Blinded By Denial?

As I wrote my last post, I wondered if I discounted what the speaker had to say simply because it didn’t fit with what I do right now.  It crossed my mind that I didn’t want to hear that writing every day was a must because I can’t do it at this point in my life.  I thought that maybe I discounted the five ideas a day and the benefits of morning writing because I do neither of them.

Basically, I wondered if the mask of denial blinded me.

This wouldn’t be the first time that denial caused me to miss the obvious.  I’ve ignored signs that a friend could not be trusted because it hurt to accept the truth.  Of course denying the betrayal only hurt worse when it couldn’t be disregarded any longer.  It didn’t help that everyone saw it but me.

Just this weekend, I did my best to deny the signs that I came down with the crud everyone else had last week.  I willed myself to believe that my shivers were a product of a drafty house.  My upset stomach was caused by food that didn’t agree with me.  The headache and body aches weren’t happening.

But they are.  I can’t deny any longer that I am sick…and more than a little cranky.  Here’s hoping my sense of humor returns in my next post.

My health and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.  (Psalm 73:26)

I hope everyone stays healthy. 

P.S.:  For now, I’m not changing my writing process, but will keep the suggestions in mind for the future!

14 thoughts on “Blinded By Denial?

  1. nrhatch November 6, 2011 / 6:28 AM

    Just trust yourself . . . and you will know how to live (and write). 😉

    Feel better, kiddo!

    • jannatwrites November 6, 2011 / 1:33 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I’m feeling a little more human today. Still tired, but I did make it out to go on a short hike this morning. I do need less second-guessing and more trust in myself. It’s a process 🙂

  2. Debbie November 6, 2011 / 12:49 PM

    Poor Janna — nothing worse than feeling under the weather. I hope your system is strong and you’ll be “up and at ’em” again real soon! P.S. I think it’s in the Mom Book that you’re supposed to deny you’re getting sick, even when ALL the indications point to it. I believe it has something to do with the fact that moms just know they can’t afford to get sick and lie in bed for several days. But getting sick is Nature’s way of telling us we need to rest, so go rest, my friend!

    • jannatwrites November 6, 2011 / 1:36 PM

      I’m already feeling a bit better today, Debbie! I’m already behind on everything that needs to get done, but I’ll just do what I can (and get to bed at a reasonable time). I’m following the Mom Book and had no idea. Is this the same book that teaches “the look” that my kids say I give them?

      • Debbie November 7, 2011 / 3:07 PM

        It certainly is, Janna — see, you’re doing it right! I never even knew there was a Mom Book until I became a mom, though!

        • jannatwrites November 8, 2011 / 1:25 AM

          I’ll have to see if I can get a chapter or two added on as an addendum. Surely all these gray hairs I’m getting will amount to that much 🙂

  3. clarbojahn November 6, 2011 / 1:56 PM

    From someone who had food poisoning just last weekend. Rest. You’ll be glad you did.

    Glad you’re feeling a little better. Hope you’re 100 percent soon.

    • jannatwrites November 6, 2011 / 9:09 PM

      Thanks, Clar. Saturday was pretty much lost, so I hope it’s enough to get me through the work week!

      I hope you are 100% by now, too 🙂

  4. Widdershins November 6, 2011 / 6:47 PM

    Remember to drink lots of water … hope you get well soon.

    • jannatwrites November 6, 2011 / 9:11 PM

      Thanks for the advice, Widdershins! My husband gave me Pedialyte (that stuff’s nasty!) Mixed with water, it was tolerable. He nagged reminded me to drink all day 🙂

  5. pattisj November 6, 2011 / 7:02 PM

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. Hope you’re all better soon. I think our brains just need a few days to process new information. When we’re overloaded anyway, we don’t think we can possibly fit anything else in; but once we have time to consider it, new possibilities may open up.

    • jannatwrites November 6, 2011 / 9:19 PM

      Thanks, Patti. I’m behind on my “things to do” with losing Saturday, but this week, it will have to do 🙂 It is a good time to figure out what really has to be done…

  6. Connor @ Citiesofthemind.org November 8, 2011 / 11:48 AM

    Really, I feel like the fact that you and your friend don’t have any legs takes precedence over any sleep deprivation.

    • jannatwrites November 9, 2011 / 7:56 PM

      If she had more sleep (or coffee) she might be aware of that fact, Connor 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

