Tis The Season (For Lysol & Face Masks)

Fall is in full swing in the parts of the country that experience autumn (we don’t in the Arizona desert.)  In fact, it’s hard to believe with temperatures in the high eighties that winter snuck in a visit to the eastern part of the country.  I’m pretty sure it rushed the seasonal door and wasn’t supposed to enter for another few weeks.

Weather aside, November 1st marks the countdown to the holidays and the busiest time of year (for me, at least).  Now begins more parties with friends and family, more school activities, and more illnesses.

Like the east coast cold front, sickness chose to get a head start.  In the early morning hours on Saturday, my younger son became sick.  Since I don’t do well with matters of upset stomachs, I stayed in bed and let my husband handle it solo.  I had the perfect excuse, though:  the writer’s conference I signed up for was on Saturday; I needed my rest.  (I’ll write some about the conference in my next post.)

I had no excuse Sunday night/Monday morning when my older son became sick.  My husband wasn’t available, so I had to step up (and not throw up.)  Luckily there were no messes, but I had the urge to open all my windows to free the pent up germy summer air.  I’ve seen enough home invasions reported on the news to realize windows in the city after dark are best closed and locked, so that is how they remained.

I thought about the three months of supplies in my underground bunker.  I knew a face mask would be there and would offer me protection from our contaminated house.  Too bad I don’t actually have an underground bunker, and if I did, it would probably be filled with guns and ammo.  (That’s what the militant extremists in Arizona do, according to the news.)  Yeah, I should lay off the evening news for a while.

Knowing I was trapped with a deadly virus, I wanted to grab the Clorox wipes and a can of Lysol and attack every surface and air molecule inside my house.  Instead, exhaustion won.  My eyelids droopy with sleep, I was sure the virus had me in its clutches.  I prayed I would wake (healthy) in the morning.

Morning came, and I felt as good as I possibly could at 5AM, with interrupted sleep.

I returned home from work on Monday to find my husband had become ill, too.  Forget the face mask.  I want to check into a hotel.

Are you able to stay well when family is sick?

22 thoughts on “Tis The Season (For Lysol & Face Masks)

  1. Carl D'Agostino November 1, 2011 / 5:37 AM

    My doctor laughs at me because most get sick pathogens are air borne but since I’ve used filtered water from machines with my water jugs from the grocery store and not tap water, have had just 3 or 4 colds last 10 years. Despite the science I think it has made a difference.

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2011 / 7:33 PM

      I use filtered water, too. If nothing else, it does taste better. With so few colds, I would just keep doing what you’re doing, Carl!

  2. Bill Greeves November 1, 2011 / 6:03 AM

    I have four school-aged kids, so our household is rarely at 100% health, especially in fall and spring. Right now, we are only operating at 70%. (one daughter in recovery, wife in full midst of heinous cold). I seem to be very resistant to most of their assorted illnesses, but when I do get it, its usually pretty bad.

    Last year, in a 48 period, we all got an unbelievably virulent strain of stomach flu. I can’t recount the horror of it here because I don’t want you to lose followers or your own lunch. : )

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2011 / 7:36 PM

      Yeah, with 4 kids, the odds are stacked against you, Bill. It’s not a laughing manner, but your comment on the flu cracked me up. I do appreciate you not providing details 🙂

      You did remind me – I should get my flu shot…if it’s not too late!

  3. nrhatch November 1, 2011 / 8:29 AM

    I go into hibernation mode at this time of the year . . . to avoid airborne pathogens. 😆

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2011 / 7:38 PM

      If only hibernation would do the trick. Unfortunately, the kiddies are notorious germ carriers. Extended stay at Grandma and Grandpa’s, perhaps?

      I hope you stay well this winter, Nancy!

  4. suzicate November 1, 2011 / 8:50 AM

    Tis the germy season and it does NOT thrill me! I take colloidal silver on a regular basis and it usually keeps me from catching those little buggers!

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2011 / 7:49 PM

      I think I’ve taken that before in liquid form. Ick! If things get bad enough here, I might give it another shot. For now, I’m trying oil of oregano and prayers 🙂

      I hope the colloidal sillver keeps you well, SuziCate!

  5. chlost November 1, 2011 / 9:10 AM

    Unfortunately, it usually isn’t until it is too late to avoid the germs from the other family members that I realize that I will get it as well. My husband spent time with his brother, who then promptly came down with “the crud” the next day. It feels as though we are waiting for a bomb to go off, seeing whether the husband will get sick, and then me. Yuck!

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2011 / 7:51 PM

      It does feel like a ticking bomb, Chlost. I’ll probably worry so much about avoiding the germs, that the worry will stress my system and cause me to get sick!

      I hope you both avoid the ‘crud’. Nasty stuff going right now…

  6. Debbie November 1, 2011 / 1:21 PM

    Living in close proximity with others does one of two things — toughens you up so you can resist the germs they bring in, or makes you more susceptible to getting sick, too. Best to get lots of rest, stay hydrated, eat your fruits and veggies, and keep the Lysol handy!

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2011 / 7:53 PM

      I just bleached the bathrooms tonight and I’ve wiped all the light switches and door knobs with Clorox wipes. I also have the doors and windows open right now to get some new air. I will remind my husband to wash all the sheets in hot this weekend, too. (I really like not doing the family laundry anymore :))

      Thanks for the tips, Debbie. Will do my best to follow!

  7. clarbojahn November 1, 2011 / 3:10 PM

    Is it the flu or food poisoning? I just had a raging attack of stomach yukkies. Both ends. I’ll leave it at that. Gross enough. Needless to say it was so bad my husband had to clean it up. I thought it was food poisoning but he didn’t get it and we ate most of the same things at the church fellowship. I am now in the second day of recovering. Fatigue hit yesterday.

    This post had me in stitches. LOL. You have a way with topics and words, Janna. Hope you stay healthy.

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2011 / 7:56 PM

      When my younger son got sick, we wondered if it was food poisoning, but when my older son got sick two days later, we knew it was some kind of virus. Now with my husband sick, I’m just wondering when my time is up! (He went to the doctor today and she said there is something going around. He’s off work the rest of the week now.)

      Hang in there and keep resting, Clar. You probably have a similar type of illness. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts. If I do end up sick, you all will know because there will probably be a cranky post about it!

  8. pattisj November 1, 2011 / 9:29 PM

    There are times I’m pretty sure I looked like your green image. Got my flu shot last month, so now I just have to avoid crowded places (I’ve been hearing people sneezing/coughing when I’ve been out on errands). Need to make a quick exit! Maybe November is a good month for NaNoWriMo, after all–keeping me home!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2011 / 11:03 PM

      I had wondered why they picked November for NaNoWriMo…I think you’ve figured it out, Patti. Stay well and write lots!

  9. Tori Nelson November 2, 2011 / 7:16 AM

    Oh, we have the same Casa de Funk thing going on in my house. I think the hotel idea is sounding better and better!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2011 / 11:05 PM

      It’s going around, Tori. So far, I’m hanging in there, but I’m so tired, I’m afraid I’ll end up with the nasty stuff 😦

  10. Will November 2, 2011 / 8:26 PM

    We’ve just finished several tag-team rounds with the ‘dreaded lurgy’ – one gets sick, the other cares-for until they get sick, just in time for the first one to be recovered enough to do the caring, and cleaning-up … hopefully we’re set ’til Spring!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2011 / 11:08 PM

      You need more Lysol, Will/Widdershins! I hope you’ve built up immunity so you can be well for the rest of the winter.

  11. Will November 2, 2011 / 8:28 PM

    Will is Widdershins … wordpress is having another hissy-fit and won’t let me log-on … ‘a pox upon their house’!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2011 / 11:09 PM

      You showed WordPress. You got to comment anyway 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

