Why Do Businesses Want To Strip Us?

You already know that I am able to pass up retail offers for getting my pants half off.

Driving around a couple weeks ago, I spotted a van for an electric company.  Their slogan ups the offer:

Can this offer be re-fused? (Get it, re "fuse"? Electrical? Never mind...)

Now, I’ve seen my neighbor mowing his lawn shirtless, and, despite my best efforts to avoid it, I’ve caught glimpses of me without clothes.  Trust me, businesses:  you want us to keep ALL of our clothes on.  Think turtle necks and loose fit denim 🙂

Does a chuckle equate to more spending?  Does a catchy slogan make you want to buy a product?  Leave a comment to share your thoughts, but please – keep your shorts on 😉

20 thoughts on “Why Do Businesses Want To Strip Us?

  1. cuhome October 20, 2011 / 10:36 PM

    Made me laugh! My husband and I crack up when we see those sales promo signs in stores ~ my husband’s favorite is “(Arrows pointing to ladies underwear section) then: Panties and Bras, 1/2 off, Today Only. Wide variety!” The next thing I know, my husband has disappeared!! (Imagine that . . .)

    The other thing I get a great kick out of doing is to turn off the sound on TV advertisements ~~ if you haven’t tried it, do it! It really shows how ridiculous and irrational the advertisements are!!

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2011 / 11:05 PM

      I’m glad you liked it, Cuhome.

      My hubby avoids the bra/panty section. (I can’t even walk by there with my sons because if I turn for even a second, they are playing with the bras. Awkward.)

      I don’t watch much TV but watching without sound could be interesting. I’ll have to try it sometime.

      Thanks for sharing your advertising chuckles 🙂

  2. Carl D'Agostino October 21, 2011 / 4:16 AM

    Pedro Valdez Tequila – It’ll knock your socks off !

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2011 / 8:30 PM

      I suppose bare feet are okay. Thanks for sharing that one, Carl!

  3. suzicate October 21, 2011 / 4:52 AM

    Doesn’t make me want to purchase anything, but it does lighten the day!

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2011 / 8:30 PM

      We could always use one more laugh, SuziCate 🙂

  4. nrhatch October 21, 2011 / 9:05 AM

    I enjoy doing business with companies that have a sense of humor . . . and I enjoy reading blogs that make me laugh!

    Thanks for the smiles, Janna!

  5. Debbie October 21, 2011 / 5:06 PM

    I think sense of humor is one thing; tasteless jokes are another. In my area we’ve got a place that advertises for mammograms — “We’ll squeeze you in!” I mean, gosh, don’t those things hurt enough without them reminding us of it?!

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2011 / 8:35 PM

      There’s nothing funny about a mammogram. Their advertisement is about as bad as, “You’ll have a smashing good time.” I’d hate to see what your local OBGYN advertises…

      Thanks for stopping by, Debbie!

  6. chlost October 21, 2011 / 6:27 PM

    Sometimes it is hard to tell if they are clever slogans or the proof that those who flunk English grammar should not be hired to write advertising copy.

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2011 / 8:46 PM

      Advertising is a tricky business. Getting noticed is the goal and to do that, they have to get bolder and bolder. As for the flunking English grammar – I’ll share one that drove me nuts: there was a daycare/preschool that had “Skool” in the name. The misspelling of the ‘school’ always bothered me. Silly, right??

      Thanks for stopping by, Chlost!

  7. Bill Greeves October 25, 2011 / 2:58 PM

    Kinda along the same lines, here in VA we have Liberty Tax Service and Little Caesar’s Pizza. Both business employee costumed characters to stand out at the street, dance around, play air guitar and wave signs advertising their business. I don’t know about the rest of you all, but as for me – I MIGHT buy the pizza, but I don’t plan to ask a teenager-sized Statute of Liberty or a clean-shaven Uncle Sam about my 401K!

    • jannatwrites October 25, 2011 / 11:20 PM

      I think we have the same business here. I’ve seen a statue of liberty costume, but never looked for the business. (I couldn’t get past wondering why the person hadn’t collapsed and gone into heat stroke. Those costumes and Arizona summers don’t mix well.)

      I’m with you. I’d be more likely to buy the pizza than the tax service. Thanks for visiting, Bill!

  8. pattisj November 1, 2011 / 10:55 PM

    Humor is good, we need more of it, as long as it is tastefully done. I did understand your fuse joke. Do they still make fuses? Sorry, I already put my shorts away.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2011 / 11:04 PM

      I still have things that use fuses, but I don’t know if that’s ‘old school’ now or not, Patti!

  9. sonsothunder November 2, 2011 / 11:53 AM

    LOL, this is funny… I think your fuse joke was funnier than their “Catch Slogan” personally…and what they don’t mention, is along with the shorts, seeing the “Bill” will shock your socks off.
    Bless You
    paul

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2011 / 11:07 PM

      Thanks, Paul! I’m glad you found my corny joke funny. Even though it’s probably true, it may not be a good idea to advertise that the bill will shock their socks off 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

