Checking It Twice Thrice

Naughty And Nice

Two young boys,

Ages nine and five,

Went to see Santa

To request some toys.

Filled with excitement,

The younger boy asked

If he made the Nice list-

Could Santa tell him?

Santa informed big brother

He had been a good boy,

“You’re on the almost Naughty list”

He told the other.

This is not just any old poem…it’s a true story of what happened when my kids went to see Santa last week.  When we work up the will to head to the mall for the Santa visit, we expect long lines, crying babies, and cranky parents.  We didn’t expect to have our younger son’s spirit crushed.

First of all, I should clarify that I wasn’t there.  Good thing, because I would have been tempted to set Santa straight.

I know, I know, violence isn’t the answer, but when Jolly Old St. Nick makes your ‘baby’ cry, it’s hard to take the high road 🙂  It didn’t help that it took two days of reassuring before he quit crying whenever he thought about the “Naughty” list.

The fact that my older son gloated about being on the good list just salted my younger son’s wounds.  I knew this had to be a case of mistaken identity.  My younger son hasn’t been perfect by any means, but he wasn’t any worse than my older son.

Perhaps Santa should begin using retinal scans or finger printing to ID the children with whom he chats.  The elves are pretty crafty; I’m sure they could set this up.

Maybe Santa should check his list three times instead of twice…and get a new set of glasses (most insurance plans allow for new ones every other year.)

Or it could be that Santa’s cell phone didn’t have real-time naughty and nice data.  He might consider using a Naughty List tracker.  Yep…there’s an app for that!

Do you have any Santa stories?  What age do you think kids stop believing?  Who would win a popularity contest – Santa or the Easter Bunny?

22 thoughts on “Checking It Twice Thrice

  1. momsomniac December 13, 2011 / 8:59 AM

    Oh dear! That is TERRIBLE! Santa – You’re fired!

    So far, we’ve gone to see the same Santa every year. We think he just might be the real one. : ) He’s wonderful.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2011 / 6:17 PM

      My husband said this was the same Santa, too. We’ve never had this happen…maybe he just had a bad day? I’m glad your Santa has been a good guy, Momsomniac. Nothing like a kid getting a broken heart for Christmas.

  2. Cloonan December 13, 2011 / 11:00 AM

    ouch…it could have been worst…I could have been on that list 🙂 (actually I’m quite certain I’m already on it).

    I wouldn’t worry…the big man in the red suit probably just got his monthly financials for his latest stock investments…you’d be grumpy too 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2011 / 6:24 PM

      Hmmmm…Santa didn’t disclose any other names on the list, so I don’t know, Cloonan. Something was going on with Santa that day. Whatever it was, my five-year-old didn’t understand it, but he seems to be okay now. (Thankfully.)

  3. clarbojahn December 13, 2011 / 3:10 PM

    If it wasn’t so sad, I’d laugh. Your poor son! I can’t believe a Santa would actually say this to a kid. I agree with Momsomniac above- Santa’s fired!

    Cute post. Almost laughed.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2011 / 6:26 PM

      It’s okay to laugh now, Clar. He’s okay. For a couple days, we didn’t discuss Santa at all or else tears were sure to come. My husband called Santa while they were at school and got our little guy convinced that it’s all straightened out 🙂

  4. nrhatch December 13, 2011 / 3:34 PM

    Bad Santa! (Hey, isn’t that a movie)?

    Here’s what I would do, Janna. Write your son a letter from Santa at the North Pole explaining the Case of the Mistaken Identity. I used to send my nieces and nephews letters from Santa and they LOVED them.

    Talk about what he did this year in school, scouts, etc.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2011 / 6:28 PM

      Yeah, Nancy, this Santa is on the naughty list for sure!

      I like your letter from Santa idea. I may have to type something up for him (he would recognize my writing.) Thanks 🙂

    • nrhatch December 13, 2011 / 7:11 PM

      I typed them for the same reason. Sounds like the phone call to the North Pole helped too. 😀

      • jannatwrites December 13, 2011 / 8:05 PM

        It’s nice to have a direct line to the North Pole 🙂

  5. Debbie December 13, 2011 / 6:20 PM

    Yikes, what a horrible thing to say to a child! Especially when “Santa” said all the good stuff to his older brother. As a kid, Santa was right up there with clowns — I mistrusted and feared them all! My folks had a Santa come out to our house, and my sister and I RAN AWAY from him, haha! I much prefer a soft, cuddly Bunny.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2011 / 6:33 PM

      You prefer the bunny even if he’s almost 6 feet tall? You’re brave, Debbie. They were both kind of creepy to me 🙂 That’s so funny that you and your sister ran from Santa. Probably not what your parents expected at all!

      He was pitiful for a couple days, and it made me so angry. I guess I’m a bit over-protective!

  6. pattisj December 13, 2011 / 10:08 PM

    I hope your son has recovered from his visit. Poor fella. My daughter was scared when we tried to get a picture at age three, so we didn’t do it. When she was 18, she realized we didn’t have a picture of her on Santa’s lap, so off she went to the mall! She didn’t cry that time.

    • jannatwrites December 14, 2011 / 7:36 PM

      He is fine now, but we still don’t speak of it – at least around him, Patti 🙂 That’s funny that your daughter decided to get her picture with Santa at that age. Good for her!

    • jannatwrites December 14, 2011 / 7:39 PM

      Thanks for the shout out, Nancy 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 14, 2011 / 7:40 PM

      Miss Vix, I think Santa just had a bad day. I’ve set down the baseball bat and decided not to harm him 😉

  7. jeanne December 14, 2011 / 9:39 PM

    What a terrible Santa experience…you should report that Santa to the Santa staffing agency.

    • jannatwrites December 15, 2011 / 9:22 PM

      I bet it will be one he will remember, Jeanne. I haven’t done anything because I wasn’t even there, and I don’t know if Santa was trying to be funny and my little one took it literally…even though there’s nothing funny about being on the naughty list. At any rate, I don’t want to get someone in trouble for an honest error, so I’ll give hime the benefit of the doubt.

  8. cuhome December 16, 2011 / 3:35 PM

    Um. I think they need to get a new Santa . . .

    • jannatwrites December 16, 2011 / 8:50 PM

      You may be right, Cuhome. Perhaps retirement is in his future?

Got an opinion? Share it!

