Sammy Chic: High Fashion, Low $

Since you’ve never met me, I’ll share a few facts with you:

1)     Sammy is my son’s orange tabby – and she’s one chic kitty.  You’ll see.

2)     I don’t wear ridiculous clothes just because they’re in style

Hubby thinks they're ridiculous; I think they're comfy (but a few years out of style)

3)     I live search for bargains

Shopping off-season. If it's not discounted, I'm not tempted.

Lately, I’ve seen an increase of fur-trimmed boots, sweaters and coats in stores.  I’m not a fan of fur unless it’s on an animal that still has a pulse, so I haven’t embraced the trend.  Just for fun, I did browse the Sak’s Fifth Avenue website to see what furry clothing the rich folks can buy.  I almost choked on my store brand chips when I saw the prices.

$597? Is there a missing decimal point?

With the help of a friendly orange tabby (Sammy, of course), I found an alternative for the average class.  Yes, the budget-conscious fashionista can still jump on the furry bandwagon.

This orange tabby is versatile: can be dressed up or down and goes with all clothing colors. Except orange.

For only $50 (Humane Society adoptions vary by region and season) plus the cost of Cat Chow, your neck will be cozy all winter.  Unlike animal pelts, PETA will not fling red paint at you for wearing a Sammy Chic neckwarmer.  However, the ASPCA may not endorse this product.

Disclaimer:  Some shedding is normal and is not a defect in the product.  If you experience scratching, growling, hissing or excessive clawing, discontinue use.

Have you worn your pet today?

22 thoughts on “Sammy Chic: High Fashion, Low $

    • jannatwrites October 27, 2011 / 8:12 PM

      Thanks, Hilary. Maybe the “trend” will catch on 🙂

  1. Debbie October 27, 2011 / 7:40 AM

    Janna, you are too funny! I wish I could wear my Sheltie, but he’s far too heavy to wear as a furry neck piece. I’ve noticed all that fur in stores and magazines, too, and I know my dog would have a fit if I started buying into that style!

    • jannatwrites October 27, 2011 / 8:16 PM

      I agree, Debbie, wearing a Sheltie isn’t a good option. The chiropractic bills alone would be daunting 🙂

      I tried the neckwarmer with Lizzie (Sammy’s sister) but she wouldn’t have any of that! Your dog might get a little anxious wondering if he’s next if you started wearing fur. Probably best to steer clear!

  2. pattisj October 27, 2011 / 8:23 AM

    Good thing you added the disclaimer, not all pets are as keen on the idea as Sammy. I don’t think my bunnies would have liked being worn. I guess that might be the reason some pelts are removed. Could you imagine wearing a real fox?

    • jannatwrites October 27, 2011 / 8:19 PM

      You’re so right, Patti – Lizzie (Sammy’s sister) hated it. I think I’ll opt out of trying to wear a live fox. I don’t think that would end well (for me, at least!)

  3. Carl D'Agostino October 27, 2011 / 9:33 AM

    One thing about multicultural Miami is that nothing is out of style. The are so many different things you really can’t tell.

    • jannatwrites October 27, 2011 / 8:20 PM

      If everything old is new again, I’ll be back in style one of these years! (I don’t really understand the style thing – who determines what’s “in” and why are we supposed to listen to them?)

  4. nrhatch October 27, 2011 / 12:32 PM

    Is that YOU? You’re cute! You look NOTHING like I imagined . . . in part, because I don’t see any OREOS padding your mid-section.

    As for FUR . . . ACK!

    Unless, as you note, it still has a pulse.

    • jannatwrites October 27, 2011 / 8:29 PM

      Geez, Nancy. I’m blushing right now 😳

      That is me…and thank you. (My knee-jerk response is ‘eww, I’m definitely not cute’ but I’m working on be more gracious when accepting compliments.)

      I remember when I was young, a real fur coat was a sign of wealth (in my young mind, at least). I’d wanted a mink coat, but now, I couldn’t imagine wearing one.

    • nrhatch October 27, 2011 / 8:42 PM

      Well, I said “cute” because you’re giggling (with a cat wrapped around your neck) . . . and if that’s not cute, nothing is!

      BTW: I showed the photo to Tigger and he said if I tried the same with him it would be my “last act.” 😉

      • jannatwrites October 27, 2011 / 8:55 PM

        I’m still blushing because I can think of many more accurate adjectives to describe the picture (lame, silly, no-life, warped, oh I could go on but I’ll keep some of my self-esteem intact)!

        If Tigger isn’t the neck-lounging type, I’d certainly not try it. That is the reason I didn’t go for Cybil (my Psycho Cat) – between her weight and her bite, it’s just not worth it 🙂

  5. Cloonan October 28, 2011 / 4:32 AM

    If I wasn’t allergic to tabby’s I’d give it a shot…albeit…I’m certain I couldn’t pull it off. I wonder is my Shepard would give it a go.

    • jannatwrites October 28, 2011 / 9:34 PM

      You’d have to wear that kitty with confidence to pull it off. Perhaps coordinating manly accessories, like a belt, shoes or bow tie would spice up the look? What – no bow tie?

      As for the German Shepard…I’d try that only if you’re going for the Hunchback of Notre Dame look. That’s gotta be hard on the neck and shoulders 🙂

      I’m glad you stopped by, Cloonan. Appreciate your comment!

  6. Widdershins October 28, 2011 / 10:19 PM

    Thanks for the chortle … you do look like you’re having a good time … I used to have a long haired tortoiseshell moggie who lived for the neck drape look … even in summer!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2011 / 8:38 PM

      Glad you stopped by, Widdershins. Some kitties just like the neck perch. I have no idea why. A long haired cat on your neck in the summer must have been a real (sweaty) treat.

  7. Epizeuxis October 29, 2011 / 3:10 AM

    Wow!Thats quite a thing!
    Is that in fashion or what?Coz I haven’t seen anyone really wearing it.

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2011 / 8:31 PM

      It’s a one-of-a-kind, Epizeuxis…but maybe I’ll start a trend.

      Yeah, I didn’t think so either 🙂

  8. Epizeuxis October 29, 2011 / 3:13 AM

    ok ok now I get it…to tell you the truth I initially thought you were really wearing some dead cat fur or something.
    Now it all seems so funny…nice 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2011 / 8:36 PM

      Eww…wearing a dead cat – that would be wrong…I do hope no one else left my post with that impression! Sammy is very much alive and wasn’t traumatized by her stint as a neckwarmer.

      Yes, it was meant to be a joke – poking fun at all the fur fashions that are appearing in stores. I’m not a fan of wearing fur, but I do enjoy some fun at their expense 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

