Sign Me Up…(For A Nap)

When my younger son gets tired or frustrated, he stomps his feet, screeches, grunts or growls – or on a particularly bad day, all of the above.  If a nap is so much as hinted about, a full melt-down ensues, which includes assertions (through tears of course) that his is not tired.  If I make the mistake of laughing at the ridiculousness of it all, he throws in a high-pitched scream for good measure.  My temporary deafness makes the situation more bearable.

As an adult, I can relate to the conflict of being tired but not ready to pack it in.  It’s not socially acceptable for a person my age to behave as my son does, so I fight a silent battle of droopy eyelids, lagging brain and the urge to stomp my feet and scream in frustration.  I’m not revealing exactly what age I am, but I’ll tell you it’s significantly more than five years old.  At my age, I can admit that “I need a nap,” but life rarely allows me one.

On Monday night, I completed four hours of online scout training.  This included multiple walks to rouse my sleepy head.  Going to bed would’ve been the easy (smart) solution, but I had to have my training done for today’s committee meeting.  (Procrastination wasn’t my downfall this time – I just got the training information on Sunday, and that evening was spent with my cousin before he gets deployed again this week.)

I should mention that I completed this training at the end of a Monday full of things that give Mondays a bad name.

The tone was set when my older son dropped an unopened gallon of milk on the tile floor right before I needed to leave for work in the morning.  We both stared in horror as 128 ounces of milk gushed out of the busted container, running through the grout lines under the refrigerator, and threatening the carpet nearby.  Already late to pick up my carpool, I woke my husband up and let him deal with the aftermath.

I ignored this obvious sign to crawl back into bed.

Instead, I forged ahead with the day.

Before lunch, I received an email from a Cub Scout mom.  She was upset by all the confusion with switching dens after the first meeting and with the chosen meeting day.  I was irritated because I asked for meeting day preference and she had not given me any.  I wanted to let her know it wasn’t a picnic for me, either.  Instead, I let the pack trainer handle it because I know better than to send an emotional response.

The day kept getting better.

The pack trainer asked if I could change the meeting day to Wednesdays to accommodate this family.  I told her I would find out the assistant leader’s schedule.  Within an hour, my husband called me at work furious that his work changed his schedule – again. The schedule change made Wednesday Cub Scout meetings impossible since I don’t have a clone, and my other son has a tumbling class (which I will now have to get him to.)

When I got home, my husband began rattling off different suggestions on how he could try to get his workdays modified.  (No matter how you slice and dice a 12-hour workday, there is no way to get around the fact that I will have the nightmare after school to dinnertime stretch all to myself.)  Then, he wanted to talk about a trip another couple invited us to go on in November – they need to know if we’re going so they can book it.

I closed my eyes, clenched my teeth and snapped, “I can’t deal with this right now!”

What I meant was, “Get me a blankie; I need a nap.”

Do you obey when life suggests you need a nap?  How do you get out of the downward spiral of a bad day?  Or do you just sit back and enjoy the bumpy ride?

30 thoughts on “Sign Me Up…(For A Nap)

  1. foresightyourctpsychic September 20, 2011 / 7:09 AM

    I find that it’s really important to listen to what my body is telling me. If I don’t, I get sick or start making mistakes.

    And sometimes what my body is telling me is that I need a nap.

    The appropriate nap is an important part of a quality life around our house

    Catherine
    Foresight

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:23 AM

      My mind knows it should listen to my body, but it overrides the nap message and goes into overdrive thinking of all things that are undone.

      After a night’s rest, I feel ready to take on today, though. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on napes, Forsightyourpsychic 🙂

      • foresightyourctpsychic September 21, 2011 / 6:47 AM

        I used to suffer from “racing mind” that made it difficult to sleep, nap or relax as well. I found that environmental recordings (of nature sounds) and learning basic relaxation and meditation techniques helped with that.

        Good luck on your rest 🙂

        Catherine
        Foresight

        • jannatwrites September 23, 2011 / 8:44 PM

          Thanks for the suggestion, Catherine. I fo find the nature recordings relaxing – my massage therapist plays them and I’ve *almost* fallen asleep once or twice. Thankfully, I’m less cranky now that I’m on the backside of this week.

  2. suzicate September 20, 2011 / 8:07 AM

    Napping during the day is one thing my body is unable to do no matter how much I want or need to…really wish I could.

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:25 AM

      I’m with you, SuziCate. Rarely can I get a nap in, but I think I’m almost tired enough now that I could do it.

  3. Debbie September 20, 2011 / 8:27 AM

    I empathize with your younger son, having never been able to nap as a child either. In fact, the only time I’ve been able to nap is when I was pregnant with my son! Napping has never been my go-to route for chasing away the doldrums from a bad day. I’d much prefer having a hot cup of tea, curling up with a good book, listening to music, or taking a nice long walk. And if all else fails, I’ve been known to slam a few doors, too!

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:35 AM

      I like how you handle a bad day, Debbie. I like all of those things. I think mine got worse because I never had a few minutes for any kind out outlet (even a door slam or two).

      After a night’s sleep, I’m ready for today. And I’m happy to report that no milk ended up on the floor today 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your suggestions. I’ll have to figure out a way to sneak some me time, even at work.

      • Debbie September 20, 2011 / 12:02 PM

        ‘Me time’ is crucial, Janna. Maybe more so for us creative types! I’m unbearable without just the right amount of ‘me time.’ And no way can I put a time limit on how much ‘me time’ is necessary. Sometimes more, sometimes less — probably depends on how much stress I feel with people and things trying to suck the life right out of me! Hole up in the bathroom if you have to — and if you don’t have a nosey dog who clings to you, ha!

        • jannatwrites September 23, 2011 / 8:34 PM

          Debbie, I have been known to hide in the bathroom, but it doesn’t take long for the kids to find me…they’re like bloodhounds! I know when I’m not getting enough time for me because I get irritable, and then I feel guilty because I’m cranky with everyone. Nobody wins.

          Excuse me, I have to go to the bathroom now (to read :))

  4. nrhatch September 20, 2011 / 11:33 AM

    I can only nap when watching golf. 😉

    Your Monday sounds horrible. When you can’t fit in a nap, a 10 minute meditation break can help restore your sanity and reset your equilibrium.

    BTW: If you convince your son NOT to be a scout, you could resign as Den Mother. 😎

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2011 / 11:40 AM

      Ugh! My husband watches golf on TV. Borrrring!

      Yes, my Monday stunk, but Tuesday is looking better (yay!) I’m going to have to try the relaxation next time. By the end of the night, I was getting angry at stupid stuff. (Like the mini-tantrum I had when I couldn’t find the link to set up an account to do the online scout training. Not pretty.)

      It’s funny you should mention the convincing him not to do it. That’s been my husband’s idea all along, but my son isn’t budging. Oh well, to quote Gloria Gaynor: “I will survive!”

      Thanks for your suggestions, Nancy! I won’t let Tuesday get me….

      • nrhatch September 20, 2011 / 11:50 AM

        Yes . . . because watching golf is borrring, it lulls me to sleep better than a lullaby.

  5. pattyabr September 20, 2011 / 6:44 PM

    So sorry for your crazy day. When my daughter was home for 2 1/2 days last month she came home from Spain sick with a sinus infection, overtired and jet lagged. We went with friends to dinner and she ate all this pizza at dinner “because I was starving”. She came home and threw up, started screaming and crying. Now she is 20 years old mind you and I had a flashback to when she was 2 years old. Needless to say, back when she was 2 years old I took charge and fixed it. This time I asked my husband to clean up her mess and calm her down. Afterall, he had been home with her all day and I was trying to get things togehter to drive 1000 miles to get her back to college the next day.

    It is hard to please everyone. Somethings gotta give. This too shall pass. Works for good and bad events no matter what.

    Here’s another cliche….Tomorrow is another day!

    • jannatwrites September 23, 2011 / 8:37 PM

      That doesn’t sound like a fun time at all, Patty. I’d rather have a milk mess than the one you had.

      It may be cliche, but it’s true. I found that Tuesday wasn’t nearly as nightmare-ish as Monday. I hope your drive back to college went okay.

  6. sufilight September 20, 2011 / 11:28 PM

    As a child I used to scream and cry when forced to nap, never could fall asleep; as an adult, since I now have an online business with my s/o, I do listen to my body and take a 30-45 minute nap, and I wake up feeling refreshed. Naps are very healthy, one even can wake up with answers to questions as Einstein and Thomas Edison used to do. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 23, 2011 / 8:42 PM

      My body has a problem with naps (unless I’m under the weather.) The last time I tried to nap, the kids woke me up after five minutes of sleep. I was even crankier then 🙂

      I’m glad your body cooperates and allows naps, Sufilight. My grandma used to take 20 minute naps and wake up feeling refreshed, so I believe it can work!

  7. Tori Nelson September 21, 2011 / 7:05 AM

    I am HORRIBLE at taking rest when it’s needed!

    • jannatwrites September 23, 2011 / 8:45 PM

      You’ve got a toddler – you need all the rest you can get, Tori!

  8. pattisj September 21, 2011 / 10:25 PM

    If I’m really tired, I can take a nap. But if I have other things to do, I get tea or hot chocolate to perk me up a bit. I didn’t know it was possible to get out of a downward spiral–LOL Really, that’s time for a serious prayer break. Refocus.

    • jannatwrites September 23, 2011 / 8:51 PM

      Since I don’t drink coffee, I have used tea to get me a little caffeine. Unfortunately, I often eat cookies, too, which results in the sugar crash. I don’t learn 🙂

      Here’s to naps, prayer and hot tea, Patti!

  9. foresightyourctpsychic September 25, 2011 / 9:04 PM

    Jannat
    Even if you can’t get a nap at present, playing nature recordings in the background can help relax you and diminish stress

    Catherine
    Foresight

    • jannatwrites September 25, 2011 / 10:00 PM

      I think I will buy one of those CDs and “practice” relaxing. You’ve convinced me 🙂

      Thanks, Catherine!

      • foresightyourctpsychic September 26, 2011 / 7:23 AM

        You’re welcome.

        And the lovely thing is you don’t have to work at it. Just put the recording on at a volume where you can hear it but are not distracted by it

        ( and it may even mellow out the little ones as well….)

        Catherine
        Foresight

        • jannatwrites September 26, 2011 / 11:00 PM

          Anything that mellows out my little guys gets my vote 🙂

  10. foresightyourctpsychic September 27, 2011 / 10:53 AM

    Thought that the effect of kids might be helpful too

    And its not a bad thing to teach them how to relax themselves. That’ll serve them well in later life 🙂

    Catherine
    Foresight

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2011 / 10:39 PM

      They can’t be hyper forever, Catherine. (That’s what I tell myself, at least ;))

      • foresightyourctpsychic September 28, 2011 / 7:58 AM

        It is possible that they could…

        But learning how to chill now will help with that 🙂

        Catherine
        Foresight

        • jannatwrites September 29, 2011 / 12:31 AM

          Here’s to calmness….

Got an opinion? Share it!

