 / 8:40 PM

    It’s A~L~I~V~E . . . well done.

    Thanks for the smiles. The last pic is purr-fect!

    • jannatwrites January 31, 2012 / 8:46 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I’m cautiously optimistic about Foliage’s chances of long-term survival.

      Lizzy was a great model last night 🙂

  6. Widdershins February 1, 2012 / 1:08 AM

    My! What big claws she has! … Beautiful flower!

    • jannatwrites February 1, 2012 / 9:45 PM

      Yeah, I need to trim them, but she bites me when I do it. Thanks for stopping by, Widdershins 🙂

  7. sonsothunder February 1, 2012 / 5:17 AM

    Wut ya mean a (closet botanist )? I haven’t grown wacky weed since the late 70’s…
    Love the Tea Pot..
    Bless You
    paul

    • jannatwrites February 1, 2012 / 9:48 PM

      Hey, I don’t know anything about wacky weed, Paul. I was thinking of legal garden plants 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and making me laugh…you have no idea what an accomplishment that is today!

  8. Connor @ Citiesofthemind.org February 1, 2012 / 6:57 AM

    My parents have one that, when spurned or rebuked, will immediately search out something fragile in a high place and knock it down. I know an evil kitty grin when I see one!

    • jannatwrites February 1, 2012 / 9:52 PM

      Growing up, I had a Siamese mix cat that was like that. Ornery little thing was so aggravating, but she had the most personality! Lizzy has a bit of her spunk, but isn’t nearly as frustrating. Thanks for stopping by, Connor.

  9. Jackie Paulson February 1, 2012 / 7:03 PM

    Congrat on helping the plant live, I had to finally give up on those, with the cats and all. Your cat with the paws is so but the last one, what a great photo…my cats don’t seem to want me to take pic…LOL

    • jannatwrites February 5, 2012 / 8:09 AM

      Thanks, Jackie. But the plant is probably surviving because my son is taking care of it – not me. Lizzy is a curious girl. Unless I sneak up on her, or click fast, the pics end up being close-ups of the her nose 🙂

  10. pattisj February 1, 2012 / 10:48 PM

    Yay, a blossom! I don’t know if it’s the blogging or the scouting that has brought forth your green thumb. Or YOU are getting smarter from reading all our blogs. Your kitty does have a nice smile. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 2, 2012 / 8:33 PM

      I wish I could take credit for the plant’s life, Patti…but I can’t. My son has been taking care of it.

      I have learned some things reading blogs, so I guess I am a bit smarter these days. I still have so far to go, though 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

