One Night With Josie

 On Friday night, my heart overruled my mind.  It’s not the first time, and I’m afraid it won’t be the last.

Josie's 1st Night With Us

A couple months ago, my husband asked the Cub Scout assistant den leader (I’ll call her Sarah) to let us know if she had leads on any Yorkshire Terriers that needed a home.  I remember raising my eyebrows at this request because we have a Golden Retriever, Yorkie Poo and 3 cats already.  Never mind the two growing boys running around our house.

This conversation began because Sarah happens to work at the veterinarian office that our family (parents/aunts/uncles and us) have used for over twenty years.  The odd thing about this connection between us is that the assistant leader lives on the next street from us, but the vet’s office is a twenty-minute drive.  There are dozens of veterinarian offices closer, but she is employed there.  It’s also interesting because we don’t remember meeting Sarah until our sons joined Cub Scouts.

On Friday, Sarah called.  A ten year old Yorkie was just surrendered to them.  She told us the dog had a seizure and the owners couldn’t afford to test and find out what was wrong, so they left the dog at the vet’s office.

A ten year old Yorkie with seizures?  My mind spoke up and said “I don’t’ think we can afford to handle that.”

Sarah explained that seizures can happen once and never happen again, or they could occur more often.  They don’t medicate until the frequency is five times a month.  If we didn’t take her they were going to have to put her down that night.

This is where my heart duct-taped my mind and stuffed it in a closet.  I told her I needed to call my husband.  Like me, my husband’s inclination was to say “no.”  But when faced with (her) death, he didn’t hesitate before asking when he could pick her up.  (One of the many reasons I love my husband – he seems tough and crusty on the outside, but he’s soft and gooey on the inside.)

Josie is a beautiful, sweet dog.  My heart aches for her because she is in a strange place and doesn’t know that we already love her and will give her the best life we can.  All she knows is that she isn’t home.

My breath catches with every twitch or odd movement.  I hope Josie’s situation isn’t worse than the owners let on.  This is where my mind goes when I try to figure out why the owners surrendered Josie to the vet.  I don’t understand how one can leave a pet like that.  I think I’d do things differently.

But really, when it comes down to it, it doesn’t matter what I think I would have done in that situation.  All that matters is that God brought Josie into our lives.  He has blessed us with the compassion to allow our hearts to speak for our minds.

After one night with Josie, I’d experienced a range of emotions and prayed for guidance.  In this short time, I was reminded that life is a gift and love is stronger than fear.

You scared of moi?
26 thoughts on “One Night With Josie

  1. Widdershins November 20, 2011 / 2:12 AM

    She looks forlorn … I guess you’re going to have to put another photo over there on the sidebar.

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2011 / 5:37 PM

      You’re right, Widdershins. I’ll do that when she gets settled in and doesn’t look quite so sad!

  2. nrhatch November 20, 2011 / 8:15 AM

    Enjoy Josie . . . she’ll be “home” before she knows it. 😀

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2011 / 5:39 PM

      I hope so, Nancy. She’s still not sure what to think of us, we’ll see if she has settled in better after a week or two.

  3. pattisj November 20, 2011 / 12:27 PM

    Aw, I love this about your family, the gooey goodness inside can’t be contained.

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2011 / 5:39 PM

      Thanks, Patti! Sometimes I wonder if we have any sense at all 🙂

  4. Debbie November 20, 2011 / 3:15 PM

    Aw, Janna, y’all are just suckers for a pretty face! Isn’t it funny how our head says one thing, but our heart another? You know, that poor pup could have had a reaction to “flea free” medicine (some do). But the vet’s office is right in saying this might be her one and only seizure. I know it seems like one more unnecessary thing on your plate right now, but I bet, once she relaxes and realizes you’re going to keep her, she’ll make a good lap dog! And you know what they say — having more around to love doesn’t divide the love; it multiplies it!

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2011 / 5:43 PM

      I’ve noticed some odd movements/twitches, but nothing I think would be a seizure. She makes me so nervious in that respect!

      My older son has really taken to her (funny to me since he has been a true ‘cat person’). If Josie can ignore the noise and perpetual motion that is my younger son, she might just be okay here.

      I like what you brought up about love, Debbie – it does multiply (I just hadn’t thought of it that way before.)

  5. Richard W Scott November 20, 2011 / 6:03 PM

    How very good of you! I hope all works out for the best!

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2011 / 7:10 PM

      Thanks, Richard. But I think a lot of people would have done the same thing. We should all be a bit more settled in the weeks to come!

  6. Charlotte K November 21, 2011 / 12:46 AM

    Oh my goodness. As soon as I seen “put her down” I wanted to scream “no no!” Thank you both for being kind hearted enough to help this sweet baby in need. Anybody who’s a friend of animals is a good person. 🙂 Hope all goes well with your new baby.

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2011 / 8:47 PM

      We are fortunate to have her. I’m sure she will get us trained in no time 🙂

      Thanks for visiting and sharing your well-wishes, Charlotte. It made me smile!

  7. philosophermouseofthehedge November 21, 2011 / 7:33 AM

    I love the phrase ” my heart duct taped my mind and stuffed it in the closet”. People can identify with that. Sister-in-law is vet; she says people leave animals all the time – sad, some thoughtless, some are just not able to care for pet and are trying to do what is best. In any case, the Yorkie has a bright future – may never have another seizure ( ditto on watching the medications). Hopefully all the animal siblings and kind humans will ease her into her new life. Thanks for taking her in!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2011 / 9:07 PM

      Sadly, my mind spends a lot of time duct taped and stuffed in the closet. That’s how I get through most of my major life decisions 🙂

      It makes me feel awful to know that pets are abandoned. I am thankful that I’ve never had to give up a pet…that would be such a hard decision to reach. Josie is warming up more each day and I do hope she will feel at home soon.

      Thanks for your supportive comment, Philosophermouseofthehedge!

  8. cuhome November 21, 2011 / 10:14 AM

    Awwwwwww. I can see how following that tug on your heartstrings was absolutely the right thing to do ~~~ for Josie and for you!

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2011 / 9:38 PM

      Thanks, Janet! She loves the bed I brought home for her tonight. Every day she is with us will be a gift for everyone 🙂

  9. suzicate November 21, 2011 / 12:24 PM

    You guys have beautiful hearts. What a delightful addition to your family.

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2011 / 9:39 PM

      Thanks, SuziCate. We’ve been joking around that she’s so small she barely qualifies as a dog! Josie makes our normal-sized cats look like mountain lions.

  10. pattyabr November 21, 2011 / 9:56 PM

    So the meaning of the name Josie is “God will add” You were meant to have Josie.

    When we got our dog Dot, 10 years ago, her original name was Three Spot, Dot is the nickname for Dorothy which means “Gift of God”. It was a perfect name for her because our daugher Kate had prayed for a dog for years. Dot was born with a congenital heart murmur that was surgically repaired and she couldn’t be sold for the full asking price. She was a gift to our family.

    Enjoy

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2011 / 10:29 PM

      That’s cool, Patty – I didn’t know that’s what Josie meant. Gave me a little chill 🙂

      I’m glad your daughter’s prayers for a dog were answered. It’s good that the surgery repaired the issue and that you ended up with the dog as a gift because of it. It really is fascinating how God works.

  11. mairzeebp November 21, 2011 / 11:19 PM

    She’s so cute. I’ll think positive thoughts for you and Josie. What a lucky little dog!

    • jannatwrites November 22, 2011 / 9:27 AM

      Thanks, Mairzeebp! I appreciate any positive thoughts you send our way 🙂

  12. Epizeuxis November 23, 2011 / 2:20 PM

    Hey Jannat…that is such a great thing you’ve done…I truly appreciate and respect you for that…
    I wish you and Josie great times ahead…

    • jannatwrites November 27, 2011 / 9:36 PM

      Thanks, Epizeuxis! Each day she is warming up more and more. We heard her ‘play bark’ for the first time a few days ago 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

