Walnut Canyon (in pictures)

Over MLK weekend, we went to Walnut Canyon National Monument in Northern Arizona.  (This was part of the trip we made for my younger son’s birthday wish.)  We even got an added bonus of showing up on a “fee free” day, so the hike didn’t cost us a dime.  I love that price!

The fun thing about this national monument is that it was a hands-on experience.  The hike was just under a mile and we actually got to walk through cliff dwellings that natives lived in hundreds of years ago.  The kids kept calling dibs on different rooms, which is funny because I don’t think they realized there’s no TV or internet connection in any of them.

If you’re ever in Arizona, it is definitely worth a visit.

I pared down my bazillion (okay around 60 or so) pictures to give you a glimpse of the canyon.  Even my narrowed down selection was too much for one post, so I’ll share more tomorrow.  I hope you enjoy it 🙂

I hope I can make it back up the stairs!
Good news is, you don't have to paint the walls...
The original "open floorplan" concept
This probably wasn't ENERGY STAR Certified
Neighbors were just a shout (across the canyon) away
I have no idea what kind of bird this is, but he gave us a few seconds 'modeling' time

Thanks for visiting the Canyon with me.  Have a beautiful Tuesday 🙂

29 thoughts on “Walnut Canyon (in pictures)

  1. suzicate January 24, 2012 / 6:34 AM

    I love exploring ancient ruins; so exciting. Thank you for sharing the photographs. I’ll have to let Dirt Man read this so he can google it and add it to his “places to check out” list. The bird does look like he’s prancing for your entertainment!

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:18 PM

      Glad you liked it, SuziCate. I was surprised to learn how many national parks and monuments are in the area (that’s in tomorrow’s post.) I bet you guys could find lots of places to explore!

      The bird was funny. There were about 10 others, but they flew away. I couldn’t get very close to this one and only got a couple shots in before he took off.

  2. cuhome January 24, 2012 / 9:05 AM

    Those rock formations are so gorgeous, and when I think how LONG it took for them to form,it’s mindboggling!!! Thanks for sharing!

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:19 PM

      I like the natural formations, too, Janet. Most of the time, the full beauty just can’t be captured in a photo 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you are recovering nicely!

  3. Sandi Ormsby January 24, 2012 / 12:04 PM

    is that bird a type of Road Runner? they like desert areas and if he ran really fast on his legs vs. flying…probably.

    Nice rock formations! I’m thinking the park could earn extra money by allowing people to “camp” in the sites have the park arrange a cook-out and hang out with other campers around the fire…then climb up to your dwelling area…using your flashlights and the light of the moon.

    You know, the San Diego Wild Animal park allows people to camp just outside of the Lions area. (the Lions are fenced in, of course) but during the evening is when they are active most. The waiting list is extensive and almost impossible to attend. it’s a great fund-raiser for the park.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:30 PM

      This bird definitely favored flying to running. I saw a roadrunner once in the desert valley. Well, I actually saw a brown blur, so I’m only guessing here!

      I love the idea of being able to camp there – that would be so fun! I know they’d never do it because it’s a long way down to the canyon bottom, and I’m sure someone would fall and lawsuits would follow.

      As long as the lions are well fed and the fences are secure, camping there would be an exciting experience. Waking up to a lion’s roar in the middle of the night would be a bit frightening, though! I’d be curious how many years it takes to get in.

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your comment, Sandi!

  4. Carol Ann Hoel January 24, 2012 / 1:36 PM

    Thank you for sharing. What beautiful sights to see!

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:33 PM

      Glad you “visited” the Canyon with me, Carol 🙂

  5. Carl D'Agostino January 24, 2012 / 2:42 PM

    In Miami we have condo canyons. Not nearly so wonderful as this.

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:35 PM

      Yeah, city condo canyons aren’t that great, Carl. The ancient tribes knew how to pick the best views, that’s for sure!

  6. Debbie January 24, 2012 / 5:20 PM

    I’ve never been to Walnut Canyon, so thank you for taking me along virtually — it looks terribly interesting, and I like that tufted bird in your last photo!

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:40 PM

      It’s much better in person, Debbie! Thankfully, this was the only ‘wildlife’ we saw (at the beginning of the trail, a sign warned of mountain lions.)

  7. jeanne January 24, 2012 / 6:23 PM

    We visited Mesa Verde in Colorado…the cliff dwellings were amazing! Thanks for sharing Walnut Canyon…

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:42 PM

      I haven’t been to Mesa Verde, but I do hope to explore more of the Colorado Plateau. One of these days, I’ll get there 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Jeanne!

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:52 PM

      Hmmm…the Stellar Jay looks pretty close. (Thanks for the link, Patti.) I have a side view of it…I’ll add it to the post I scheduled for tomorrow so you can see it from another angle!

      We did see a little bit of snow. If things ever slow down, I’d planned to write about our snow hunt and the most uncooperative Mother Nature 🙂 There was enough snow that my little guy did not leave disappointed.

      • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:58 PM

        Well Patti, I just discovered all my pictures after December 31st are gone (including my son’s birthday!) I guess I won’t be posting that other bird picture after all.

        • pattisj January 24, 2012 / 10:39 PM

          Oh, no. Sorry about the pictures. I hope you didn’t catch that from me! I’m glad your son got enough snow experience to be happy.

        • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 11:08 PM

          I’m just sick about the pictures – especially the birthday. He did enjoy the little bit of snow we found – but those pics are gone too 😦

  8. pattyabr January 24, 2012 / 9:41 PM

    nice pics not sure about the name of the blue bird. looks a little road runner like not sure.

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2012 / 9:54 PM

      Thanks, Patty! I’m definitely not a bird expert – the only bird I can identify with certainty is a pigeon. Thanks for stopping by today!

  9. sonsothunder January 25, 2012 / 3:05 AM

    Great shots…love the history…was this anywhere near ‘Sedona’?
    Bless You
    paul

    • jannatwrites January 25, 2012 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks, Paul! Walnut Canyon is pretty close to Flagstaff, which is about an hour northeast of Sedona. During the summer, we do quite a bit of hiking in Sedona and the surrounding areas. The scenery makes for great pictures, that’s for sure 🙂

  10. nrhatch January 25, 2012 / 9:29 PM

    Gorgeous shots. Not sure that I’ve ever been to Walnut Canyon . . . but I have been to Tuzigoot and another place with cliffdwellers (maybe Mesa Verde?).

    Thanks for sharing your hike with us. Did you son see snow on the trip?

    • jannatwrites January 25, 2012 / 10:00 PM

      Thanks, Nancy. I think Mesa Verde is another cliffdweller site. I’ve never heard of Tuzigoot…I’ll have to check it out.

      My son did get to play in some snow. We had to look for it, though. We left on Sunday morning, and wouldn’t you know, it snowed on Sunday night!

      • jannatwrites January 25, 2012 / 10:29 PM

        This was very close to where we were. We’ll definitely need to check it out when we make it up there again. Thanks for the link, Nancy!

  11. philosophermouseofthehedge January 26, 2012 / 11:45 AM

    That bird looks pretty determined to remind you that you are guests in his house. Enjoyed the photos and all the hilarious captions.

    • jannatwrites January 26, 2012 / 10:07 PM

      He was a fun little bird, but he only stayed put for about twenty seconds or so. Thanks for stopping by, Phil 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

