When The Kids Are Away, The Parents Will…Be Lazy

Letting go can be a good thing, when we’re talking about breaking down fears or barriers that keep us from growing and learning.  Letting go can mean granting forgiveness and burying a grudge.  As I’ve gotten older, it’s easier to let go of society’s expectations.

Basically, letting go is freedom.

Since Christmas, I have been exercising the freedom to let myself go (that’s about the only exercise I’ve gotten, except for the 4.5 mile hike my husband tried to kill took me on over the weekend.)  This type of letting go is what interventions are made of. ..if I’d bother to get up and let my loved ones in.  Good thing my kids aren’t here to see it 🙂

My kids have only been home for one night since Christmas because they are living it up at their grandparents’ houses.  The impact of our temporarily childless state is most evident when it comes to meals.  Here’s a conversation we had one night last week:

Me:  What do you want for dinner tonight?

Hubby: Whatever you want to fix.

Me:  I don’t want to make anything.

Hubby:  How about peanut butter and jelly?

Me:  Too complicated.

Hubby:  How about nothing?

Me:  Sounds good.

Brownies for dinner? If you bring them to me...

We’ve been raising our children with the idea that they need us to survive.  Now we realize that we need our kids.  It seems without them, we are inclined to do little more than sleep – and chow down on snacks before bed.  We’ve turned into hypcrites (“no, you can’t have snacks unless you finish your dinner.”)  But the kids don’t need to know, do they?

There are pros and cons to our children’s absence:

Pros:

  1. I can sleep in until whenever I want on weekends and days off
  2. I have not sat through one kiddie TV show for over a week
  3. I can have uninterrupted phone calls
  4. The kids’ bathroom is still clean
  5. Pajamas are my new uniform
Pajamas past noon: required for lazy parents

Cons:

  1. I miss them (after they get home and start fighting, I’m likely to forget this)
  2. It’s way too quiet
  3. I eat better when they’re here (ever try to sneak a brownie with a kid in the house?  Nearly impossible.)
  4. The cats are lonely (it’s hard to type a blog post with a cat in your face)
My older son's cat supervises my (lack of) writing

5.  The trash and recycle bin need taken outside

I can't take out the trash...I'm in my pajamas!

Is anyone else feeling lazy, or is it just me?

23 thoughts on “When The Kids Are Away, The Parents Will…Be Lazy

  1. pattisj January 3, 2012 / 9:19 AM

    It’s called hibernation in this part of the country. Great dinner idea! I haven’t had PB&J in a long while.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2012 / 7:45 PM

      Glad I could help with dinner ideas, Patti 🙂 Hibernation sounds wonderful right now. *Yawn*

  2. becomingcliche January 3, 2012 / 9:38 AM

    My daughter is not allowed to leave the house for more than two days at a time. That’s how long it takes for her cat to start driving me CRAZY with her neediness. When it’s time for the kid to go to college, I guess we’ll be paying tuition for the cat, too.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2012 / 7:47 PM

      I may have to institute such a rule at my house. I haven’t thought about what to do with the cats when college comes up. Oh boy…

      Thanks for stopping by, Becoming Cliche!

  3. suzicate January 3, 2012 / 10:44 AM

    Ha, enjoy! I had a few of those lazy days myself…pure bliss!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2012 / 7:47 PM

      It was a rude awakening to have to wake up at 5AM today AND get dressed AND go to work. It was nice while it lasted, SuziCate!

  4. Carl D'Agostino January 3, 2012 / 10:58 AM

    I’ve tried to let go of things. Fears, resentments, worries and such because I want that freedom. The problem is that they are…well…so sticky.

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2012 / 7:49 PM

      Yep, it seems like the things that bring us down have a way of burrowing into our skin, while the moments of bliss slide right by. Hardly seems fair, Carl 🙂

  5. Debbie January 3, 2012 / 11:25 AM

    I don’t want to cast a pall on your freedom from the kids, Janna, but I really must remind you to get a handle on it. 😉 Look at this as a “trial run” for when they really DO leave (for college, etc.). Be glad you’ve got plenty of time to practice. Brownies for dinner? Sure, why not? PJs all day? Mmm, iffy. Remember, you don’t want your most productive years to be spent wondering, “What’s next?” So enjoy this time, but know down deep that when it actually comes “for reals,” you’ll probably need a better plan than winging it from moment to moment!!

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2012 / 7:51 PM

      We definitely need more practice, Debbie…we FAILED on this trial run 🙂 Good news is that we actually cooked a real dinner tonight. Maybe we’ll have a few more practice runs before they leave for good. Ugh. I can’t think of that, I get too sad!

  6. nrhatch January 3, 2012 / 12:37 PM

    It’s probably not just the kids absence that’s making your discipline falter . . . it’s also NOT having to get up (and dressed) for work.

    Enjoy it while it lasts . . . this too shall pass.

    Now . . . pass me a brownie. 😉

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2012 / 7:53 PM

      You’re probably right, Nancy…but I’ll still take a day off anytime!

      I’d love too pass you a brownie, but I ate them all 😳 Oink!

  7. jeanne January 3, 2012 / 8:51 PM

    Me to the Hubs…”What do you want for dinner?”
    Hubs to Me…Popcorn
    Me to the Hubs…Yep sounds good!
    Dinner is served…

    • jannatwrites January 3, 2012 / 9:08 PM

      Hahaha! I’m glad we weren’t the only ones with a case of the lazies, Jeanne 🙂

  8. Widdershins January 4, 2012 / 1:44 AM

    It’s that ‘tween’ time, between Christmas and January really arriving. Probably next Monday!

    • jannatwrites January 5, 2012 / 7:31 AM

      You’re right, Widdershins. I’ve been thrust back into life, even though I’d like a few more ‘pajama days’ 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 5, 2012 / 7:31 AM

      Good thing the kids aren’t away much or we’d be malnourished!

    • jannatwrites January 5, 2012 / 7:32 AM

      It was nice while it lasted, Philosopher Mouse!

  9. pattyabr January 4, 2012 / 9:53 PM

    It’s funny how you don’t know how to act when the kids aren’t around. That distraction goes a long way in our roles and behaviors. tee hee.

    • jannatwrites January 5, 2012 / 7:33 AM

      I hope when they leave ‘for real’ we’ll have a better grip. Thanks for stopping by, Patty!

Got an opinion? Share it!

